We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Ritz Carlton experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best Ritz Carlton experience”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed at a number of Ritz Carltons around the world, but, the Ritz Carlton here in Half Moon Bay California is among the best. Stayed to celebrate our anniversary on Christmas Eve and the staff didn't miss a beat in making sure our celebration was special. Our check in staff whose name started with an A was so warm and welcoming. We had a wonderful room on the club lounge overlooking the ocean and golf course. Bed was decorated with rose petals in the shape of a heart with a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries awaiting us. Great touch. We originally were going to eat away from the hotel, but, the ambience and the location of the hotel with its views did indeed remind us of the highlands and persuaded us to just stay at the hotel and enjoy the complete experience there. Had a nice lunch at the outdoor deck which featured the best shortrib sliders for $18.00. Walked the beautiful walkway around the hotel, sat by the fireplace outside enjoying some wine and the bagpipe ceremony at sunset. Had dinner at the Conservatory restaurant which is more casual than their main dining room Navio. Both restaurants are very good with Navio being more high end. (We spent a new year's eve at Navio one year) Conservatory was more casual with a soft jazz duo playing during this evening. My husband had one of the best pasta dishes with a creme marinara meat sauce and I was still full from lunch so I ordered a calamari Caesar salad. When the salad came out with cold fried calamari, the waitress gladly brought a plate of freshly made calamari fritte as a replacement. Whoever trains the staff at this hotel does a great job. We were so enthralled with the atmosphere and scenic location of this hotel that we cannot wait to return. It made us feel as if we made a brief escape to Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building with an ocean or coastal view. There are rooms with private fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    345
    151
    79
    64
See reviews for
374
853
49
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
563 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great stay such a cool spot on the cliff facing ocean

hard to walk down to the southern beach but possible . This is not on the ocean but rather on the cliff above the beach . Such a nice spot to get away from it all and perfect for driving to san fran or the coast.

cool club house and golf reminded us of Ireland

Not best for folks with difficulty in walking and kind of isolated by itself. Must have car to go to cool in town spots. art and shops there really great and unique friendly folks here.

worth it but not the best ritz its a big box hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband & I had the perfect getaway to this beautiful hotel with spectacular ocean views! Upon arriving, from the welcoming valet to the wonderful front desk staff, you immediately feel special and welcome at this gorgeous hotel. No detail is overlooked.... rooms are lovely and after a delicious dinner in the conservatory with outstanding service, we opted to sit around the fire pit outdoors and watch the glorious sunset and take in the beautiful view... couldn't be more relaxing.
Christmas decor was beautiful throughout the hotel, fireplaces aglow in many rooms and we can't wait to come back in the spring and celebrate our anniversary at the Ritz!

Room Tip: Try and book a higher room to take in the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

There are very few hotels I have stayed in that truly have the "wow" factor. This would be one. From the minute you pull into the driveway when bellhops and valets gently remove all of your luggage and guide you to check-in to when you arrive in your well appointed room, you truly feel like you have arrived somwhere special. While the rates are some of the highest in the US, you do get what you pay for.

The rooms facing the Pacific are spectacular, even the courtyard rooms are perfectly nice. The beds are plush, the bathrooms well stocked and modern and there is plenty of space. What really sets this property apart is the service and the location.

Sunset is something to behold and the staff seems to anticipate your needs and is genuine, unobtrusive and yet attentive. The comments that the property is a bit "off the beaten path" is true and with only two dining choices (one more casual and one formal), you can run out of choices after a couple of days if you do not want to leave the property.

The parking garage that allows public acess is not an eye sore as it is somewhat hidden but it is an odd touch to an otherwise prestine property. You really do get what you pay for and if you want a "Swiss like" experience with flawless service this is a real winner.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Beautiful views and wonderful service. I brought my kids last time and it was amazing. One of the most perfect places to view a sunset. Christmas decorations were beautiful and the indoor pool was a big hit.

Room Tip: Not everyone loves the sunset bagpipes. Could ask for a room not overlooking the terrace area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmaatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was our first trip to Half Moon Bay, and we had heard that the Ritz Carlton is the only place to stay there. As a matter of fact, it was the only upscale resort in this sleepy town just outside of San Fran.

I took my wife for a weekend get away to celebrate her birthday. We opted for a Club level room which allowed access to the lounge, where numerous food offerings were provided throughout the day. Even though this cost more than the standard room, we felt that it was worth it, especially for the fancy coffee/espresso maker and the chocolate chip cookies.

Our room had a view of the 18th green of the Ocean course overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It was spacious and comfortable. As I mentioned previously, we visited the Club Lounge often for various food items, from a hearty breakfast to various drinks to tasty hors d'ouevres to sweet desserts. The outdoor lawn area was expansive and had some large fire pits that kept the guests warm. We did not play golf on this trip, but the two courses looked outstanding. We did use the tennis facilities and took a bike ride throughout the property. Since the hotel sits on a bluff, it was recommended that we stay on the trail and not risk falling into the Pacific. One day, there was a rolling fog that made the property appear like a hotel in Scotland. The next day, the fog cleared out to reveal gorgeous views of the ocean. My wife said that it reminded her of Pebble Beach.

We had a nice dinner at Navio at the resort one night and drove up the coast for some lobster roll at Sam's Chowder House on another night. It's Italia is another restaurant that I would recommend in the downtown area of Half Moon Bay.

Although the hotel was busy this time of year, the service was still very attentive, and the atmosphere was very relaxed. There will be a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trungus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for two nights in May 2013.
Rooms
Our room was a bit worn (and a bit small). You can see it once had a classic elegance but was in need of a facelift and a deep cleaning to release some embedded dust. There was a small gas fireplace and really no where to enjoy room service.

Spa
Good treatments. Standard variety of offering. Easy to make appointments.

Gym
Small to decent size for a hotel gym. The gym is off the patio so you can easily distract yourself with the view.

Outside patio
We were fortunate that we had decent weather. With Mother Nature's cooperation, we spent a lot of time enjoying the patio/lawn. Outstanding view. Well-maintened grounds. Attentive staff. Heated seats. All that created near immobility on our part. Most expensive tea I have ever ordered. Prices to enjoy a beverage outside seemed borderline outrageous.

Restaurant
a) breakfast
Continental breakfast buffet had an tremendous variety. Delicious coffee.
b) cocktails
There are some outstanding views so be prepared to jockey for a good spot if you want to enjoy cocktails before dinner. If you don't get the ocean view the other locations have a very nice ambience. We found the evening breeze coming in from the front door to make the room extremely cold and near uncomfortable.
c) dinner
Great wine choices and very good food.

Overall, a very enjoyable get-away location at Ritz-expected prices.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnFran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
912 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing