We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Going downhill.....”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our second stay at this property. The hotel still advertises breakfast on weekends, but no longer provides it, which amouts to false advertising in my opinion. It would take them a nanosecond to revise their website. We were with two other families and i had told everyone not to worry about breakfast,it was taken care of. WRONG.
The prices are as high as ever and frankly, it amazes me anyone would stay in Guerneville and pay the prices all the hotels seem to charge. We were there for a family event so had no choice. Guerneville is a dump, with vagrants dumpster diving and hiding out in the vegetation by the hotel. Additionally, the hotel staff said they were "having trouble" with the pool heater. Thus, the pool was COLD. I think heating the pool went away with the breakfast. Never saw a repair person....pool heaters are pretty simple things to fix.....so i think maybe its just too costly to heat the pool.
Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We came here last year in October via a Groupon. The room was beautifully appointed, large fireplace in the corner (connected to AC, so was a little confusing to use as the fire would go out at a specific temp...weird!!) My wife loved the bed, but for me it was way too soft (then again, I am happy sleeping on a floor!!)
The staff were extremely knowledgable regarding the attractions within the area (GET A COPY OF THE WINE PASSPORT = FREE TASTINGS at approx 20 local vineyards!!)
As for general customer service...FANTASTIC!!
Out of season the town has a few homeless people wandering around, but, they keep themselves to themselves. For me Guernville is a place to stay for a day/night whilst passing on the PCH! Go check out the Redwoods about 3 miles out of town...it's a cool way to spend a couple of hours!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITTLESTHOBOUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Reading other reviews, I would say choose the town you want to be in and then acknowledge the type of lodging you will have. We stayed 9/24 thru 9/28. West Sonoma Inn is the best place in Guerneville and a special value. Our room was simple, ample and affordable. The pool was great and the folks in the office really helpful. Dinner reservations, destination suggestions, and winery recommendations were all spot on. We hiked in the Armstrong Redwood forest each morning, followed by wine tasting then a relaxing dip in the (frigid cold) pool and dined at different places each but loved the shoreline. The town is not glitzing but the people there are really nice. Do yourself a favor and eat lunch at one of the local establishments, like Boon or Big Bottom Market, and talk to a few. Everyone we meet in town and on trails were friendly and interesting. The town is quiet and the 24 hour Safeway is the only real night spot. But it's location by the river, the redwoods and the shore makes it ideal if you want to do daytime activities. If eating and dining in the evening and late night action is more your thing, head to Healdsburg. We New Hampshirites totally enjoyed ourselves and would love to visit again when the time permits.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days, follow Naveed's advice and get a room with the small kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisabI238SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a run down travel lodge that is"fixed up." Our bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. My
husband and I had to sleep with our heads at the foot of the bed because of the slope.
I read a few reviews that were not in favor of this "motel" but decided there were enough good reviews to try it out, for the Groupon price. We were celebrating our anniversary and I wish I would have take the negative reviews into consideration. We should have stayed elsewhere. This property is a 2 star at best. The pictures are deceiving. There is no "spa" just a massage room.
But I will say the massages were terrific. I would not stay it this property again - even if the stay was complimentary

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Today is Saturday and our last day of our 3 day stay with our friends. One of the inducements was the promise of a great continental breakfast this morning, but that didn't happen. We were summarily told that the owner dropped this, yet it is posted on the website and we were told about this when reserving our 2 rooms. We could go to the office and get coffee. The young lady at the desk at checkin was exceedingly pleasant and helpful, but the man at the desk next day was less than helpful. Also, the pool was not heated due to needing repair, which was an additional disappointment. We would have rated the inn higher if the service was better, the continental breakfast was available, and the pool was usable.

Thus, we liked the location and our rooms were cozy, but the service was not up to par with what was expected.

Room Tip: WSI would be a great place to stay if amenities were all functional and selected staff were encourag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53589WI-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stay here every year and can't say enough good things about the property, the friendly and helpful staff, and the area.
Room was fully equipped with kitchenette and a comfy bed. big shower with 2 shower heads.
A deck with a view of the vineyards and a two person hot tub. Who could ask for more?
Close to downtown and the Russian River. We were there for the jazz and blues festival.
After the festival a nice dip in the pool and dinner at one of the many local resturants.
We will be back. It always feels like coming home.
THANK YOU West Sonoma Inn.

Diane and Jim Johnson

Room Tip: they all have their own special features. Browse the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane and Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here early August, as friends were also staying and recommended it to me. The rooms are all very nice, recently updated from what I see. Immaculate! Had a room with a small deck off the back that overlooks a vineyard and to the mountain beyond. A nice surprise. My bed was ultra comfy too.
Several amenities here as well, as listed on their site. I did not have a spa treatment, although usually do. Cannot vouch for that aspect, but will do so next visit.
The staff are all very personable, helpful.Walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants, as well as the Safeway store just across the road. My room had mini refrigerator and a MW, plus dishes and utensils. (Suggestion to owners, put a small cabinet up high where one can reach those things easily.)
I'd return and also recommend this resort highly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dptcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,440 reviews
6.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Property: West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing