We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the water!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mavericks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #5 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right on the water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay here at Inn at the Mavericks. This time I brought my 9 month old and my mom. We have had a great time visiting the town, playing on the beach, and relaxing in our room! The bottom 3 rooms are pet friendly; the top 3 are not. I have stayed in both, and did not notice a difference. Rooms are adorable :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmariesears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    48
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
143
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Let me say the Inn at Maverick's is a 5 star experience. The only reason I gave it a 4 for the overall experience is due to the foghorn.

We found the Inn through our friends who had been there two weeks prior with a new baby. We were celebrating our anniversary and we needed a pet friendly location and wanted to be on the water. What a fabulous inn! I almost don't want to write a review because I want to keep this jewel to myself.

The first thing I always do is check the bathroom and the bed for cleanliness. Our room passed with flying colors. The bed was very comfortable with extra blankets and 4 pillows. The white towels were high quality. There were special touches everywhere - complimentary bottled water, cookies, crackers, chips, fruit, dog bowls, dog treats, dog towel, a guest journal to write in, binoculars, chocolates and ear plugs. We've never stayed anywhere where they're so generous and thoughtful.

The bathroom is large and modern with good water pressure and a great shower head. It also has a deep 2 person soaking tub and full length mirror.

The outside area was spotless (no prior pet evidence) with a manicured strip of lawn and patio chairs to watch the boats coming in and out and even people doing yoga on surfboards! So relaxing.

As others have mentioned, the fog horn can be distracting. I used the complimentary earplugs and slept pretty well. My husband didn't use them and had a harder time sleeping. (Next time he'll use them-lol.)

We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be going back. Love this place.

PS-My husband left his glasses in the room and Allen, the Inn Manager, called and texted him before we even made it home to let him know. He immediately mailed them to us. That's service!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1tofasn8u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I live in the Bay Area tho' not on the water. And sometimes the Bay, the Pacific Ocean calls for a bit of a inn break near the water. Seeing my dog running on the nearby beach in full-on runs, I had to smile. I was 16 miles away from home and a world away. Cue the feeling of vacation without the airport slog or long-distance drive.
The Inn's sleeping room was sweet, comfy and relaxing. I walked to close by restaurants and even closer beaches. It is low key, homey and I loved it. The private fenced yards on the first floor are perfect for the pooch and it's nice for humans too.
Special thanks to Allen for accommodating a date change due to a work demand. I do hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonarutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We received a $350 gift certificate to stay here. Looked online, checked out the rooms, called the reservation number listed on the gift certificate. "Oh, I am sorry, you have to speak to the Innkeeper yourself to book a room with a gift certificate". Okay, so I dial another number to reach the innkeeper, Allen. He answers and does help me book a room, but his tone and affect are so inhospitable that I already have a bad feeling about this. The feeling that I got from Allen was not that of a host. I felt like I was bothering him.

Later, he emailed us to tell us that he couldn't find the gift certificate. So, we mail it to him. Does he ever apologize for this?

Allen is marketing the Inn at The Mavericks as a luxury venue ($265 per night!). At those prices, I want my luxury to begin the moment I call in for a reservation. That's the way it works at other venues.

The Inn at the Mavericks is basically a 2-story box right on the coast of Half Moon Bay. Once you are in your room, your view is fantastic. But it is in a semi-industrial area and the approach is a bit funky.

Our room was tastefully decorated and set up. King size bed with (new) Temperpedic mattress, nice linens, and a nice bathroom with wonderful bathrobes and towels. There is a coffeemaker, real cream, blankets to use when you are on the patio looking out at the water, ear plugs if the fog horn gets to you (it didn't bother me, but it did bother my husband....it honks once every 8 or 9 seconds, 24/7), and even a nice pair of binocs to use to check out seabirds, boats, scenery. We brought our small dog, and for an extra charge of $25, there was a nice dog packet of treats, etc.

However, for $265 a night, I expect a clean area rug in the room. This one was faded and had several doggie pee spots on it. REALLY?!?!? Take some of that money you are making, Allen, and go to TJ Maxx and buy some clean, cheap area rugs. Throw the old ones away!

Also, I did not appreciate having to get up 4 times in the night to fit the sheets back on the bed. The sheets do not fit hte new mattresses, and my sheet corner kept coming off. Ugh.

Wouldn't go back, the beautiful view notwithstanding.....there are plenty of other nice spots in that area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to get away by ourselves for a few days (our daughter was away at camp) and wanted to find a place within 2 hours of our house with a beautiful view that would give us the opportunity to completely relax. The Inn at Mavericks completely fit the bill! We reserved 2 nights in the Mavericks room and it was almost completely perfect: We had a complete patio view of the Pillar Point harbor: water, sailboats, pelicans, perfect! The only issue we'd mention are minimal: the late afternoons our room was on the flight path of the Half Moon Bay airport. Other than that, everything was completely perfect! We were able to bring our sweet miniature dachshund, Sadie....they thought of almost ever special amenity: binoculars, a basket for our dog, complimentary water and snacks, a beautiful patio ( I told my husband that I thought we were in a special fog-free zone! Many of the places we visited during the day were fogged in, but when we came back to the room the sun was shining!), etc., etc. It was such a special few days and we hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

What an amazing treat. From the extremely well appointed room, to the amazing view...we couldn't ask for more (except for more vacation days). This place is a gem and the fact that we could bring our dog made it a great find.

No detail was left overlooked in these rooms/patio areas. From the fenced mini yard, adjacent fire pit area, binoculars, earplugs (we...loved listening to the faint fog horn in the background), Keurig coffee bar, treats, H20 and...even special goodies for those traveling with pets. It was great having a nice size fridge, microwave and mini kitchenette area too.

Well done!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed here for 3 summers in a row now and The Inn at Maverick's never disappoints. This time we stayed in the Montara Suite - second floor on the far end. Just like the other suites, this one is beautifully appointed. We had a private deck with a lovely view of Half Moon Bay. Little details like binoculars and a snack basket and big details like a comfortable bed and a very clean room make us feel very at home here. The Inn is a little off the beaten path, but close enough to walk to restaurants if you want. We will keep coming back here whenever we visit Half Moon Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view so you probably can't pick a bad one. We like to stay in the upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boulderkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Property: The Inn at Mavericks
Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing