We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodations, Scenery, and Hospitality-all amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
Ranked #11 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
1 review
“Accommodations, Scenery, and Hospitality-all amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I found the Rio Nido Lodge because for my boyfriend's 30 birthday and I wanted to take him to a bar in the middle of nowhere, but I also didn't want to have to commit to driving us all the way home. I saw the Rio Nido Roadhouse while on a camping trip and decided that was the perfect place. So I did some research online and found the Rio NIdo Lodge! I was so amazed by the service that Brett and Yulia gave us. The breakfast they make in the morning is absolutely amazing-and they add little touches each morning to make it different. We were there for two nights and on the second night they left my boyfriend and I a gift for his birthday: homemade chocolate covered strawberries. They were delicious!!! The scenery in Rio Nido and its surroundings is beautiful...so many things to do! Anywho, to sum it up: Brett and Yulia are so incredibly accommodating and the Rio Nido Lodge couldn't be in a better spot!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unruhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    27
    6
    0
    8
See reviews for
12
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stopped here late one night on the way up the coast. The 100 year building is has great charm and Brett and Yulia are doing a nice job renovating. Our room was clean, the staff friendly and a free full breakfast is included. It is tucked away in the redwoods only a few minutes from Guerneville, Duncan's Mills and Highway 1. The setting is very quiet and peaceful. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayCatsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Seeking somewhere peaceful and different, we booked the studio cottage behind the historic Rio Nido Lodge, set amongst tall redwoods. This rustic timber building retains authentic aspects of earlier days such as the large built-in bed and raised platform seating around the fireplace. We could well imagine it being a hang out for visiting musicians from the Big Band era or the sixties rock bands who used to play gigs at Rio Nido in earlier times. It also has a functional kitchen, while most modern needs are met by the bathroom with a large spa bath, the comfortable couch, a flatscreen TV, side lamps, and a breakfast bar near the kitchen. The cottage has no garden but adjacent are two small private concrete yards. The interior is a little dark during daytime and could well do with a small highlight window to frame views of the wonderful soaring redwoods behind the cottage, but as we were out most of the time, exploring the coast, river or nearby villages, this was no problem. Breakfast in the Lodge was very generous and we particularly relished the home made jam. The owners have only recently opened the Lodge up and indicated plans for further improvements so we look forward to returning at a later time - this place has real character, avoiding the blandness and homogeneity of so many modern hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are set up in a more modern style but we liked the unusual features of the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbre, Owner at Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear ChrisSpeed,

Thank you for the review. Your room tip is absolutely correct, all rooms except the Cottage have been renovated, but we have decided to leave the vintage charm as a reminder of days gone by. Also, the Cottage is our only family accommodation.

Brett Gibbs
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My brother and I stayed here for a few days and loved it! Very friendly and accomadating hosts who went out of the way for us. Their included breakfast is home cooked and awesome.

Very relaxing, deep woods. I hope to revisit someday and recommend Rio Nido to everyone.

Room Tip: Their is 1 cottage available other than the regular rooms. Good way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My fiance and I stayed here the weekend of August 23rd while we were in Guernville for a friends wedding. The place is tucked away in a little nook just off the highway. Surrounded by gorgeous tall redwoods. We felt like we were driving up to a chalet in Switzerland.

We were greeted by Brett and Yulia, the owners, and their delightful little girl. They were extremely nice and accommodating. Brett showed us to our room, which was this cozy spot upstairs. The room was practically brand new. Fresh paint, carpet, furniture, you name it.

Brett gave us a brief history of the Rio Nido area, which I will let you hear when you go. Really quite fascinating the history of the place.

Our favorite part of the stay was breakfast. Brett and Yulia cook up some really yummy food. The dining area/restaurant is awesome. You can just feel the history in the space. Great food and plenty of great coffee too.

Yulia makes home made preserves from local fruit that is out of this world. In fact, when we were leaving, Brett gave us a mason jar of some orange plum jam to take with us. That didn't last long lemme tell yah.

We don't get up to that area much, in fact, that was our first time. But anytime we're up in that area, we'll definitely stay at Rio Nido.

Thank you Brett and Yulia for making our stay so great!

Room Tip: If you can, get a deluxe room upstairs. Very private and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Rio Nido Lodge while touring around Napa. The owners are great, very welcoming and want to help any way they can. Our room was very clean and well-kept. It is a perfect place to stay if you want a unique and comfortable room without paying $350+ in Sonoma. It is a little bit of a drive if you're touring around near Sonoma/Napa, but it is well worth it if you ask me. This is one of those places that you hate to write a review on; you don't want everyone else to know about it but we certainly want Brett and Yulia to succeed! We will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rio Nido Lodge this week and had an incredible time. We were able to relax and unwind. Brett and Yulia made our stay comfortable. They were very accommodating. We will be making a trip back very soon. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who needs to get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
5.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Property: Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
Address: 4444 Wood Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-8018
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful respite in a picturesque spot with the redwoods providing a serene backdrop where modern meets rustic. This almost 100 year old Lodge has lots of unique accommodations to offer. All rooms with one king or one queen bed for a perfect adult getaway. Banquet and meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Nido Lodge At The Russian River Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing