We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was okay”
Review of Akasaka Restaurant

Akasaka Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“food was okay”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

They do give you a lot of food for the money. The fish pieces are large and portions are huge however, I found the quality isn't up to par. Felt like they try to make up for the lack of quality with more food. However, that said, it is a nice little restaurant with friendly staff. I would return but wouldn't consider it highend sushi restaurant. Ohshima in Orange or Kimagure in Pasadena is better in my opinion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sushi so goooooooooooood”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This place is great. The Chirashi is gigantic, as evident by many of the pictures available on this site and other review sites. It's a bit pricey, but the portion sizes are comically large and it's very fresh. They add 'extra' flavorings and textural things to the chirashi that doesn't exist in more traditional japanese settings.

The service can be a bit slow and not very attentive, which is the drawback of this restaurant.

The wait times are very long and I don't think it's worth it just to show up for dinner without a reservation. . . so call a day ahead, even if it's for a table of 2. They have an outdoor and indoor seating area. Pick the indoors . . . the outdoors was a bit dingy and dirty.

Overall, I loved it and will definitely be headed back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jephyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“The Biggest Chirashi Ever!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A medium size restaurant tucked in a quiet residential/warehouse district of Hacienda Heights popular with the locals, has the BIGGEST Chirashi in Los Angeles County. Fresh sea urchin, yellow tail, tuna, unago, scallops, salmon, sweet shrimp, tako, and three different kinds of fish roe all on a generous bed of seasoned sushi rice. The chirashi is $40 per order, but it is so big, it is enough to be shared up to three people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Bento Box for the money!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Ate @ Akasaka with hubby, daughter, and son for celebration. Ordered Bento Box for everyone with different combo. Ordered extra sushi for side dish. Loved the Bento Box ! Generous portion and really satisfying meal. Total bill for 4 only came to $60!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dagkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love the tempura fried pepper appetizer!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We sat at the sushi bar (which is small...seats up to 9 people--but they DO take reservations for the sushi bar). They brought us edimome, tempura fried peppers, and a spicy tuna tempura for appetizers....free, I believe. (I didn't pay for dinner.)

The rolls are huge. Yellow tail sushi is the best. Pieces of sushi/sashimi are huge. I guess my only issue here is price, but it's my understanding the owner goes to the fish market in LA every day and hand picks the fish....which is a good thing!

The service is great...it's a small place and always crowded with people waiting. But the sushi chef (female/owner) put out the sushi like a champ. People love her...she's very entertaining. And the servers are quick and take care of the customers.

You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K8Mac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akasaka Restaurant also viewed

Hacienda Heights, CA
Hacienda Heights, CA
 
City of Industry, CA
Hacienda Heights, CA
 

Been to Akasaka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing