We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hospitality In Guerneville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Bay, California
1 review
“The Best Hospitality In Guerneville”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We first came to the West Sonoma Inn and Spa in February for a special anniversary celebration. The service we experienced was fantastic!! The inn keeper's and staff gave us superb service. We found them extremely kind and helpful!

We have since returned 3 other times within the last few months and have stayed in various rooms. We found them all to be very beautiful!! With King size bed's, white and burgundy bedding, down comforters, lots of pillows. Nice gas fireplaces, ceiling fans and various other fans/space heaters at your disposal. Nice big bathrooms. Very nice bathroom amenities and towels. Clean kitchenetts, with nice dishes. We have found all the rooms to be clean and extremely comfortable!!!

This by far is the absolute best spot in all of Guerneville!!! The price of the rooms are reasonable. The grounds are beautiful. The location is with in walking distance of all downtown Guerneville. It's close to Northwood Golf Course, and the fantastic scenery of the Bodega Bay coast.

There isn't anything we don't like about this Inn and Spa. We have visited various other hotels and resorts in the Guerneville area for the past 30 years, but there is no other place we would rather stay then the West Sonoma Inn and Spa.

Thank you West Sonoma Inn and Spa for making our stay in Guerneville a very pleasant one. We look forward to experiencing your hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noverlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We decided to head to the wine country for Valentine's weekend very last minute. Called West Sonoma Inn, who informed us that given it was a very busy weekend, the only accomodation they had available was a basic room. We jumped on it since the price sounded right and the place had some excellent reviews.
We loved every minute of it. First off, the location in the quaint sleepy town of Guerneville is excellent: the place is very close to some stunning wine country drives that featured some of the best wine tasting experiences we've had. Some really good restaurants near by as well.
The room, even though basic, was very comfortable, clean, and - we felt - a good value for the price we paid. The staff was quite friendly and helpful in pointing out restaurants and wineries.
We had initially planned to stay a night, but enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay for two nights.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2008

If you are looking for THE BEST accommodations, coupled with an amazing spa staff and beautiful, peaceful relaxing grounds, look no further than the West Sonoma Inn. I have stayed at ALL properties in Guerneville over the years, and this is by FAR the “five star resort” of the Russian River. Navid, Karen and all of the front desk staff will make you feel like The West Sonoma Inn is your new mountain getaway home! Everyone who works at the resort is friendly and helpful, giving endless pointers on everything from where to eat to where to sight see. All rooms are very clean, quite large, well appointed and by far the nicest in the area with regards to being fresh and modern. Most rooms have fireplaces and decks, with the suites being the most luxurious. The two vineyard room suits with flat screen televisions, large dual headed showers and spacious decks with private hot tubs overlooking the wine country are spectacular.

Rebecca in the spa is amazing!!! I have had multiple treatments with her over the years, including the herbal facial, hot stone message, Swedish and sports messages, etc. Spa is sleek, clean and relaxing. Services provided are reasonably priced and the staff are quite flexible with appointment times. You never feel rushed and everyone at the spa makes you feel right at ease! The spa feels like something you might experience at a high end Pacific Heights or Nob Hill day spa.

The resort is conveniently located on the edge of Guerneville, but close enough to walk to the grocery store, eating establishments and bars. The resort never feels crowded and is diverse in cliental with a nice mix of gay and straight couples, families and singles.

If your really looking for an unforgettable experience, try the West Sonoma Inn & Spa, you will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Liked — Spa, Staff, Clean and Beautiful Rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything exceeded my expectation levels....
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bachtopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at West Sonoma Inn for two nights while traveling in the wine country. We found Guerneville to be a good location for visiting Russian River Valley wineries. The town itself is very quaint and a good place to get away and relax. Be aware that wireless phone service is not very reliable around town. This was fine with us though.

West Sonoma Inn is just a short walk to everything in the Guerneville main town. Dawn's Ranch Lodge across the street is a nice place to get a drink. The only driving that was necessary during our stay was to visit the wineries and to dine at the Applewood Inn Restaurant, which was fantastic.

We stayed in one of the Vineyard rooms. Ours had a nice view of the Vineyard on the property and seemed to have been recently renovated.

The property has wireless internet access, which worked fine from our room. It also has a fairly large pool, which could be nice if visiting in the summer.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations, and they provided us with cards that got us free tastings at a couple of the nearby wineries. Breakfast was very basic, so we opted to eat at nearby restaurants.

  • Liked — proximity to restaurants
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2008

This is my second visit to the Inn and I really love the peaceful setting it provides.

This time around we stayed in a suite with a private hot tub and deck. The hot tub worked great. It was very relaxing to sip on a glass of wine and watch the beautiful night sky.

The Inn is within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. I was able to park the car for the duration of our stay and stroll to our destinations.

The Inn's staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room is extremely comfortable and spacious.

I will definitely stay again for a quick weekend getaway from the busy city.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

The rooms are nicely done....some with great views, very friendly and very clean. Within walking distance to downtown. mixed crowed, lesbians, gays and straight,,,,,,Checked out the gay resort "The Woods" right next door.Asides from being gay only, the place is overpriced, shabby looking, desperately in need of a total remodel...... defenitely a NO NO.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank criticadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I just got back from a one night stay at West Sonoma Inn. Like many other reviewers here, I was overall happy with my stay.

The good: reasonably priced for what you get. Good location if you like being near town but not having to hear much noise. This would be a good place for a large family or group. Rooms are clean and spacious. We were traveling with our 19 month old daughter; the little sitting room made a perfect place to put her travel crib. She slept soundly, and in earshot, while hubby and I relaxed and had a glass of wine on the little patio. Fairly nice pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful reception area - I thought I had read there was a manager's reception (don't know what that is, but thought I read it somewhere). I didn't ask the staff, but found no mention of it in the hotel binder.

I won't use the word bad, because mostly everything was good if not great, but I'll say here are some areas where the inn could improve a bit.

It's all about the details for me, so little things add up. I had to call three separate times to find out if they had a crib or pack and play for my daughter to sleep in. Finally, they admitted they couldn't find it. It was a pain to have to pack ours, so I wish that they had one for us. No hot water in the mini bar area, which made washing dishes hard. Somewhat sparse decor.This is fine for a chain type of hotel, but in an Inn-clogged kind of place like Russian River, you want to stand out. Times are tough, I realize but better coffee for the continental breakfast would be appreciated. It's fine to put that hotel stuff in the rooms, but I like real strong coffee and expect it at a place like this.

That's about it. I would say this would be a great place for a girls weekend, quick family getaway, etc. Within walking distance to the river and town.

  • Liked — great sevice, reasonable price
  • Disliked — mediocre coffee for the continental breakfast, some minor details were off.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-gohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,280 reviews
6.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Property: West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing