We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to relax!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburg, California
2 reviews
“The perfect place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to get away by ourselves for a few days (our daughter was away at camp) and wanted to find a place within 2 hours of our house with a beautiful view that would give us the opportunity to completely relax. The Inn at Mavericks completely fit the bill! We reserved 2 nights in the Mavericks room and it was almost completely perfect: We had a complete patio view of the Pillar Point harbor: water, sailboats, pelicans, perfect! The only issue we'd mention are minimal: the late afternoons our room was on the flight path of the Half Moon Bay airport. Other than that, everything was completely perfect! We were able to bring our sweet miniature dachshund, Sadie....they thought of almost ever special amenity: binoculars, a basket for our dog, complimentary water and snacks, a beautiful patio ( I told my husband that I thought we were in a special fog-free zone! Many of the places we visited during the day were fogged in, but when we came back to the room the sun was shining!), etc., etc. It was such a special few days and we hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    49
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
145
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

What an amazing treat. From the extremely well appointed room, to the amazing view...we couldn't ask for more (except for more vacation days). This place is a gem and the fact that we could bring our dog made it a great find.

No detail was left overlooked in these rooms/patio areas. From the fenced mini yard, adjacent fire pit area, binoculars, earplugs (we...loved listening to the faint fog horn in the background), Keurig coffee bar, treats, H20 and...even special goodies for those traveling with pets. It was great having a nice size fridge, microwave and mini kitchenette area too.

Well done!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed here for 3 summers in a row now and The Inn at Maverick's never disappoints. This time we stayed in the Montara Suite - second floor on the far end. Just like the other suites, this one is beautifully appointed. We had a private deck with a lovely view of Half Moon Bay. Little details like binoculars and a snack basket and big details like a comfortable bed and a very clean room make us feel very at home here. The Inn is a little off the beaten path, but close enough to walk to restaurants if you want. We will keep coming back here whenever we visit Half Moon Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view so you probably can't pick a bad one. We like to stay in the upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boulderkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

As I sit on the balcony of our room overlooking the bay, I wanted to make sure I didn't forget to review such a wonderful inn!! The Inn at Mavericks is a small, six room inn and is directly on the water. What a wonderful place....no detail has been forgotten. Between the binoculars, complimentary water and snack baskets to the bathrobes and Keurig coffee maker, the innkeepers have thought of everything. If your travels take you to Half Moon Bay, don't stay anywhere else!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DianaSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We came to Half Moon Bay for a relaxing vacation and that is exactly what we got. We were not disappointed in any way. The Inn at Mavericks is an Inn and not full service but that is what makes it so incredible special. You can get anything you need in town. The views here are breathtaking and it is so serene and relaxing. The staff is great. The rooms are clean and well maintained and Allen the Inn Keeper is always available and helpful. I did not want to write this review because I don't want anyone else to find this place but it's too late...I cannot say enough great things about our stay here...We most definitely will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Everything is clean the views magnificent in top rooms, location is terrific. The low rating on help is only because there is no staff except maids. This is a self serve motel, very nice relaxed and we enjoyed our stay. We left a note inside the rooms diary of some issues we found- the bed was it that great lumpy and needs attention. Bathtub is the highlight of room, fireplace adds to romance on foggy June day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My fiancé and I decided to take a short road trip to Half Moon Bay.

This place is a small spot located right along the water. It is absolutely amazing and quiet.

Check in was very different from a traditional hotel. When you arrive, your key is waiting for
you when you walk up to your room. All you do is pick up your welcome envelope and open up the greeting letter. It was so nice!

The room is very clean and romantic with an amazing tub for two. My only issue was I forgot my own pillow and the pillows they had weren't as comfortable as my own :)

There were so many unique things about this place. We saw seals, had our own private balcony, beautiful view, and they even had a pair of binoculars on the table for us to look through.

One thing that may bother people is the fog horn that blows every 7-8 seconds but interesting enough, they provide disposable ear plugs for you! :) It did not bother us at all though because we were busy doing other things! :)

It was so peaceful that we decided to stay another night which Allen accommodated us with no problems.

Another unique thing about this romantic spot was getting to read the journal entries from prior guests. We left ours and this will definitely be a place we visit for many years to come.

Guys, take your woman here! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc0199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Property: The Inn at Mavericks
Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing