We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

I just returned from a weekend stay at the Sonoma Orchid Inn and I feel relaxed and happy. I can not recommend this Inn highly enough. We live in Alameda and the journey to the inn was only about an hour and a half, yet I felt like we were light years away from Silicon Valley! Dana and Brian make you feel like you are one of the family, they are natural innkeepers. Our room was perfect, well appointed and
comfortable. The breakfast both days was above what I expected, the oatmeal soufle was amazing. If you want a low pressure weekend away with out a lot of travel time, I recommend that you try the Sonoma Orchid Inn!

  • Liked — The innkeepers made you feel so welcome1
  • Disliked — I have nary a complaint, not a one
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    48
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
178
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2007

Over the years, we have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts.
With the exception of the one that we stayed at on our honeymoon, all have been exceptional. That being said, what truly makes Sonoma Orchid Inn a standout, above and beyond the exceptional breakfast (and I mean exceptional) is the warmth of it's Innkeepers Brian and Dana. If there were a rating above '5 star - excellent', they would certaintly be getting it from us!

  • Liked — The Innkeeps Brian and Dana
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bradfordbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn. It was very comfortable, clean and very "homey". Both Dana & Brian were wonderful hosts. They are very warm and personable individuals and always happy to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfasts were outstanding. We would definitely recommend the Inn and would stay there again.
Thank you Brian & Dana!

  • Liked — Quiet/serene
  • Disliked — Bathroom sink/vanity---no space, could use another mirror in bedroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2007

We spent three nights at the Ridenhour Inn and it was a positively great experience (and great choice on our travel agent's behalf)!

First of all, Dana and Brian (the innkeeppers) were in touch with us via e-mail prior to our visit offering any assistance (dinner suggestions/reservations, site seeing info, etc) we might need. After talking to them over the phone, we had already made plans for dinner the first two nights and upon arrival, they helped us with the third night/choice.

The Inn is in a lovely setting and was warm and inviting as we walked through the front door. It is decorated very tastefully and provided a nice atmosphere for relaxing before breakfast each morning and at other times of the day as well. And speaking of breakfast, they were the BEST!! Not too heavy but certainly plenty to get us started and still have room for lunch at one of the many fine restaurants in the Russian River Valley.

Our bedroom was very comfortable and very clean as was our private bathroom. We really felt pampered!

We hope to visit the Russian River Valley again in the next 2 or 3 years and would definitely plan to stay here again as long as it fits into the logistics of the rest of our trip.

Thank you, Brian and Dana!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ruzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

This B&B is wonderful. The setting is serene with plenty of trees and it's set back off the road so you really feel the tranquility.

The rooms are quaint, nicely decorated and have all the amenities you need. You get the sense when you walk in that there's great attention to every little detail at the Inn.

Dana and Brian are the nicest, most accomodating and INTERESTING hosts you'll ever meet. The breakfasts they serve, as you've seen in most of the reviews here...are amazing. You find it hard to believe you get all these nice touches for the price you pay.

That they allow dogs in certain rooms is a plus for us dog-owners.

We left feeling refreshed and peaceful. This is a perfect get away whether you want to get out and enjoy the outdoors or just sit in and read a great book.

We will certainly be back.

  • Liked — Breakfast, the owners, the serenity, the decor
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shaylasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

We stayed at the Ridenhour on a recent mushroom foraging trip to the Sonoma Coast. We wanted to wine taste too, and the Ridehour's location between the coast and Dry Creek Valley is perfect. Brian and Dana, and their four footed co-hosts, were so knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, parks, etc. I guess my boyfriend mentioned that he like to cycle when he booked, and Brian even researched beautiful road rides in the area.

Our room (Hawthorne) was very large and cozy, and it even had a nice fireplace. One more plus - its decor doesn't look like your grandmother decorated it - no "B&B lace and ruffles" in sight. It was a nice tudor theme, and even had a wood stove.

Brian and Dana raise orchids, and all the plants in bloom around the inn were a nice touch.

Finally, breakfast at the Ridenhour isn't just croissants and coffee. These guys are serious about their breakfast, and good thing - it got us started on a couple of lovely days.

  • Liked — location and the intimate setting
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — must see Chicken TV
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winebabeskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2006

We stayed there over my birthday weekend. The Inn Keepers were very nice and breakfast was fantastic. This is the perfect launching pad for wine tasting; mushroom foraging; hikes near at the coast… the overall experience fantastic. We even made it all the way to Mendocino for lunch one day.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — A little older, rooms need to be remodeled
  • Tips/Secrets — Gte a room with a fireplace
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaboyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
4.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
11.0 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing