We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Pleasant Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley CA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A very Pleasant Place”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had the smallest room on the site, but still were very comfortable. The surroundings are very pleasant -- gardens and redwoods. The hosts provide local recommendations and chat easily with the guests. Guerneville gives easy access to the coast, to the Russian River, and to a multitude of Russian River Valley wineries. We definitely recommend Fern Grove as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We enjoyed meeting you and welcoming you to Fern Grove Cottages. We really appreciate your kind reviews. We are glad you were comfortable here, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    66
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
187
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Margaret & Mike are truly gracious hosts - and Innkeeper (Annie??) was wonderful as well.

The cottages are well kept, clean, cute, in a great location, offer a very nice continental breakfast (can you say HOME MADE SCONES??), and even have a nice little happy hour with some yummy sherry. I would have given them 5 stars just they way they are. However....then I discover the stack of binders in the corner. You know how most hotel guidebooks just have a smattering of info? Well not these folks!!! Annie (I wish I could really remember her name...) has put together these HUGE binders with information on absolutely everything you could possibly dream of doing, drinking, or eating in the area...It's comprehensive & seriously impressive!!!

We WILL be back!!!!

The service &

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagypsy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
So great to meet you and welcome you to Fern Grove Cottages. We are flattered and most appreciative of your kind words here. Annie, our Innkeeper has worked hard at organizing information about the area, into those various binders, to help guests learn about the many wonderful things to do in the area. She was recently given an award by the county for her work on those guest information binders, which we are proud of. She has lived in this area for over 10 years, and believes she lives in "paradise", and loves the opportunity to share her favorite places with our many and diverse visitors. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again to Fern Grove Cottages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have been wanting to stay at Fern Grove for years...it did not disappoint! We stayed in 1 and 2 as a family it was great having the two connecting spaces. The rooms were of good size and the kitchen was perfect for what we needed. The Inn keeper was very helpful and gave suggestions of things, place to see and do. Thanks! As everyone has said before...don't miss the breakfast...the scones were delicious. We are planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachlaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
So great to welcome you and your family here. We really appreciate your kind review. The cottages with kitchens work well for visiting families, and we are pleased that your experience was a good one. We would be most happy to welcome you back again to Fern Grove Cottages! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were welcomed back this week for our third stay at the Fern Grove Cottages. Margaret and Mike are excellent hosts. Mike answered all of my gardening questions about the beautiful grounds (I learned about Quince and Asian Dogwood); Margaret and her staff are terrific resources for all local attractions (wine-tasting; historical). Yummy home-made buiscuits and scones are the highlight of every morning before embarking on the myriad local hiking trails. Fern Grove Cottages are within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, galleries in the town of Guerneville. For hiking: only 13 driving miles, ~20 minutes from Shell Beach and the beautiful Kortum trail on the Sonoma Coast; and less than 3 miles, ~10 minutes from the Armstrong (Redwoods) Woods visitors' center. While respecting the quiet and peaceful garden surroundings, we were welcome to play our low-key acoustic (guitar and flute) folk music on our porch in the late afternoon. This is a place for people seeking a solo, couple, or family cottage setting, with beautifully clean and personally cared-for quiet garden surroundings. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikesAndMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Fern Grove Cottages. We really enjoy having you guys here. You sit on you porch and play the most magical soothing music, what a treat! Thank you very much for this great review. We really appreciate it! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I rented the majority of the Fern Grove Cottages and one of the River Houses for a 'destination birthday' on and around the Russian River. Margaret and her staff were extraordinary to work with and went out of our way to make our guests, who flew in from all over the country, feel welcome. Margaret's 'English Garden' is beautiful and creates a perfect setting for the quaint but comfortable and unique cottages. We recommend both the cottages and their owners very highly whether for a night or a long weekend, or for a couple or a couple of dozen!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank sleeplessinfrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We really enjoyed having your group here for your birthday celebration! What a fun weekend! And your guests were so sweet. The grounds of Fern Grove Cottages, surrounded by our flower gardens, make a great spot for a group gathering like yours. We are pleased you had a great time. We look forward welcoming you, and your party here any time, so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My 91 year old father was on vacation with my husband and I and we stayed 5 days here. The cabins were clean, very cute and cozy. The are private, but yet close enough that you can get breakfast and bring back to your room if you want. The cleaning staff was excellent. Thanks for a great stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenoxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you, and your father. We are glad you were comfortable, and enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back her again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were in this area for a wedding, and chose the Ferngrove Cottages because they accept pets. The cottages are charming, each with a different theme! The grounds are gorgeous....from the salt water pool th the extraordinary flower gardens everywhere! The innkeepers made us feel very welcome! And the breakfast biscuits and scones are to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiafatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We are glad to hear you had such a nice stay. We enjoyed meeting you and really pleased to receive such positive feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back here again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,440 reviews
14.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing