We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed only one night which was unfortunate. This place was amazing, from the view to the amenities, service and food. It was expensive but if you want to be treated well or celebrate a special event this is the place to do it. I can't say enough about how fabulous it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    323
    140
    75
    60
See reviews for
335
790
45
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The views are excellent ! We had a room that was on the main level in the main building, with a fire pit that overlooked the ocean. The room is very comfortable and the staff was outstanding. Everything you would expect at a Ritz Carlton property. Excellent food and room service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chitown F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from an Amazing Night spent at the Ritz Half Moon Bay. From the Valet's who attend to your car, to the Registration person who hands you a nice glass of wine upon check-in and the Room with a Fire Pit, Views of the Ocean and Sunset...The Entire Experience was what you would expect from a First Class Hotel...While traveling to the San Francisco Bay Area, The Ritz Half Moon Bay is a must do.

Room Tip: Grab a Ground Floor Room with a Fire Pit on your Patio and enjoy the Cali Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dan P,

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words about your recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay for a relaxing escape, and we look forward to serving you again soon. If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely,
The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay to get away from the city for our anniversary. We noted this on our reservation. At check in there was no acknowledgment or asking if we were here for a special occasion. Nothing. My husband ordered (bought) flowers to be delivered to our room and they were nice, again no acknowledgment of it with the lackluster delivery. We never got a call once in our room to ask how things were or if we needed anything. The pre-requested extra pillows weren't in the room and we had to call and ask for them. The room is clean and nice as I'd expect at a Ritz but I am so disappointed in the service here. I've never stayed at a Ritz for an anni but every hotel I've stayed at for an anni getaway has done a little something to acknowledge it. Don't recommend this place for special occasions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PernicketyGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear PernicketyGF,

We are honored that you would choose our destination to celebrate your special anniversary with us and we are disappointed to hear that your visit was not to your expectations. We sincerely regret that we missed the chance to celebrate along with you. While it sounds like you were able to enjoy many aspects of our lovely resort, we apologize that the service did not live up to The Ritz-Carlton standards. The comfort and happiness of our guests is our highest priority, and world-class service is one of our hallmarks. We’d love the chance to speak with you further. We can be reached by calling 650-712-7001. We hope to see you again someday at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay and show you how special a stay at our resort can be.

Sincerely,
The Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

How can you go wrong with ritz carton it was delightful stay with girls
They put great surprise for birthday girl with rose pedal and picture flame... Service make this place different
Comfy bed and great food from restaurant great wine bar had full experience with friends only "complain" nothing to do after dark -no around restaurant. Or place for drink so we were pretty much stay at hotel bar -they used to have shuttle service to downtown but no longer in service

Room Tip: Ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehawaiigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear lovehawaiigirl,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your review of your recent girls’ trip to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. It’s always nice to get away with friends and with Half Moon Bay as your backdrop it makes for a very special trip. For a future stay, we’d be happy to arrange transportation into town for dinner or cocktails. Feel free to speak with the concierge at any time to plan such an outing.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next special getaway. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we may be of service.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came here for my 6th wedding anniversary and really enjoyed the hotel, the service, and the local sights. Based on recommendations from TripAdvisor, asked for a ocean view, but don't think a coastal view would have been too much worse. Can't imagine there's a bad view in the house. Service was impeccable, with everyone treating us with warmth and attention, from the front desk attendants to the valets.

Only about an hour away from San Francisco but felt like a world away and was a great place to rest, relax, and recharge. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't think you can pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddha9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This has to be one of the most unique settings for a hotel on the west coast. The setting is spectacular on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. The hotel itself is beautiful and seems to fit in with the coastal setting. Our room was in the Fairway "guest house" which turned out to be a perfect spot for us. We had a ground floor room with a patio with a gas fireplace. It opened onto one of the golf course fairways and was relatively private and very quiet in the evening. It was great for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening and morning coffee. The room was well appointed and everything in good working order. They offer transportation to and from the main hotel building which was useful. The ocean lawn with the large fire pits and a bagpipe player at sunset was our favorite part. It was chilly for summer but the combination of the cool temperatures, the rugged coast and the fog rolling in and out made one feel as though you were in Ireland! It is hard to believe you are only 25 miles from San Francisco.

Room Tip: Choose one of the three "guest houses" if you like to be away from the hustle and bustle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DineOutOften10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonHMB, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear DineOutOften10,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay and for sharing all your kind words about your visit. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the best that The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay has to offer from a private patio fireplace to evenings on the Ocean Lawn. It truly is an idyllic place to getaway. Thank you again for your review; please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you plan your next escape.

Sincerely,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing