We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Applewood Inn Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Guerneville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Located on Hwy. 116, 1/2 mile east of River Road and the Guerneville bridge
Description: Vibrant Sonoma Cuisine that is sustainable, local and organic. The Restaurant at Applewood Inn was honored with One Star by the Michelin Guide for 2011 and 2012. Its acclaimed cuisine is inspired by the lush bounty of the Russian River Valley and accented by Mediterranean influences. The Restaurant at Applewood Inn ranks among the top fine dining restaurants in Sonoma Wine Country. It offers gracious service in a rustic and romantic setting that balances warmth and elegance. Celebrate life and every romantic occasion at Applewood. A magical evening at the Applewood Restaurant will help make your special event even more memorable.
Nashville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We decided to eat here after hearing many locals rave about it, so glad we did! I had the filet, so tender. My husband had the fish, he loved it as well. Very pleasant staff too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gayle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    53
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica
Level Contributor
210 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Leisurely paced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent, with plenty of time to enjoy every course. It's a classy spot with wait staff that are more professional than friendly. Portions are on the small side in service to the plates, which are carefully presented and sculpted. Do not visit this place if you have a timeline to keep. Great for a romantic evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If we had looked at the menu before booking our room at the inn, I don't think we would have made reservations at the restaurant. The limited offerings (usually a good thing for a restaurant) seemed a little too foo-foo for us. We could not have been more wrong. My husband had a smoked salmon with fingerling potatoes appetizer, and I had the beef salad. We both had the filet of beef for an entree. In all cases the flavors were intense and exquisite. We ordered an ancient Zinfandel from Woodenhead, and enjoyed it so much that we went to the winery the next day and joined their wine club.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful dining experience, we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely Ambiance, good service great food. Had our heart set on having the lamb, unfortunately they ran out (our res was @830) by the time we ordered. Every starter we had was so yummy, especially the scallop w/uni sauce! Beef Strip loin was good, Halibut wasn't to my liking (I was really looking forward to lamb). Dessert sampler was nice. We will be back again to try that lamb. Looking forward to my next visit to Applewood Inn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alohakauaisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent. A real find. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had checked this out on the Internet and Ron at the Rio Villa Beach Resort confirmed that it was one of the best places in the area.

A very impressive room and excellent, friendly staff - good ratio of staff to customers.

The food was cooked and presented to the highest standard. We both had the Halibut and it was outstanding. Starters of soup 'of the day' and tartare were lovely as were the puddings of lemon tart and Mocha Mouse.

Extensive wine list catering for all pockets and tastes - with many local wines - as you would expect. A bottle of the Moshin Pinot Noir at $48 went down very well as did the Korbel Rose 'champagne' aperitif.

Warm atmosphere with mixed clientele - all dressed 'smart - casual' as requested by the management - so don't turn up in a bikini or 'tatty' jeans. Having made the comment about attire - the place is certainly NOT stuffy.

We would certainly suggest a visit and it will be top of our list should we return to the area.

Enjoy.

Stephen and Paul

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applewood Inn Restaurant also viewed

Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Applewood Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing