We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Stop on a Road Trip”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having read many other reviews, there seems to be sometimes a disappointment regarding the rates in relation to the appearance of the hotel. We have now stayed at the place for one night. In my view the descriptions of the "look & feel" are basically correct. Whether you will like it or not, depends a little bit on the price. If you have to pay a high rate during peak periods, you will certainly expect more for the money. Staying here for a low rate is fine.

The only point for criticism is that the online portal we used for booking showed this as a *** hotel. Not being an expert for hotel categories, but if we compare this to other places where we stayed in the US, we don't quite understand. On the other hand - the place is private owned and not part of a chain, this certainly deserves a plus.

The hotel itself is very close to the Harbor, only separated by the Interstate I. We felt the noise of the traffic as not disturbing. The rooms are practical. We had a fridge, coffee machine and a microwave. The tube television is like the other interior from another time. The rooms are clean and free (reasonably fast) WLAN is available. We did not try the breakfast.

We would come back and stay here.

Room Tip: If you have heady luggage, you may want to ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkEtKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Older hotel. Room smelled awful with a 'freon' type smell. Had to open the windows and door and air it out before we could spend time in it. Great access to other places is the best that can be said about it. If they spent some money this hotel could be a bit more 'user friendly'. Definitely not worth the price paid and would not have spent a second night

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I requested, and received, a remodeled room. It was very, very nice. Large TV with HBO and more channels than a person needs. State of the art shower, hair dryer, coffee, window seat with fully functional windows. The bed was very comfortable. This was the quietest room I can ever remember staying in! Oh, and free wifi. Continental breakfast in the office, with plenty of selections. Office staff very helpful and friendly. Check in is 3:00, but they welcomed me and gave me my room when I arrived early at 12:45! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Upon walking into our Harbor View Inn guest room we noticed the bathroom flooded and a strange smell to the room. We called housekeeping and they mopped up the flooded bathroom and the manager came and told us that they could not move us to another room. No one bothered to sanitize this dangerous health condition. The ceiling continued a slow drip and the room smelled like urine. Honestly, the worst hotel experience of my life. The manager also refused to provide any compensation for this condition.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The rooms here have obviously not been updated in a long time. The décor is dated and worn. The "breakfast" is pretty much worthless.

But there are some good points too. The location is good, with harbor views. Quite a few restaurants are within walking distance and the café next door is friendly and has tasty food. The young woman at the front desk was very pleasant. Wifi is free. Our room (17) was quite large and pretty quiet. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker (and not enough electrical outlets). beds were reasonably comfy.

Basically, it could be great if it were updated. As-is, it's acceptable but overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a simple older motel style property. Our room was clean and comfortable - if basic. (Fortunately we did not have people in adjacent rooms so we can not comment on room-room noise.) It faces the main road and one hears the traffic passing (but was not excessive).
The desk person was not very friendly. She gave the feeling that she was there because she had to.
Don't bother with the "continental breakfast". (We didn't try it.) Go directly next door where there is a very friendly cafe with large choice of food.
A serious concern is that the hotel insisted on writing the credit card security code on the imprint of the card that they took - a significant violation of credit card security (I have reported to credit card company.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkUhrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The woman at the front desk was bubbly and helpful. The breakfast needs to be skipped and should embarrass management for the price of a night here. Walk across the street to the yellow coffee shop and have good food.
The control to our roll out windows broke the first time we opened them. This place needs some attention. But maintenance fixed them promptly. Overall, not terrible--and it's the California coast--where everything is great no matter what.
But! Think of trying a hostel--there are two former-lighthouse hostels in this area--much more value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Campervann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
266 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
6.6 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
308 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £93 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing