We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was excellent!! Thank you Brian and Dana!”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were in town for the Russian River Jazz festival, we had our reservations made a few months in advance... But on the day of the festival I realized we will not be able to check in until after the show and maybe grab a quick dinner before check in, so I emailed in the morning to see if a 7pm check in would be ok. I promptly received an email back with directions to guide us on what to do that it wouldn't be a problem... We arrived before 7 and the door was locked and a smiling, soon to find out Brian, was rushing down the driveway to greet us
" it's not 7 yet" ... I let him know we decided to get here as early as we could after the show and do dinner after instead of keeping them waiting... He brought us in what seemed like "his home", you walk in to the great room, just beautifully decorated. There is a shared refrigerator stocked with water, juices, coffee, stemware for your wine and the best thing.... Fresh baked cookies!!! Yum! We stayed in the laurel suite in the main house and just loved it. It has a seperate sitting room. Again all decorated to perfection. Then Brian proceeds to give us all the details on where to eat from casual dining to white table cloth dining, from local to just a little bit of a drive. He was in no rush, had a book of menus with little maps to give all the details, you wouldn't think it was almost 7 pm and he had been doing this all day! I could go on and on but sleeping that night was great... Comfy bed, and sheets and Dana's breakfast the next morning, well 2 mornings for us, was just absolutely heavenly!! Eggs from their own chickens, which are the cutest things too!! We just loved everything about our stay!! Location is perfect too!! Brian will guide you on wineries to visit too!!
Thank you both again, we will be back soon!! Mo and Jeff from Placerville

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here. Breakfast was wonderful and served family style. it consisted of Fluffy eggs and sausage, French toast and ham. Fresh fruit. It got us started on our day ready to go. There is no central air. There was a bit of a heat wave so it was hot in our for a couple of days there . The price was very reasonable. They were really great with recommendations for wineries and dining. We spent most of our stay in the spruce room in the main house. Fresh baked cookies, bottled water, coffee and tea were available in the guest kitchen. We loved this inn. Dana and Brian made us feel like we were friends visiting them from out of town. We would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house. It is farther away from river road where there is traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our family stayed here for 5 days. It has been very wonderful. They gave us a lot of help with planning days, local places and hikes, planning a day was very easy. B&B was very clean, nice, and well decorated. They have a lot of table/board games if you have little kids.

They also went out of their way to help us with grill cheese for our daughter (at 2 she loves that for breakfast) and gets very fussy with her food choices. It was very nice of them to do that for us. They also let our daughter collect eggs from their chickens that roam in the backyard, for her it was just a supremely fun activity. We'll definitely be coming back.

The owners are very nice, friendly, and wonderful people.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers that are not very tall, so if you are tall person ask them which room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had a really good time here. Brian and Dana, the proprietors, have made every effort to make you feel at home. From the homey furniture to the awesome linens, and from the endless bottles of water in the guest refrigerator to the suggestions of what to do, you know you are important to them. Breakfasts--served promptly at 9 AM--were yummy, and the house was really quiet. Can't say enough nice things about the inn or Dana and Brian. Just know that there's no air conditioning, just ceiling fans. In this climate, that's probably fine most of the time...unfortunately, we were here during a hot spell. It's still a beautiful place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TripLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn in late June. We were traveling with another couple. We chose to stay the the Madrone Suite. The room was a little dated, but that was OK. We like B&B's so we were OK with it. During our stay, California was going thru a horrible heat wave, and the rooms do not have AC. The hosts actually went above and beyond to accomodate, and went and bought a portable AC unit for our rooms.

The breakfasts were absolutely amazing!!! You could tell it was prepared fresh daily!!! They also have a Kuerig coffeemaker, so if you have a specific coffee you prefer, you could bring your own, or visit the local supermarket.

Thanks Dana and Brian

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slam0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were in for a short 4 days for a wedding. Our hosts were kind, accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The property is charming, as is the house. Breakfasts were divine. I am a vegan, and they made me a special breakfast every morning. My breakfasts included steel cut oatmeal with fresh nuts and berries, and on one occasion a special tofu stir fry with home grown greens. What a delight! My husband ate the traditional fare, including quiches, muffins, and other fabulous egg dishes. They looked to die for. The fruit salads served every morning were excellent. I've never had a more delicious and ripe fruit salad. Everything else was just great. Highly recommended; we would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adjexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn. Our hosts, Dana and Brian, were very kind and accomodating just like staying with good friends. The food was wonderful, especially Dana's homemade special apricot jam made with hard work and love. Thanks Dana!

We stayed in the Acorn Room which is probably the quietest one.

Thanks to Dana and Brian! With much aloha, Warren and Lynne

Room Tip: Acorn Room for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
14.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
536 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £133 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing