We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on the cliff tops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis on the cliff tops”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stay on February 21/22 at this great hotel set above the cliff tops.it reminder us so must of Scotland,the morning fog and the piper at dusk.This hotel is top notch,great value for the money and the staff are great .we had a problem with some noise above our room when we contacted the desk mr.Manuel Terra took control of the problem moved us to new room and check the next day to see if we needed anything else he is a credit to the ritz carlton group,service at its best!they are great with kids as well with a ongoing treasure hunt going on all the time.My only regret was that we were only here for two nights before we moved on to L.A .thanks for a great stay .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HowgateRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear HowgateRestaurant,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review your stay with us this February. With fabulous golf and rolling green hills, Half Moon Bay is very reminiscent of a Scottish getaway!

We apologize for the issue of room noise, but I’m very pleased to hear that Mr. Terra was so helpful. He is certainly known for going above and beyond for guests. Thanks so much for mentioning our V.I.K. (Very Important Kid) program – it’s such a blast for young guests.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and will join us again soon. I look forward to speaking with and seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    359
    157
    84
    68
See reviews for
403
899
52
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We were greeted from the time we got there and felt like celebrities the whole time. Had club lounge access so we felt like we were in an all in inclusive hotel. Food great, view spectacular, bag piper amazing, spa treatments to die for, sunsets beautiful,
fire pits outside our room. Golf course view beautiful.
Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Natalie S,

Thanks for your review! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. As you found, there is nothing quite like the Club Level experience, and we would love to be able to give you the celebrity treatment again soon. Next time you find yourself daydreaming about bagpipes at sunset and peaceful evenings spent fireside, just give us a call.

Sincerely,
The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at the hotel - a mix of business (attending a conference) and pleasure. As expected at a Ritz Carlton, the service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has an excellent position overlooking the sea and surrounded by the golf course. When the tide is out, long walks on the beach are possible. The outside area has plenty of seating and the fire pits are great in the evening. However, if the weather is poor, there is limited indoor lounge space. The food is good but portions are small (as commented on by guests that we invited to join us). The only niggle we have with this hotel is the excessive charge for the compulsory valet parking at $45 per night (day guests were only charged $10 per day).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear John C,

Thanks for sharing your recent experience here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We always love hearing from business travelers who managed to have a little fun during their stay. If you enjoyed the hotel in the winter, you’ll have to visit again during the warmer months to experience summer on the coast. There’s nothing quite like it, and we’re confident that with a little more leisure time, you’ll find even more to love. Until then, please let us know if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We are Bay Area locals and love this property. It is a great place. We have gone for romantic get aways, family weekends (including our dogs) and just for the day. The outside fire pits are great for making s'mores and drinking hot chocolate. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with the a private fire pit on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_Clauson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at this fantastic location. We were on the club floor and felt like royalty. Everyone knew our names and we never could figure out how they did it!! The service in all areas of the hotel were outstanding. Watching the bagpiper at dusk was such a treat since you could enjoy the ocean view at the same time. The hosts on club floor gave us great ideas for day trips and places to dine while enjoying the beautiful area. We WILL be back again and again even though we live on the east coast!!!!

Room Tip: Club floor is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Jerrie10,

It’s wonderful to hear from you, and to know that you enjoyed your recent three-night stay. As you found, our Club Level is like a hotel within a hotel, and our staff takes great pride in making every guest’s experience magical.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Remember: even when you’re on the East Coast, Half Moon Bay is just a few hours away.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here for a weekend getaway using one of the club level upgrade certificates that came with my Ritz Visa. Though the property is located on a lovely piece of coastline and very conveniently located for sightseeing beaches/forests/and mountains, I found the "innards" to be largely uninspiring apart from the top-notch service. The rooms were quite dated and the club lounge in particular was literally threadbare in parts. The food presentations were very limited -- definitely the smallest selections of the five or six RC club levels I've visited in the past couple of years. The layout of the lounge also has a claustrophobic feel.

Overall I feel that the property needs a refresh to be worth the very high nightly rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear karolinatx,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our location and service, but regret that we weren’t able to provide the sort of exceptional experience that we’ve built our reputation on. We sincerely apologize that our accommodations and Club Lounge decor were not in line with what you were looking for.

We hope to speak with you so we can to share details about exciting updates and renovations. Please call our Executive Office directly at 650-712-7000 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This recent stay at half moon bay has a spectacular view any time of day and a sandy beach just a short walk or run their are paths down to the beach with lots of surf activity. Viewing water life seals, sea gulls etc they have rentals for most things water related

The stay was in one of the cottages, not the main hotel amenities include bath robes and Slippers we are talking the Ritz after all. Weather was nice and in the 40-50's for the Midwest person no coat required. after a deep freeze in the Midwest this was welcome weather.

the cottages have a double size bath tub, separate glass door shower and private toilet, The sink and counter have a cosmetic mirror so you can insert your contacts maybe close shave is in order. One drawback if their is one the Light switch is outside of the bathroom door.

their are many more amenities, a real gas fireplace in the room the power is a light switch on the side of the fireplace not the thermostat as one might think. Ceiling fan another light switch. many room lights and in my opinion too few available outlets if you can pull the mattress out their is a hidden outlet behind the large mattress which has a feather down mattress topper feels like you're on a cloud 9

Moving into the room their is a tea / coffee box hidden in plan site by the entrance to the bathroom also a shoe polishing station. large wardrobe with 4 drawers and shelf to place luggage, etc. another bath robe. The usual items iron, safe etc. what i thought was odd their is no Microwave?.

Hidden (a tiny six pack size refrigerator) the sign in the refrigerator says to call for snacks.
A large screen TV a DVD player standard cable channels. the radio is a bit of the diversion allows you to hook up and wake to iPod radio or buzzer. The controls are like an iPod dial the disc to set. A King side bed in my room with a mattress topper.

they offer a ride back and forth to the hotel and cottage as they are bit apart.

The best part is the outdoor area near the rear of the hotel Bar of course, fire pits and real chairs. large open area. since this was a business conference all our food was excellent and provided so no idea on food costs but if you have to ask its is the Ritz.

their is a pro shop and bar restaurant ($$) (not associated with the Hotel) one of the other features is the golf course. their is also a Spa and massage and a lookout.to the view.

The room was pleasant a big surprise, came back to my room and found that they make up your bed the TV is turned to a fireplace channel and the radio is playing soft music. Their is a handout with the next days events and some chocolate are on the bed and yes the price is Ritzy! too! all i can say is it is the Ritz need i say any more

Room Tip: only stayed in the cottage, no Microwave you may want to inquire about microwaves in the rooms and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SemperFi1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear SemperFi1775,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your recent business trip. What a winter it has been in the Midwest! We are so glad you were able to enjoy a few days of warmer temperatures and ocean views here in Half Moon Bay.

It sounds like you had a relaxing time in one of our spacious Guest House rooms. Like you, many of our guests fall in love with the amenities, including the cozy feather beds, fireplaces, and plush terry bathrobes. We are happy to provide microwaves upon request; however they are not standard in our guest rooms.

We know that traveling for business can be tiring, so we make it a point to create a peaceful atmosphere with our nightly turndown service. We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to the opportunity to make your next stay even better than your first.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
929 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
256 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,075 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing