We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Sleep EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Sleep EVER!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We wanted to get away for the weekend and we thought Half Moon Bay would be the perfect place (it was!) but I wish I would have read ALL of the reviews before booking my $189.00 + tax room here. I was expecting a warm, wonderful room to relax and stay in. We were put in room #9 in the inn adjacent to the property. DO NOT STAY AT THE INN!
During the day all we could hear were the conversations of the people at the restaurant across the street. Then at night, oh the dreadful night, EVERY 10 SECONDS, the fog horn sounds and you can hear it very clearly. We contacted the staff to ask them why they don't inform you ahead of time about the noise, and their response was, "Well, why would we tell people that? No one would want to stay there." HELLO?!?!? I feel totally cheated out of what should have been a really nice weekend. I would HIGHLY recommend staying somewhere else!

Room Tip: Don't Stay at the Inn!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    183
    57
    35
    26
See reviews for
108
309
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I made a quick trip to San Francisco for Business and Pleasure. The hotel was close to San Francisco but because I let at 7:30am to drive to San Francisco the traffic is terrible that time of the morning because of the signal lights on Hiway #1. It should take 45 mins. to get to downtown San Francisco but it took 90 mins. instead. Back to the Hotel it is just off of Hiway #1. Big underground parking lot. They have rooms in the main building and rooms in another building they own next door. I choose the rooms next door. It is a short walk and the rooms where very nice with a gas fireplace. My room had a stain on the carpet in front of the refrigerator. But other wise the room was excellent and reasonably priced. They have a large gyn in the main building. No swimming pool. They have a small shopping center connected to the hotel so you can walk from the hotel to the shopping center without having to go outside to access it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Hotel is about 6 yrs. old. It is close to the ocean but expect the weather to be cold near the coast most of the time year round. A lot of restaurants close to the hotel. They have the ability to do large meetings or weddings at the hotel ballroom. The hotel has about 110 rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here only one night but wish it was longer. The view is as promised. You can see the ocean from all the rooms and is very easy to get to ocean side restaurants and pubs. Loved the décor in the room! It's very tropical and comfortable, and feels like you are in the Caribbean. We were passing through Half Moon Bay and treated ourselves in staying here. For the nice property it is, we got a good rate, but it wasn't high season. Wished there was a more convenient place to get a quick breakfast other than the one restaurant off the lobby. Hotel was a little hard to find since it's off the main road and behind some other properties.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Oceano is located across the street from the harbor providing great views and beautiful sunsets! The staff was attentive and friendly. .The room was spacious, modern and clean. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch. Room had a cover porch overlooking the harbor with enough room to sit outside and watch the harbor while enjoying a glass of wine.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkelly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Awesome! This hotel was clean and so cozy! We had room service for breakfast, the food was amazing. Very romantic getaway destination with lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place was fantastic. My wife and I had never been down to Half Moon Bay and were just down for one night. Our room (307) had a fantastic view of the harbor. The room was super spacious, cozy as well as romantic.

I feel like we got the quality of room and same amenities that we would have received at the Ritz but with friendlier staff and way less than half the price we would have paid.

Ear plugs for foghorn but it's not near as loud as the other reviews would have you believe. We'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: 307 has a great sunrise/sunset view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianVinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, Catalina Island, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were only able to stay one night and are very anxious to return for a few nights - FABULOUS location right at the marina with lots of restaurants within walking distance. Our room, with its balcony and ocean view looking out toward Mavericks, was beautifully decorated. It had a separate living room with sofa, fireplace, desk and wet bar. The bed was so comfy and the linens amazing. I have to add too that the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is so much to see and do in Half Moon Bay/El Granada we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a room with a vaulted ceiling which was charming as well as a sunset view - 2nd or 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredkelleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
928 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
183 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing