We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty, sheik cafe with pulp-filled soapy-tasting lattes”

Half Moon Bay Coffee Co
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pretty, sheik cafe with pulp-filled soapy-tasting lattes”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

At first glance I thought this was a good find. The cafe is very big and modern, and it was busy, which I thought was a good sign. Nope.

I ordered a pumpkin pie latte, since HMB just had the pumpkin festival the weekend before, and everything eveywhere was pumpkin. I like pumpkin lattes, generally.

This was, no doubt, the worst one I've had. There is no pie taste in it, that's for sure. It had a faint pumpkin taste, not sweet really, and a strong planty, pulpy taste. In fact, at the bottom there were actualy chunks of pulp. So gross. Also, both my girlfriend and I noticed a soapy, chemically taste to the drink. Not cool, man.

The food MIGHT be good? It looked nice, but I didn't have any. But you can't really enjoy a cafe with soap-pulp-vine flavored coffee drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aregenerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Respite From City Life”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

One of the great things about our lunch at the Half Moon Bay Coffee Co. was how un-San Francisco it felt in there. Don't get me wrong, the food was tasty--they offered a variety of entree salads which was great for our lunch--but the crowd and staff was populated by what appeared to be local High Schoolers which was a really charming thing coming from a place where all the baristas are cynical and pretty hipster. I've eaten elsewhere in HMB, but the Coffee Co. excels at being what just what it is, a hometown coffee/bakery spot, and outdoes the other SF-wannabes in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
680 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Pumpkin Pie Latte”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great place for lunches and desserts
Have lunch specials e.g., half sandwich & half soup/salad
They also offer a yummy grilled cheese and apple sandwich
My favorite is #39 (?) the turkey jalapeño sandwich; it was the best
Loved their pumpkin latte
Slightly expensive pastries
Friendly counter staff service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, ME
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good coffee and prices!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Heading out of town and needed a cup of coffee for the trip back to SF, and stopped here for a cup. Wife had the seasonal pumpkin Latte and I had the house Columbian- both were hot and flavorful. Only negative is the slight attitude of the barista- as a tourist, how was I supposed to know the house coffee is self serve!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“So cute, but just ok”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love the name, location (right outside of downtown), and outdoor seating. Service was extremely slows and coffee drinks were mediocre. May want to plan for a long wait even when there is not a long line - perhaps understaffed?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Bay Coffee Co also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon Bay Coffee Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing