We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Great Hotel, wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Oceano for our 5th anniversary and it was a great experience. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are beautiful. We've stayed down the road at the Ritz Carlton in the past and the difference in hotels does not warrant the $200 price difference in the room rate. I would stay at the Oceano every time over the Ritz unless you really plan on spending every minute of your stay in the hotel or utilizing its services (at expensive prices themselves). Our room was close to the lobby and we were concerned about the noise from a wedding reception going on, and while we heard a few voices at around 10 or 11, all was quiet after and we had a great night's sleep. Overall a very nice place to stay and a great "value" for a higher end hotel in Half Moon Bay

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    167
    52
    34
    26
See reviews for
101
295
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I stayed at the Oceano Hotel for my birthday in May and it was so much fun. Beautiful accommodations, stunning location, and great restaurants all around. I would recommend the Oceano Hotel to everyone, regardless of whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a couple of days away from the office, or a weekend at the beach, the Oceano Hotel is perfect for everything. And the weddings there are beautiful!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Half Moon Bay has been a repeated vacation destination for my family for over 20 years. This trip was with my husband and our 9 year old daughter. We were immensely pleased with our stay. My daughter and I most enjoyed sipping hot cocoa and watching the boats as well as strolling through the adjoining shops. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. The staff was incredibly friendly everywhere we turned. This is, hands down, the absolute best place to stay in Half Moon Bay. We will make this our hotel of choice for all our future Half Moon Bay vacations.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AStalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Often visit the Half Moon Bay area and finally had the chance to stay at the new Oceano Hotel and Spa. The Hotel was beautiful and one of the best spas around. It's location is the best. Right on the Harbor and close to lots of restaurants and acticity. Has a quanit mall with great shops. You can eat there or lots of choices within a couple minutes of walking. My husband and I took a beautiful walk out to Mavericks and enjoyed the beautiful location so much. I have stayed at many places around the Half Moon Bay coastside and the Oceano is by far the best. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenieB180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heyburn, Idaho, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

My husband and I will stay again at the Oceano Hotel. We had excellent customner service, beautiful rooms and enjoyed the ocean view. We like San Francisco but prefer staying in a smaller town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

I stayed at the Oceano last weekend and loved it. The service is great, location convenient and rooms are cleaned and well equipped. I received excellent support from the Service Manager on some difficult special needs. This was my first stay but won't be my last.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinPickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

My wife and i spent our 28Th wedding anniversary at the beautiful Oceano Hotel and Spa, we stayed 3 nights and the room was so nice we didn't even want to leave, but we did LOL, nice large room with , up scale bath room with soaker tub , large granite shower. King size bed, wet bar and fire place in the sitting room private balcony with full view of the marina and the pacific ocean. We were surprised at how nice the entire staff are and the hotel it self were exceptional. I would also like to ad the Moss Beach Distillery for lunch, dinner or brunch, the food was very well prepared , and was very good, the restaurant sits on a bluff with excellent ocean views, and we were told the Distillery has its own " Ghost" ! We didn't see her. The Half Moon Bay Brewery is a good place as well for lunch or dinner, I hope this helps someone. James Hatten, Mokelumne Hill , Ca. PS, there are also two flat screen cable TV`s, One in the sitting room and one in an antique hutch for viewing from bed !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrtrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing