We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway from SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great getaway from SF”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came here for my 6th wedding anniversary and really enjoyed the hotel, the service, and the local sights. Based on recommendations from TripAdvisor, asked for a ocean view, but don't think a coastal view would have been too much worse. Can't imagine there's a bad view in the house. Service was impeccable, with everyone treating us with warmth and attention, from the front desk attendants to the valets.

Only about an hour away from San Francisco but felt like a world away and was a great place to rest, relax, and recharge. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't think you can pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddha9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    359
    157
    84
    68
See reviews for
406
900
52
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This has to be one of the most unique settings for a hotel on the west coast. The setting is spectacular on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. The hotel itself is beautiful and seems to fit in with the coastal setting. Our room was in the Fairway "guest house" which turned out to be a perfect spot for us. We had a ground floor room with a patio with a gas fireplace. It opened onto one of the golf course fairways and was relatively private and very quiet in the evening. It was great for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening and morning coffee. The room was well appointed and everything in good working order. They offer transportation to and from the main hotel building which was useful. The ocean lawn with the large fire pits and a bagpipe player at sunset was our favorite part. It was chilly for summer but the combination of the cool temperatures, the rugged coast and the fog rolling in and out made one feel as though you were in Ireland! It is hard to believe you are only 25 miles from San Francisco.

Room Tip: Choose one of the three "guest houses" if you like to be away from the hustle and bustle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineOutOften10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear DineOutOften10,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay and for sharing all your kind words about your visit. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the best that The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay has to offer from a private patio fireplace to evenings on the Ocean Lawn. It truly is an idyllic place to getaway. Thank you again for your review; please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you plan your next escape.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been to this place numerous times and every single time has been absolutely amazing! I am not sure what I love the most if the beautiful people who come by and bring you warm blankets to enjoy by the fire pits as the bag pipes play right at sunset, or the glorious views or the delicious beds or the absolutely scrumptious rhubarb pie or the various heavenly desserts.

Make sure you are prepared for a stroll by the beach and bring a nice warm jacket as even in the mid of summer it can be cold.

enjoy,

Room Tip: The Beach view is glorious! and the balconies have your own fire pit which is great fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexanderofjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Adiel A,

Thank you for taking the time to share a few thoughts about your experiences at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. It’s wonderful to know you’ve been able to enjoy our little “piece of heaven” throughout the years. We hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. Until next time, please don’t hesitate to get in touch if there’s anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were disappointed, considering the $$$$$. The curb appeal and grounds are outstanding, the bed was very comfortable, the pillows were some of the best we've had, bottled water was complimentary, there was a good supply of coffee, the view was beautiful and staff was very courteous and helpful. However, we could hear our neighbors in their rooms and the marble bathroom was uncomfortably cold, a heat lamp in the ceiling is needed. The bathroom also needs a vent fan; to clear the steam the bathroom door had to be opened, which chilled it down again. Since we were unable to have an accessible room we requested a riser for the commode, and were informed they didn't have any. We have been just as comfortable at less $$$$$ hotels.We prefer having our needs met.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelconsultant4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear travelconsultant4u,

Thank you for sharing a few thoughts about your recent stay. While it sounds as though you found much to love about our resort, we regret that your needs were not fully met. Depending on availability, we are happy to make a room change at check-in, our sincerest apologies that an accessible room was not available during your stay. We always encourage our guests to request accessible features to meet their needs when making their reservation.

We have made note of your feedback regarding bathroom temperature and ventilation. At the very least, it sounds like a pair of Ritz-Carlton slippers could have made a difference during your stay. Our ladies and gentlemen are always just a quick phone call away should you need any assistance.

We hope to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay in the near future. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wonderful stay with a few nitpicky items. Check in was easy and the room was ready. We stayed in a terrace patio room "oceanfront". The terrace has a gas outdoor fireplace which is quite nice but the ocean front is beyond a sidewalk and putting green. It is also adjacent to an outdoor eating area as well. The patios are right next to each other so do not expect privacy. It is beautifully appointed and rather quiet except for the noise of people outside which quieted down when the sun set. We had an adjoining room and had to put a towel at the bottom of the door so the light would not come through. We were also awaked early to drawers slamming as it sounded like someone was packing to check out. Well appointed room overall though. The staff did ask if we could handle our own luggage and we simply said "no" and they took care of it. Meals were quite nice and the service was excellent in this regard. I have recently been diagnosed with celiac and it makes for an interesting time at meals. The servers were knowledgeable and helpful in this regard. Overall it is a very nice property. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: don't expect privacy with the terrace patio rooms with the fire pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannpann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I love, love, love this hotel and have stayed here numerous times.

The setting is spectacular, as the hotel overlooks the ocean and has a gorgeous golf course that provides a stunning border. There is a nice, large indoor pool (important to be indoors since HMB is often cloudy), and a bunch of fire pits on which families make s'mores at night. Did I mention the killer hot chocolate bar near the fire pits? Our kids adore these amenities.

The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. The beds are comfortable.

The food, while expensive, is first rate. Brunch has a caviar station. Need I say more?

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LCD425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear LCD425,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We always love to see familiar faces and hope to continue welcoming your family to our resort for years to come. What’s not to love about s’mores and caviar in a beautiful setting? Please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do in anticipation of your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our room was 467 and it was very large. The room was well stocked with coffee, water, and towels. We had a sliding glass door with a view of the ocean. There was a gas fire pit outside the glass door. We got a smore kit from room service so we were set for dessert. There are 10 miles of hiking trails. Bikes are available. The beach is beautiful. In June the weather was cold (50F) at night and (60F) during the day. There was thick fog every morning and night. Bring your jogging suit and sneakers. This is a very relaxed resort. The spa is not to be missed. The pool is lovely. We were busy the whole time as there was so much to do. Staff is helpful. Resort is about 40 mins from SFO which is an $80 cab ride. Everything was beautiful and the staff was there to make it perfect. Just watch out for stray golf balls....while walking or in the court yard area.

Room Tip: room 637 has ocean view and fire pit. Try for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
929 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
257 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,084 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing