We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the Ritz . . . What do you Expect?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's the Ritz . . . What do you Expect?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

You'll get everything you expect, plus more! The staff is amazing. Rumor has it, each staff member has the authority to spend upwards of $1,000 without approval of a manager to make you happy. They take customer service very seriously! The location cannot be beat. We've been here two Januarys in a row and have been amazed at the glorious weather. No fog . . . gorgeous sunshine! Upgrade to Club Level and you won't need to eat or drink anywhere else for the entire weekend. The only downside is the spa. It's beautiful, but their spa services are not top-notch. I've had a disappointing pedicure and massage, and at their sky-high prices, I probably wouldn't try again.

Room Tip: The terrace fire-pit rooms are worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    329
    145
    76
    60
See reviews for
349
813
46
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

What an amazing place. Secluded with breathtaking views of the Pacific ocean. On a cliff, you want to walk out to the edge, turn around, and just stand in awe of how beautiful it is. Rooms are very quiet. The beds are incredibly sumptuous and comfy at the same time. If you get a room in the 800's you'll be separate from the main hotel and if you're on the ground floor, you'll have a fireplace! Very nice. There are also fire pits on the ground floor of the main hotel, so be sure to ask for that too!

The staff were incredibly warm and generous. You'd expect nothing less from the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

It was one of the best gifts from my husband and we both enjoyed our stay .
We absolutely loved everything about this resort. Location is great. We've got a very nice room with fireplace overlooking the ocean on the second floor. Service was remarkably great.
We went outside and enjoyed viewing beautiful stars next to a warm fire pit. Everything was clean and well organized. Taking a walk in the morning was a delight.
Sauna and Jacuzzi (we liked the outdoors) are clean and showed well maintenance.
Food: it was great and tasty.
Wish we could come more often!!!!

Room Tip: We like to see the ocean in the morning:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumba1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is one of the most beautiful and romantic places in the bay area. You can enjoy some cozy conversation by the bonfire overlooking the ocean or simply relax with your favorite cocktail while listening to some Jazz band. I love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for just one night and it was awesome.....the resturant was wonderful.....the bar area was really nice and the view is possibly the most fantastic view you can image. The pictures on their website are not touched up.....IT'S THE REAL DEAL!!!
There's a bagpipper that plays before dusk and sets the mood. The co-ed spa was wonderful and met some real nice people.....we will come back one day.........

Room Tip: Get a oceanview room.....worth the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDutch_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We came down to Half Moon Bay for a relaxing weekend for two - great place for a romantic getaway, although given the beautiful beach it would also be fun for small children. We didn't golf, although the course looks nice. The setting is beautiful, the staff as always at the Ritz fantastic, the room spacious and attractive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaileySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich region
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay for two nights as part of our Highway 1 trip. We loved the place! The location is spectacular, the cliffs are fantastic, the view to the ocean breathtaking, the rooms are quite small but beautifully decorated and equipped with all the amenities that you expect from a Ritz Carlton. We stayed in a few RCs before but this is for sure one of the bst we have seen so far. The interior, the bars and restaurants are very warm and cozy. The food is great and the staff is very friendly.

We are not Golfers, but I assume that this must be a paradise for Golfers. However, there are a few other nice things to do around the hotel: nice walks above the cliffs, good jogging trails and don't miss a visit to hthe village. The Ritz Carlton offers a free shuttle to main street HMB.

Downsides? Not that many, maybe that the heated pool which is located about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel is not rally up to speed anymore. It looks a bit old. The fitness room next to the pool is also very old, so you should use the one that is located in the main hotel building. The Ritz also offers free bikes, however, unfortunately not for kids.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donrodolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing