We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After staying at the Ritz Carlton a couple of weeks ago, I can't imagine anyone staying anywhere else. The room we were given was a double queen that sat a couple rooms to the right of the center courtyard and reception area. Two gorgeous adirondack chairs and our own gas firepit provided the perfect setting to watch the gorgeous sunsets just past the 18th green, and behind the bluffs that are a mere 50 yards away. The waves crashing just within an earshot and the gorgeous views are matched by none. The rates at which these rooms were priced are amazing, especially given the amenities and incredible views. Honeymooners, vacationers, or just a random west coast adventure this place is PERFECT. Great for couples and families alike, with access to the beach and bluffs within a couple minute trek down the walkway on the property. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and spacious, including french doors to the bathroom, with large tub, separate shower, his and her sink, and a separate room for the toilet. The entire facility is extremely clean and the staff is top notch. There are two restaurants on the property that offer some amazing cuisine and a sommelier that is on point with recommendations. If you are looking for a place along the coast in California, there is NO other place you should visit! A+++++

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the courtyard, they have the best views, and firepits on the patio. PERFEC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAPourhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    355
    154
    80
    66
See reviews for
391
890
50
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Twice in one week i had the privilege of experiencing true kindness and service with HEART, let alone a smile, at the Ritz Carlton, Half moon Bay. Not sure how all of the staff can sincerely want to please you, but i felt like i was staying with Family. There was one gesture after another
that left 2 different groups of friends and clients awestruck. i brought 13 babies to their dining room, and they treated them like VIP's. A friend of mine Celebrated Her special birthday, and we
ALL felt celebrated.
We will remember how we were treated- forever.

Great job, Ritz!

Room Tip: Fire pits a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritzyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ritzyluv,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experiences at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. It’s wonderful to know you felt right at home during your time with us, and it was our pleasure to serve you on both occasions. We look forward to creating even more lifelong memories in the future. If there’s anything we can do to assist in planning a celebration or a stay, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Where to start? It was our anniversary and they upgraded us to the presidential suite. WHat a nice surprise and typical Ritz hospitality. We booked on the club floor. The club was great and the Concierge was fantastic. Greeted us by name and always happy to help. Food was Ritz fantastic in the club. The views of half moon bay are great. Reminds me of Ireland. Beautiful property. One setback was that the masseuse was not as good a others....THis is a great hotel, beautiful property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Steve L,

We’re honored you chose to spend such a special occasion here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. It was our pleasure to upgrade you at check-in, and we’re happy to know you enjoyed the Club Level amenities and service. It is always our goal to exceed every expectation, which is why we sincerely apologize for an underwhelming spa visit. We are confident your next stay will be exceptional across the board. Thanks for you review. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first time staying at the Ritz Carlton at Half Moon Bay and, overall, I was very pleased with my experience. The customer service was top notch, the location was fabulous, and the hotel itself was very nice. But the last part was the problem. For the amount of money charged per room and for amenities ($22 burgers and $20 martinis...really?), I expected more.

The rooms were nice but they could definitely benefit from some updating. The lighting in our room was almost non-existent which made the rooms seem a bit dreary. I would love to see lighting in the closets because this only further made it difficult to see your clothes and anything else in the suitcase. Next, the individual floor lobbies were obviously decorated several years ago and could also stand for some updating.

Next, for the price of the drinks (just under a whopping $20 for a basic martini) I definitely expected more. I recently stayed in the city at the St. Regis and received a large hand chipped cube with my Manhattan (as is classically standard); at the Ritz, I got chopped ice in a basic tumbler.

While I enjoyed my stay overall, I felt that the level of quality was somewhat inconsistent. Once those details have been changed, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I would like to thank the front office, concierge, and room service for making my stay comfortable. These people proved that Ritz-Carlton standards is wat higher than the others. Even the food quality is outstanding. Keep it up guys! See you next time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

What a place! It's in a world all it's own!! Overlooking the ocean, the golf course, hotel, club house, etc. Stunning setting and amenities. Parking was a breeze as they allow people wanting coastal access to park in the garage. Walking along the cliffs you can gain access to the beach very easily. Along the way there was a wedding ceremony that had just finished. What a magnificent day the lucky couple got.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear pgrey,

Thanks for taking the time to share a few thoughts about your visit. It’s always inspiring to see Half Moon Bay through the eyes of a first-time guest—particularly when it’s an experience deserving of a “double wow.” We hope you’ll think of us again next time you’re in the area.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a wonderful location to spend with the family. Even though it is a Ritz Carlton, it is very low key. Lot's of young families and pets too. The restaurant was good, but nothing over the top. The view was over the top!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
924 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,018 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing