We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Excellent hotel of course. Great firepits with hot chocolate and smore available. The gym was great and, hotel dining outstanding. Sam's Cowder House a few miles north is a great place to eat also.

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank archangel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    329
    145
    76
    60
See reviews for
349
813
46
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

There is no doubt this is a fine property. You do get the feeling that you're missing something if you don't golf. Perhaps this is a destination best suited for golfers who made their sales quotas. Don't get the impression that this is a spa atmosphere. Leave your robe behind when trekking to the pool- you'll be dodging golf carts.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

I have spent plenty of time at the Ritz Carlton/Four Seasons/St. Regis and have come to the conclusion that it's usually not at all worth it because it turns into a kind of generic experience, plus they tend to nickle and dime you to death. That I said, I brought the kids to the RC at HMB mid-week for a last minute night away from the city. Such a deal. Anyhow, I was pleasantly surprised. The location is really beautiful and the rooms are quite nice. The main let down was the pool. Plus you HAVE to valet park.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyyzSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BermudaMike
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Really great location, room was a bit ordinary, I expected better... The window was smaller than I expected and although pleasant was a bit small & 'pokey' for $500 per night! The bathroom was nice but again I've seen better in the $500 per night category...The $100.00 haircut was also a bit ordinary for the cost!
The service was good, I can recommend the Club level. The grounds and premises were OK The beach was disappointing, rocky & not really inviting & the water & weather there is too cold to enjoy the beach...
The car parking fee was really a rip-off, at $45 per day it's more expensive than Manhattan & London, UK and LOTS of other big cities. This hotel is a mixture of nice & disappointing but overall I enjoyed my stay and would probably stay again if I was in Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We returned to the beautiful Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay to again celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary (8/1 - 4). From the moment we arrived we were treated as honored guests. Pearl at the front desk took excellent care of us, placing us in an amazing room. The highlight for us, in addition to the breathtaking oceanside location and all it has to offer (including the bagpiper, firepits, and great food) was access to the fabulous Club Room. Go for it if you can. Their numerous food presentations were amazing, 5th fl. views incredible and the service excellent! Judy was very helpful, friendly and gracious to us. We never left the hotel and grounds but took full advantage of all options there were right there. We shall return!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My fiancee surprised me with a trip to the Half Moon Bay and I have to say that I was more than impressed. It was a special trip (we flew out from our home in Washington DC) as we were getting engaged. They gave us a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the water and they treated us like we were there for something special, we even received a congratulations card as well as a lovely complimentary dessert at the end of our meal at Nuvio. The accomodations were lovely and I was so impressed with the room and the bathroom. I especially appreciated the great toiletries (Bulgari, one of my favorites). The food was excellent, the spa treatments and facilities were amazing, and the service was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Bottom line = beautiful location, good spa, dreadful service, average rooms.
I've staying in a number of Ritz hotels and loved them which is why I chose this one for a very special occasion. Sadly they let me down at every turn.

Check in was disorganised - our room wasn't ready which was fine as it was only 2.45pm, we were told to have a coffee and check back in a short while. We checked back in an hour and after 10 mins of waiting at front desk received the same story. When we were eventually given our keys, there was no sign of the complimentary wine tasting promised on the website. I went back to ask once we were in the room, only to be given wine in two fithy glasses, water marks, dust and old lipstick.

I found the room nice enough but average compared to other Ritz locations and despite requesting a quiet room some months in advance, we were given the room by the ice machine which rattled and hummed at loud volume. There was garbage from the last guest on the terrace and our rose petal turn down service was forgotten.

Service at the Conservatory restaurant is haphazard at best, long waits, confusion and general lack of interest from the staff.

All in all, very disappointed. I wouldn't go back or recommend it. However the Ritz in the city was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing