We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Hotel, but Overpriced Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

First thing is first, the weather in Half Moon Bay is unpredictable (or predictably foggy). This is probably the main reason that the Ritz does not have more competition. The location is very pretty, just a stone's throw from cliffs overlooking the ocean. You can also walk a short distance to a nice public beach framed by those same cliffs. The hotel is also adjacent to a very good golf course. The rooms tend to be nicely appointed, and the ocean views are great. For me, the big issue is the price. Given its location, the room rates are too high. Furthermore, the food prices are absolutely insane at the hotel's restaurants. We felt gouged, and I'd like to think we are understanding of what makes expensive things expensive. Given all this, there are less expensive options in the area, and they are still nice places to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear LMZV,
Thank you for your review. Our unique location—just south of San Francisco, nestled between the Santa Cruz Mountains and the Pacific Ocean—does experience mild weather throughout the year. Now that May has arrived, however, the temperature is rising and sunny days are on the way. As you noted, Half Moon Bay Golf Links is a wonderful way to enjoy the scenery and warm weather.
We’re sorry to hear that you felt pricing was not commensurate with services, amenities, and the overall experience. We aim to give our guests the very best of everything, and hope that you’ll give our resort another chance in the future. We’d love the chance to speak with you further. We can be reached by calling 650-712-7001.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am traveling tomorrow with two girlfriends to celebrate! One of us is getting married at the end of the month. We are so looking forward to our first time at the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay. Sad that the weather will not be as nice as we had hoped. I am sure the wonderful staff will make sure our stay is amazing anyway. I will post a full review once I get home. I will give it 5 stars in anticipation of the best girlfriend getaway any of us could hope for.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Opus1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Opus1234,

A girls’ getaway is a fantastic reason to visit The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay! We hope your first stay exceeded your expectations and lived up to your five-star rating. We look forward to reading a more in-depth account of your experience soon.

Sincerely,
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a wonderful honeymoon here! The staff could NOT have been nicer and the tactilities were perfect. Quiet , cool room. Excellent maid service. Spa was very nice and relaxing and QUIET. Pool was a bit warm but nice to have a 25 yard pool by the ocean. Rode bikes -easily available and took hikes. The beach is nice but limited. Grounds were stunning.

The food was OK - not great - but the restaurants are worth a look. The Ocean Terrace had a sad menu and was really expensive for what you got. DO try the hot chocolate in the evening - worth the calories! Lots of dining choices on the main drag in town for lunch or dinner. Check them out.

Staff was very well trained - efficient but not in your face. Remembered our names and took good care of us.

A LOT of families/children on the weekend and suspect it is like this every weekend. So, if you are looking to get away from kiddos, skip this hotel on the weekend as least. Otherwise, it's a good choice.

Easy drive from San Francisco. We will CERTAINLY go again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillO554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I just returned from a 2 night stay in conjunction with a corporate event at the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay. I have stayed in many Ritz-Carlton properties, and this was the worst one I've stayed in, by far. Some examples of basic issues I ran into:

- Nowhere to plug anything in. There was a single outlet opposite the bathroom, far from both the desk and the bed. Not a single available outlet near the desk. I figured I must have been missing them, but when I called they confirmed that there were no outlets and brought up an extension cord. Most Hampton Inns do a lot better on this score.

- Only a hand held shower in the bathroom. There was no wall-mounted shower head, aside from a clip to hold the hand-held shower that was mounted too low for anyone over about 5'7".

- No mini bar. Or, to be more accurate, an empty mini-bar with a sign inside suggesting that you call room service if you want something.

- Limited hours for access to the spa facilities (9am-8pm). For anyone working, this only leaves a 2 hour window right after work.

- Mediocre food quality from room service. I ordered a steak and a salad; the steak was fine, but the salad had not been washed and was full of sand and grit. I was too tired to complain and wait for another salad to be delivered.

I could go on, but you get the idea. At a luxury property, they should get the basics right. This place unfortunately does not. I would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear MikeBOS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We are disappointed by the numerous issues you’ve described in your review, especially as they relate to the quality encountered at all levels of your stay. Your room-service experience in particular is extremely uncharacteristic, and we will be looking into it immediately.

We offer a wide variety of accommodations here at the resort, and we regret that we weren’t able to find you a more functional, comfortable room or suite while you were here. As you noted, a resort bearing The Ritz-Carlton name should provide a superior experience, and that’s precisely what we aim to do should you choose to stay with us again. We certainly welcome your call at 650-712-7001 if you would like to speak further.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We love the atmosphere. Ocean wave sound, smell and sight. The staffs were friendly. The fitness Center was sufficient. The best thing about it is ocean view and the sound of waves! You can let the window open and listen to the waves the whole night. Make sure you ask for ocean view room though. Some rooms even have balcony. Ours one didn't. We ask for one when we return next.

Room Tip: Ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear WinWarrior,
It’s so wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. You’re absolutely right about the unique atmosphere on property, a result of being nestled between the Pacific Ocean and the Santa Cruz mountains. We have no doubt that a return stay will reveal even more to love—especially in a room or suite with a balcony or fire pit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I spent two lovely nights here. We had an Ocean Front, Fire pit room. The view was beautiful! The 18th hole, I believe, and the ocean. We choose the first floor to allow for a fire pit on our terrace. We were able to sit outside, enjoy the sound of the ocean, keep warm by our fire pit and make s'mores. It was nice that the mini fridge was left empty so we could use it for cheese, wine, smoked salmon etc. Although we were given an opportunity to have them fill it with our favorite things. Each night at sunset there was a bagpiper by the public fire pit on the terrace. We were close enough to enjoy that as well. The Ocean Terrace had wine by glass or bottle, light appetizers, and a very casual outside seating area with a beautiful ocean view. Eno, the Wine Bar, was BEAUTIFUL, although we didn't spend anytime there because we LOVED our private fire pit and nice wines in our pajamas on our amazing little terrace. The room was smaller then other Ritz Carlton's we have stayed but very clean and comfortable. I only gave four stars because the website advertised a fireplace as well and when we made our reservation they were not sure if the fire pit rooms had one or not. Well ours did not and that was a little bit of a let down but all in all, a wonderful place to stay. The main Restaurant, Navio, is amazing! We had both Dinner and the Sunday Brunch! Not to be missed!

Room Tip: The Ocean Front view was beautiful The Fire pit was our favorite part. I think the entire property l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Lucinda C,

So wonderful to hear from you, and know that you enjoyed a relaxing stay here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. Your choice of accommodations was excellent, as we always recommend guests experience an evening around a fire pit on the bluffs. It sounds like a visit to ENO is in order for next time as well! In regards to fireplaces, while they are available in our Ocean Front Suites, they are not a feature of our Ocean Front Terrace Rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon, and we would be more than happy to reserve a luxurious suite (with fireplace) for your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The beaches and surrounding bluffs were incredibly beautiful and made for a relaxing environment. The coastal room with private fire pit was great and the convenience of the all inclusive amenities located at the hotel allowed for the perfect location to relax and unwind.

Unfortunately, compared to other higher end properties, the service and execution of a great concept was lacking. All the staff were incredibly nice...but continually fumbled on the basics (check in, valet, wait-service in restaurants, attention to detail in general) whether it was long lines for check in, cars, bags never brought up, wrong meals brought, frantic staff running around unsure of what to do, meals over cooked, etc. Again the staff all were very nice and pleasant, but whether they were mainly new or lacked proper oversight / management, the overall execution was on par for an average hotel, but well below similar properties and expectations.

Likewise, the property was very well kept and maintained, but has not been updated in quite a while and thus is out of date with regards to many of the amenities provided.

Overall, I was honestly disappointed and will not be returning. There is incredible potential to the property, but either the lack of management attention to maintaining standards or high employee turnover (or both) has really taken a toll.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgordon_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear djgordon_1,
Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry to hear that your stay did not match up with your expectations. We hold ourselves to a high standard across the board, from service and accommodations to amenities and cuisine, and take feedback like yours very seriously. Please contact our Executive Office directly at 650-712-7000 at your earliest convenience, so that we can discuss these issues in greater detail. It’s important that we make any necessary adjustments so that the signature Ritz-Carlton experience shines through in every stay.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
951 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £398 - £802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing