We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shabby rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great staff, shabby rooms”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had room service a lot while we were here and enjoyed our meals, the view, and the peacefulness from our room. If you are on the first floor you have to wear a robe as the golfers are out fairly early. It feels like Scotland...beautiful and foggy. The only problem was that the furniture was quite worn. We were told the rooms were going to be renovated soon. Whatever we needed the staff were there to be helpful. It was a restful trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you are ocean front and above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear delen1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It sounds like you had a peaceful, relaxing time here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. Our location, on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, is often compared to Scotland’s lush landscapes—especially when the bagpipes ring out across the property at sundown.

Finally, I wanted to confirm that we are indeed updating many of our rooms and suites with new furniture. I hope that you can stay with us again soon and experience our new look firsthand.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    345
    151
    79
    64
See reviews for
374
855
49
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a Sales Kick off there organised at the last minute. Have been to California many times, but never to half moon bay. it is exactly what you would expect from a Ritz carlton. Stunning location on the coast, rooms outstanding, service superb. Really like the live feed display behind reception of the coast on a giant screen.
My ONLY criticism would be that the room service is prohibitively expensive against the quality and variety of food on offer, which was for this quality of hotel average. Loved the fact that all staff are extremely well trained and always refried to you by name, even to the maintenance man who hoped I had a nice stay and thanked me for choosing the RC HMB...very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie300658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Went to RC HMB on a business trip for a business event. Arrived pretty late and got a room in the Ocean House. Room was nice but a 5 minute walk from where our event was taking place. Views are spectacular. My room (221 I think) looked right at the Ocean, but the windows in the room were smaller that I expected given the view. Rooms are definitely Ritz quality -- spacious, well furnished, very clean. However, there were NO business amenities. There were very few plugs anywhere in the room and I needed to unplug the coffee maker to accommodate charging my devices. The room was also a walk up so not suitable if you had a lot of luggage or needed assistance. The conference space is nice. The outdoor space at the hotel is beautiful.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the main building looking at the Ocean. Pointless to go if you don't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Matt K,

Thanks for your review. It’s great to know that you enjoyed your recent business trip and found time to take in the spectacular views that Half Moon Bay has to offer.

We aim for complete satisfaction, which is why we appreciate your honest feedback. You will be pleased to know that we offer transportation around the resort. Just alert our ladies and gentlemen and we will happily pick you up. Additionally, it is our standard policy to assist guests with luggage; I sincerely apologize that we missed the opportunity to help you up to the Ocean House. Finally, with our wide variety of rooms and suites, you can rest assured that your next stay will include far more business-friendly accommodations.

Thanks again. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed here on two different trips and each time, I leave thinking that this may be the one of the nicest places to "get away from it all" I have ever experienced. It's beautiful. Sitting high atop the cliffs overlooking the Pacific, it's stunning. Great golf course, tremendous service. It's just a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clay, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

From check in until our departure we were made to feel truly cared for. The grounds are beautiful and the staff top notch. Well worth the expense for a pampered weekend. The beds are beyond heavenly and the concierge could not have been more helpful. A true resort

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayakingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The beds are THE BEST in the world! Views, views, views of the sea. Amazing locally sourced food and open gourmet kitchen dining room. Never a bad meal to be had there! The dining room is beautiful with gorgeous ocean sunset views from most every table.

The rooms are what you would expect from a Ritz…perfection. The concierge level rooms enjoy wonderful bites and top shelf alcohol and wines in the Club Room - well worth the extra cost for this privilege!

Room Tip: There are so many options to choose from - patio ground level, cottage, ocean view…they have all bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed for a night for a corporate event. Very nice and luxurious resort. The front desk staff were absolutely wonderful and offered us Merlot wine testing. The room was clean, very upscale with beautiful ocean view. Every you expect from Ritz Carlton establishment. Some of the highlights were the sitting area outside, cozy fireplace and friendly staff.

The absolute delight was our Sunday brunch at Navio ($100/person). We will be back with our entire family to enjoy Ritz's wonderful brunch experience. The best in SF bayarea!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
914 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
960 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing