We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Pillar Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pillar Point Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was the FIRST hotel that I've checked into that included a space heater and ear plugs as standard equipment. Very disappointing when we realized that we needed BOTH!. Noise from the street and partiers assured us of little sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank santacruz95060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Pillar point Harbor is a blink-and-you'd-miss-it kinda place, with fresh sea food and lots of atmosphere. It's perfect for the kind of weekend where you'd only leave the B&B in search of sustenance. The rooms are lovely with big window seats overlooking the harbor and gas fireplaces. At night the fog rolls in and all you hear is the fog horn in the distance.
There's patio and balcony for enjoying a glass of wine in afternoon or cup of coffee (all complimentary).
There's horseback riding on the beach in nearby Half Moon Bay.


It's quiet, charming and a world away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleveandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Staying at Pillar Point is a treat. We love sitting in the window seat with the fireplace going looking out at the goings-on in the marina. From the hotel, you can walk down the trail to Half Moon Bay. A great brewery is right across the parking lot from the hotel, and the huge Mavericks waves are close by. At our last visit to the brewery, we sat next to a photographer that had come from Australia to photograph the surfers at the Mavericks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drive158blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed next door at the Pillar Point B&B which Oceano owns (next store). The room was OK, fireplace was nice, bathroom needed updating. Anyways, I had a fever and bronchitis so wanted to order some food and stay in. The room had a room service menu, so I decided to order form there. I placed my order with the front desk, and they told me I would have to walk next door to pick it up, which I said no problem. I get there, and the boy at the front desk (Dylan) tells me he can't charge my room, to which I replied should have told me over the phone when I placed my order, to which I got a ton of attitude. So I walk back, get my credit card, walk back over to get my food to more attitude, to which I gave him a piece of my mind. I ate my food, chugged some Nyquil, and go to bed. I wake up to the manager telling me to 1. Get my ---- and get out or 2. have the cops come. What a great way to treat a guest. Stay here if you want to be treated by a bunch of unprofessional jerks.

Room Tip: Fog horn goes off every 10 seconds, that you can hear in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jamespburke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Pleasanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Unless you're a sound sleeper I wouldn't recommend this place, road noise too load with cars constantly driving down all night, 3 bars within a block with people shouting, talking till 3am, can't do anything about the fog horn sounding every 10 seconds, with windows closed we couldn't drown out noise with TV turned up, stay somewhere else if you want a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
8 Thank Jscaf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We booked the entire 11 rooms at Pillar Point in June for a wedding the weekend of October 23rd. We booked the rooms before the website went down, the voice mail box filled up and our angst grew. Fortunately my daughter (the bride) was able to drive over to the inn and determined that the Oceano Hotel & Resort next door had taken it over. The Oceano said they intended to update a few things and then reopen in August.
Fast forward to the present. We became very familiar with Ken Seidler, the reservations manager at Oceano, as we adjusted reservations in the months leading up to the wedding. I spoke with Ken as we were checking out, in part to complain that what had been billed as a "bed & breakfast" no longer provided breakfast. He apologized for this but stated that it was not the intention of Oceano to operate as a B & B. (would have been nice if he had told us that before we arrived). He said Oceano would use the 11 rooms as overflow and as a low end marketing tool reflecting that rooms "starting at $149.00" were available when in truth all the Oceano rooms are $275.00 and up.
He admitted that they had been perplexed about what to do about the facility when they essentially inherited it. The old owners at Pillar Point had basically been put out of business when the shadow of the Oceano rose above them three years prior. There had been talk of an event center. Then talk of a retail center. Perhaps a corporate retreat location with a meeting room. For the present they operate it as the cheap rooms at Oceano with limited services. The rooms are, however, very nice.
This review isn't attend to espouse the virtues of this hotel as much as it is to bring folks up-to-date on the goings-on. The location of Pillar Point/Oceano is wonderful for access to the harbor, the walking distance to restaurants (Half Moon Bay Brewing Company, Ketch Joanne, Barbara's Fish House, Mezza Luna, Cafe Classique). And the Oceano/Pillar Point Inn are not your only accommodations north of Half Moon Bay. You have Harbor View Inn across the street , Inn at Mavericks around the corner, The Beach House Hotel a half mile south and Seal Cove Inn a mile and a half north. Just check your locations through TripAdvisor before departing. It is a wonderful area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This wonderful bed and breakfast, our favorite since it's rennovation, has apparently ceased operation. We miss the gracious hospitality of the inkeepers, Melodye and Mary as well as the inn itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Spats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillar Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillar Point Inn

Property: Pillar Point Inn
Address: 380 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4061
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillar Point Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillar Point Inn is located on Half Moon Bay in the quaint village of Princeton-By-The-Sea, which is 25 miles south of San Francisco. A charming inn offering ocean view rooms, comfortable bed and home made breakfast. Renovated in 2008, this Inn offers easy access to the beach and information on activities in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pillar Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar Point Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing