We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn. Our hosts, Dana and Brian, were very kind and accomodating just like staying with good friends. The food was wonderful, especially Dana's homemade special apricot jam made with hard work and love. Thanks Dana!

We stayed in the Acorn Room which is probably the quietest one.

Thanks to Dana and Brian! With much aloha, Warren and Lynne

Room Tip: Acorn Room for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to choose the Sonoma Orchid Inn when we recently visited the Guerneville area. We were pampered from the moment we arrived on the beautiful secluded property. The main building is gorgeously adorned with large comfortable chairs and sofas - it literally begs you to just sit and relax. Our room was also nicely decorated with a very comfortable king sled-style bed.
We were treated with remarkable homemade coconut macadamia cookies each day! The remarkable breakfasts included homemade biscuits using a James Beard recipe, a wonderful light egg creation consisting of blueberries, freshly picked fruit, etc. This proved to be a wonderful relaxing getaway which was centrally located to all the spenders of the area. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Upon arrival to this wonderful Bed & Breakfast Inn we were warmly greeted by our hosts, Brian and Dana. We were taken on a quick tour of the main inn and gardens which include a guest kitchen with coffee and freshly baked cookies. We stayed in one of the quaint cottages retrofitted with an air conditioner due to the unusual heat wave. The room was charming, cosy and warm with a nice fireplace and one of the most comfortable beds we ever slept on! The next morning we experienced the most wonderful homemade breakfast. Following breakfast, our hosts graciously inquired about our interests and provided suggestions regarding daily activities. It was sad leaving after two days because it felt like home!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VinceSLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sonoma Orchid Inn. We had a great experience! The room was wonderful and well decorated. The hosts were EXTREMELY friendly and very helpful in suggesting restaurants and making reservations. The breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely go back to stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Their breakfasts are to die for! Our good-sized room was very nice and comfortable. The forest surroundings and singing birds were soothing. We enjoyed a very relaxing time on the patio. Brian and Dana were gracious hosts. The street noise was a little noticeable, but we slept quite well anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mreeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We found them via a flyer in a restaurant late in the afternoon. The price was right when we called and were able to book a room for the evening. It was unseasonably hot and we had been wine tasting all day. Hot and exhausted, we arrived and were met with a by Dana. There was ice water and cold juice in the refrigerator and freshly baked cookies in the kitchen after we dropped our bags in the room. The property is absolutely beautiful, and our room was charming. The bed was so comfortable! Cushy and the softest sheets! We WILL be back. Great hosts and amazing breakfasts. Thanks Dana and Brian!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Orchid Inn. The location is great (12 miles from the main Sonoma Valley highway and 17 miles from the Pacific coast), the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was outstanding. I highly recommend the Orchid Inn and will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
4.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
698 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,600 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 12 in Guerneville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £134 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing