We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't get enough of this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #3 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a place I tell friends about often ! since we live just over the bridge in the East Bay this isn't a huge trip for us although we always feel like we've "gotten away from it all" when we are at the Inn at Mavericks. It's like a little hidden away gem just a few blocks from the Pier and surrounding restaurants.....everything is w/in walking distance (lots of great restaurants) but it feels so quiet and personal at the Inn.
We love staying on the first floor because we get the great outside patio area where we often sit in the sun and read, just watching paddle boarders go by, and listen to the foghorn, lots of beautiful pics to be had at all hours of the day/night but especially beautiful at sunset !

I LOVE their beds ! Pillows, blankets and mattress so very comfortable, I don't want to leave. I always take a few baths while I'm there so I can enjoy the huge sunken tub !

Allen, the InnKeeper is one of the nicest people you'll meet, very accomodating & pleasant.

This is a place you should definitely put on your bucket list !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was the perfect retreat. We got lucky finding this place, away from the other resorts, right on the water, dog friendly, huge room with a patio and a soaking tub. We stayed in 'The Mavericks' room which was on the end, there was wine waiting for us when we checked in...next time we'll leave the family at home and make it an Anniversary weekend. We feel so lucky we found this place, as it turns out we arrived in time to take advantage of the lowest tide of the year and joined many other folks walking out to the Mavericks surf area which was now tide pools full of sea life. Awesome. The sunset and sunrise were maybe the best i'd ever seen, and the little village of Princeton is nice and walkable so we were able to walk around with the family in the am and check out the coffee bar, and watch people on the pier. Wish we could have stayed longer, it was a fabulous mini vacation.

Room Tip: the bottom rooms have patios/yards if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParksPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

When we arrived Thanksgiving Day the manager was not present (understandable on the holiday)but had left the key hanging outside the room-obviously a very safe neighbourhood!
The room was lovely and had the most comfortable bed ever and a beautiful large bathroom complete with soaker tub and robes.
There was a bar frig, microwave, glasses and dishes, a basket full of snack food and fruit, bottle of wine, bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates all for our enjoyment(ask for the honeymoon or anniversary special). On the table there were books and magazines and binoculors at our disposal.
My boyfriends snoring is way more annoying than the fog horn but I'm sure it would pose a problem for some.
The balcony is a nice size and you have a great view from it.We stayed at the Hyatt In San Fransisco with a bayview balcony the next night and The Mavericks was far superior-better balcony and view, better bed, far better bathroom and all the little extras- the Hyatt doesn't even supply robes.
We loved Half Moon Bay and Princeton and The Inn at Mavericks-we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancer0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife & I plus another couple stayed at the Inn at Mavericks for five nights. The waterside location was the best feature of the Inn (although there is no beach directly behind the Inn) and the rooms had been nicely renovated. The fog horn was an issue for us -- even with earplugs -- but not an issue for the other couple traveling with us. So, if you tend to be a light sleeper, then you might want to think twice about a longer stay.

The location north of Half Moon Bay in Princeton was excellent. We were able to walk to a lot of great spots -- the Half Moon Bay Brewery (great craft beers & live music), Mezza Luna restaurant (excellent Italian), Barbara's Fish Trap (small local restaurant), Jeff Clark's surf shop, etc... After driving down to Half Moon Bay (about 5 minutes south), we were glad to be nearer the water in Princeton.

I would definitely return to the Princeton area of Half Moon Bay again, but I would instead stay at the Oceano Hotel & Spa, which in the Princeton area as well but even more centrally located, similarly priced, nicer rooms (we stopped by to see a room) and further away from the fog horn.

Room Tip: we were on the lower floor and the people upstairs were pretty loud at times -- I'd opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurgherInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed at The Inn at Mavericks for one night . There was no one in the office when we arrived just a note letting us know which room we were staying in and that the key was hung outside the door. The room was OK, nothing to write home about, cute place and nice view. The screen door and the sliding glass door did not lock so it was a good thing we were on the sound floor. The fog horn was a pain, it sounded every ten seconds, all day and all night.
If we had not had ear plugs, we would have left. Not going back for that reason.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 377sylviaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Great location right on the water. Owners have clearly worked to upgrade this place, remodeled the rooms/baths with nice fixtures, and added nice plantings. Manager went out of his way to help with a special request.

Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the bathroom, doors, walkways, etc. weren't up to the same standard.

Also, nice soaking tub, but not enough hot water available to fill it halfway (starts out warm at best, then faucet output gets cooler and cooler).

Read the reviews about the "foghorn" and thought "no problem, I love the deep, mellow sound of coastal foghorns." Well it's not. The lighthouse signal is more like a voice mail beep on steroids 24/7. Hotel is right under the landing path of the small local airport. Flights stopped by about 10:30pm, but the combination of the two noises made it impossible to relax in the room and on the balcony during the day/evening.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room unless you have a dog or want a patio overlooking urine-killed grass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We loved the Inn! The sound of the fog horn is the best addition along with the bay waves hitting the shore. Dinner at Barbara's Fish Trap is highly recommended if you want good, fresh seafood. The room was so clean and very nicely decorated. Very nice sized room and friendly staff. Sitting at the fire pit should put you to sleep. It felt like we unplugged for the weekend and enjoyed it! Thank you.

Room Tip: they are all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centurions1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £129 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing