We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #3 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2007

My hub and I decided on the Harbor House after reading the reviews here and on Yelp.
The Good...
I'm happy to say the reviews are accurate. The room we were in was really nice (room #6 upstairs) and the view spectacular (see pics) The setup is nice too as you have a small frige and a microwave so if you had leftovers from say.... Pasta Moon (yummy place in town try the pasta it's homemade!) you could bring them back and finish them up later! Being right on the water was just great. I looked out to see dozens of pelicans just hanging out in the bay. We also saw a seal in the morning..nice! Take the small walk up to the cliffs it's well worth the view! The breakfast is not one of a typical B&B but it's nice. After brewing your own coffee (which was a nice fresh coffee from the Santa Cruz Roasting Company I think?) we opened the door to find a basket with a little note and a rose. The basket contained canned apple juice, yogurt ,fresh fruit and a loaf of the warm fruit bread of the day...ours was strawberry bread and it was delicious!
The Not So Good...
The foghorn does go off every 6 seconds or so but as it was rhythmic we were not really bothered by it . Also, small airplanes go right over your room! A dozen went over ours but they were not too loud so they didn't bother us too much but, to be honest we are not bothered by noise! I think the room, the view and the strawberry bread make it worthwhile!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank married4gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2007

We just returned from a wonderful stay in late May of '07. I have read the other reviews and would say ditto ditto to all of them. We stayed in the second floor room number 4 and were not disappointed. Room was clean and tidy with nice little kitchenette. View from the full view windows was spectacular as you are right on the shore of the bay. Two seal lions were there to greet us as they were munching on the seaweed close to shore. The patio / deck had ample direct sun as well as shady areas where you could retreat once you caught enough rays. I agree with one review that this is really not a bed and breakfast in the sense we are used to enjoying. A delightful basket of fruit, yogurt, cans of fruit juice, and a yummy loaf of pumpkin bread was placed just outside our door at 8AM sharp, but there was not a "breakfast" or a central dining area for eating, etc. We are used to a full breakfast being offered by hosts of the B&B's we have visited, so this was a bit of a disappointment. Should have asked when we initially contacted the office. But this would not in any way keep us from staying here, as right down the street, well within walking distance, are several wonderful places where you can get great breakfasts. I took a brief stroll down the lane while my wife slept in and brought back a swiss and mushroom omlette from the authentic Mayan Cafe just around the corner. The cooked it to order with whole wheat toast and fresh homemade salza that was just delightful and all this rounded off our breakfast with the basket goodies as a side. This is a place where you can expect to be left alone! Not bothered by the proprietor every time you turn around. Key was left under the mat when we arrived mid afternoon, and we didn't even see anyone until after breakfast the next morning. When the staff did arrive, they were very kind and helpful with our requests. Second floor would be a good idea, and our room number 4 was on the corner, although all the lower rooms open out onto delightful garden areas which were very attractive. I prefer the balcony with the heighten view, but my wife was a bit longing to sit in the lounge chairs nestled among the flower gardens below. All in all, just a super experience, much better than we would have expected, WELL worth the price, and we will definitely want to return at our earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank miklskon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

This is a great little hidden gem. It is right on the water on the Pillar Point Harbor. There are six rooms and each fronts the water-very peaceful and romantic. The room was basic but very nice and clean. It does include a small kitchenette. It isn't truly a bed and breakfast-they deliver a basket of yogurt/pastries/fruit to your room each morning. The inn is located in an industrial harbor area and if you didn't know it was there-you wouldn't know it was there-very private and romantic. Tne inn is within walking distance to a few great restaurants-Mezza Luna Italian Restaurant and The Half Moon Bay Brewing Company. The only negative is that we stayed in a room on the first floor and could hear the guests above us when they would walk around or go to the bathroom. I would request a 2nd floor room. Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. Oh yes, the fog horn goes off every 10 seconds ALL day and night long, it sounds like a distant horn but I guess that could bother some people...

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mattandcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2005

It's only a short hike up to the cliffs on Pillar Point, 3 minute drive from Harbor House. Ask the desk attendant which way to go. Although, it wasn't maverick weather, it's an awesome 360 degree view and well worth the hike and a great place to watch the sunset. We stayed at the Harbor House for 2 nights the last weekend in May. Tucked away by itself you wouldn't even know it was there and right on the water. It was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay. Just wish we could have stayed longer. In walking distance to restaurants on the bay. Kitchenette set up is a little odd...one sink only for bathroom and kitchen area, but works out fine. Recommend! Janet & Dale, Louisville KY

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jmpdws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2005

This is a great place to stay...comfortable, cozy and cool!!! A great get away for any reason--romance, rejuvenation or reading. I'll go back a hundred times.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2004

This place really qualifies as a hidden gem. It sits right on the water of the harbor. It's wildly peaceful - something you can't get at places that cost twice as much. There are only six rooms, three up three down, no restaurant just pastries delivered in the morning and a refrigerator and microwave in the room. But there are very good restaurants in walking distance, and the Ritz down the way if you want some luxury spa time. Note: They do need to get new beds, and the foghorn does blow through the night, but it is special here.

9  Thank LPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
13
Reviewed 20 July 2003

nice little inn by the sea, great view, friendly service. Great for a romantic weekend getaway.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £134 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing