We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn and a perfect get-away spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #8 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I am extremely happy with my choice to stay at The West Sonoma Inn. We stayed for five nights in one of the Inn’s Vineyard Cottage Suites that overlook the adjacent vineyards with a spectacular mountain view in the background. It was very relaxing to watch the morning and evening sun from the private deck which also has a wonderful two person hot tub. Our room was spacious, nicely updated, clean and well maintained with a small kitchen sink, microwave and fridge. The Inn is located on the edge of downtown Guerneville and is a very short walk to a dozen or so restaurants and cafes. The other lodging options we considered would not have been walkable to town. On weekends the Inn provides a very nice continental breakfast in the lobby area. There are outdoor seating areas under tall redwoods and a few small outdoor fire pits available for use in the evening. The pool is also a very nice amenity.

Our favorite restaurants during our stay were Boon eat + drink (lunch or dinner), Big Bottom Market (sandwiches) and Coffee Bazaar (coffee or breakfast) We also really enjoyed Stumptown Brewery which is a short drive away. On the more casual end of the spectrum definitely consider the taco truck parked at the end of the local grocery store parking lot. We also visited Armstrong Woods and Korbel Vineyards both of which are only minutes away. Further afield we found John Tyler and VML Vineyards in the Dry Creek Valley to be nice finds while the highlight of our trip was a dinner at Farmhouse Inn Restaurant.

All in all a great experience and very happy to have stayed at the Inn. Here is a link to nice review of the Guerneville area that was recently published in The New York Times travel section: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/17/travel/free-spirits-in-a-sonoma-hamlet.html

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we_bHiKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for West Sonoma Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I was absolutely in love with this hotel. My husband and I went here on our 'mini' moon before a trip to Argentina (do you see a pattern here, we love wine!) and we're so delighted by what we found. Granted it was a while ago, the thought of going back made me check out their site/rates again. The front desk staff was so nice and went out of their way to made sure we were treated top notch. The rooms are clean and in good condition. I travel for my job and it was nice to feel as if I wasn't at work (at a chain such as Marriott or Sheraton). It was so peaceful and out in nature. It almost felt like camping, minus the uncomfortable sleeping bags and bugs.

During our stay, we walked to the Safeway which is only a short walk for some bread, and cheese and had dinner on our porch every night with the wine we bought from that days' adventure. This Inn is out of the hustle and bustle that is Sonoma and a beautiful drive through the Russian River Valley can be had every day while here. We took a day trip down the Bohemian Highway, through Jenner and drove south to Point Reyes. I would hands down recommend this place. It was very romantic and a memory we will have forever.

Room Tip: Request a Vineyard room, closest to the vineyard with grapes owned by Korbel (I believe) and a firep...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Lovely place to stay! Only complaint is the beds are too soft.

Room Tip: Great suite with private hot tub. Unfortunately, the bed was very soft.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahoelaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review. A quick comment regarding the softness of the beds. All of our beds are top-of-the-line hospitality products manufactured by Serta. They are plush tops which makes them feel soft but the mattresses are actually very firm. The spring boxes have a V-line coil technology, which supports differences in weight (no dipping in the middle) and make for a better nights sleep. We hope to see you again in the future!

Karen O'Brien
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed last weekend with my daugter. Room large, clean, but could use some updating. Staff very nice and weekend breakfast very good! A little "sprucing up" the grounds would make this place five star. A bit pricey for our room with a view to the back parking lot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the Vineyard suites for two nights and absolutely loved it! The grounds and pool were beautiful. The deck had a great two person hot tub and overlooked a lovely vineyard with redwood covered hills as the backdrop. I spent the second morning relaxing in the hot tub as I watched deer graze in the vineyard. The suite was large with a very comfortable bed, living room with fireplace, kitchen, and a large mutli-head shower.

The staff was incredibly friendly and made great recommendations for dining and entertainment in the area. The best part was that everything was within easy walking distance!

Easy 45 minute drive from Sonoma and 15 minutes or so to the coast. Just a couple of minute drive from Armstrong Redwoods State Natural Reserve which is a must see!

There is a continental breakfast on weekend mornings that had croissants, fresh fruit, cheese, muffins, coffee and juice. Very good!

Room Tip: Vineyard view suites offer a great view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We thought we were going to love our room and time in Guerneville. We had a great dinner at Agriculture Bar and loved that it was walking distance from the hotel. Our time in the Hydro Spa in our room was truly relaxing and peaceful. However that all came to a stop when we went to bed. The hotel booked a room to some locals they new would probably cause a problem. We didn't sleep a bit. All night they were loud and LOUDER... They were having a party. All we wanted was our first night away from our childeren to be a peacful, special one. So much for that sleep we wanted too. Check out was noon the next day, but we were knocking at the lobby door to get out. The lobby receptionist came down to collect our key. She said, oh did you have any problems with the neighbors? We looked at her with question. She had two other complaints of the noise being too loud and didn't do anything about it. My family and I are hotel owners and if that happened at our hotel I would have refunded the disturbed guest for sure. They knew these local people were up to no good. Sweet room, but terrible service. She said, "Oh, if you come back I'll have your name on file and we will give you a discount." Ha, Ha, Ha...

Room Tip: The room with the hydro spa on the deck was amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Our commitment to excellent customer service is something we pride ourselves on. It was with sincere shock and disappointment that I read this review. I met these guests the morning they checked out and neither mentioned any problem. It was only when I asked if everything had been good with their stay that the reviewer told me her neighbors had been noisy. I spoke with them for several minutes and they never expressed the level of disturbance portrayed here.

The reviewers statement that there were 'two other complaints of noise' is simply not accurate. There were no complaints from anyone. All our rooms have phones and we have a 'quiet time' policy after 10 pm. Neither the reviewer nor her husband contacted us that night to tell us of a noise problem. The only way a business can remedy a problem is when they are informed that there is a problem.

She also claims that we knew the people and knew they were going to cause a disturbance. This is completely inaccurate. It goes against everything we stand for to host people who are disrespectful to our other guests or our property.

The reviewer did not ask for a discount or a refund when she was checking out. Since reading her review I have issued a full refund to her account and written to apologize for a disappointing stay.

Karen O'Brien
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a cabin with fireplace and nice small deck with 2-person hot tub and a lovely view out over a vineyard to very green hills beyond with deer bounding through the vineyard. The cabin was comfortable and clean with a great shower, a refrigerator and a microwave. The furniture is a bit drab, but adequate--definitely not a designer boutique or artist-inspired place. Fresh fruit, croissants , juice and coffee for breakfast. WIFI available, but signal quality a bit spotty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £113 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the cozy yet posh West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on 6 acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing