We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for strip mall sushi”
Review of Shiki Japanese

Shiki Japanese
Ranked #60 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good for strip mall sushi”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This place has good fresh fish and other Japanese dishes. This isn't the best sushi in the world, but for the price it is damn good. The overall place is well run, you get fast service, you get what you pay for and then some. For HMB this is the best bang for tor the buck.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Badq45t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
510 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Good lunch option”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

One of 4 Shikis in Half Moon Bay, this review is for Shiki Cuisine located at Stone Pine Center. There's a sushi bar but since I'm not a sushi kind of guy we got a table and looked at the menu. I ordered a gyoza appetizer (I love these) and Pork Ramen. I'd never had real Ramen. I expected this to be miles above the salty, cheap packaged variety and I was right. Tasty, tender pork, a flavorful broth, and lots of noodles - yum. My companion ordered the Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura. He thought the batter was just right, along with the variety of vegetables. Both lunches also came with a small bowl of miso soup. The decor was nice, our waiter was a bit dour but attentive. I'd come here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but not outstanding”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This Sushi restaurant in a strip mall in Half Moon Bay is just okay and frankly with Sushi Main Street in town they will have to step it up to compete.

The rolls were over sized, a pet peeve of mine, really a slice of a roll should fit in you mouth easily right? Other than that the selection was typical the price was fine, service was fine, but it just seemed to be missing something.

I won't go back because I just prefer other options locally, I likely would not recommend for the same reason.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and always really good service”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Whether you like sushi or cooked entrees, Shiki does a great job with lots of choices. We both really love their teriyaki, as well as the sushi choices. I've never had a bad meal here! The service is great and the seating is mostly all booths, so you can sit and chat with some privacy. Don't let the location [in a mini mall] deter you - the inside is warm and gracious.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMBSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Solid traditional Japanese/sushi in Half Moon Bay”
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Had a lunch here while visiting Half Moon Bay. Strong sushi menu including a reasonably priced lunch chirashi entree I had. My wife got a bento box with soup, salad, tonkatsu, and spicy tuna roll.

Fairly small inside with nice bar with CNBC on during the day. Service was very good and the place was busy as lunch which is always good.

Would recommend to others - there was another sushi/fusion place on the main street but have a feeling this place is more traditional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiki Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Shiki Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing