We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to walk, bike or walk the dog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Coastside Trail

Half Moon Bay Coastside Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Easy and scenic hiking trail along the Pacific coast that measures six miles round trip.
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to walk, bike or walk the dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

You have excellent places to see the ocean, watch the surfers or just relax. You can bring you pooch but please keep them on a leash. This is a great biking path if you want an easy 4 1/2 mile round trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Badq45t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montara, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Trail for Walking or Bikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This trail is used by walkers and bikers, so stay alert and give enough room for bikes if you are walking. The trail is enjoyable - right along the ocean. You can get off and walk along the beach and get back on the trail for easier walking. Riding a bike along here is great - just remember you have to have enough energy to get back to your starting point!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThreeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great walking trail with beach access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We liked the fact that the trail itself was paved. When we had walked too far on the beach and were exhausted, we could hop on the trail for an easier trek back to the hotel. There were plenty of benches, trash cans, and restrooms on the trail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredibly awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I rode yesterday morning at 7:30 AM. It was cold, foggy, and wet which was a wonderful change from the heat of Cupertino this week. I started at the visitor center at Kelly Ave and changed to warmer clothes in the restroom there. There is a parking fee (I think $10) that I paid the ranger later since it wasn't open when I first arrived shortly after 7 AM.

The trail was quiet with amazing views. It's true there are sections of the trail that don't have the great ocean view but I think there are many that do that make it worth it, especially if you go south from the visitor's center. I went all the way down past the Ritz Carlton, much of which was dirt paths which was interesting but I have more of a mountain bike (Trek 4 Comfort Series) and it was great. In the morning the trails were not crowded at all. On the north end I went a little further than the airport. One of my now favorite coastal trails!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelSnobAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
“Great Family Bikeride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This trail is beautiful. Its paved and flat. You ride along the ocean and beautiful wild flowers everywhere. My boys 9 and 11 years old loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Bay Coastside Trail also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon Bay Coastside Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing