We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“B&B right on the beach”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed here a few times and will come back again. The rooms face the ocean and you have a private deck to sit outside if you choose. Breakfast is wonderful and the staff fantastic! The only problem was (and it was our fault) we didn't notice the room we booked had a walk-inshower without the jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: Look through their web site to pick to style/decor of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1EdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    17
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muhltal, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights before we had to head back to Germany. It is a perfect place with spectacular views on the ocean from the balcony of your room. We were lucky to be able to watch the pelicans diving for fish, seals and even some dolphins. The whole place has avery personal touch : the owners (Ann and Ken) were present and took care of their guests and the staff prepared a great breakfast (the menu changed daily). From 4pm - 6pm, snacks and wine were served. Also the restaurant next door (Miramar) is great for their food and the views on the ocean. We stayed in the "San Francisco Bay" room, which was perfect for us because of it's barrier free shower.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cu-pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Landis Inn is outstanding! It has the location, but it's a lot more than that. It's only a stones-throw from the ocean. Our room was the Bordeaux room. It was fabulous! Beautiful views of the ocean. The room was gorgeous. It had a balcony that we sat out on and drank coffee and played cribbage. The bathroom had a whirlpool jet tub that was very nice. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The owner is a GREAT chef! It was brought to our room, which we ate at the little table watching the waves rolling in. Because our room has the quaint table/chairs by the window, that made it possible for us to have the breakfast in our room rather than in the dining room. They had a pair of binoculars on the night stand which was very nice to watch the harbor seals.
This was the most we have ever spent on one night in all of our travels. However, it was so worth it! There's a very nice TV/DVD/stereo in the room and we never even turned it on. Instead we used the cribbage board/cards that were from the game storage area and sat outside. We also used the gas fireplace in our room which was very very nice and relaxing!
Roxanne is whom greeted us when we first arrived and she also served as the sous chef the next morning and delivered our breakfast. Her demeanor, personality, genuine way about her is just great.
Ken, the owner, greeted me the next morning while I was looking for a cup of tea. He makes an awesome pot of coffee! Such a humble fella. He and his wife have really out done themselves with this built-from-scratch property. Brian is another great person who works there - it's like a family. He worked the evening shift and provided the hot tea and biscotti in the evening. Great sense of humor, and genuine.
This was such a refreshing (yet relaxing and inviting) place to end our trip. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: Each room has a view of some sort of the ocean. However, the Bordeaux room is the most expensive fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdsanoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Landis B&B. The accomodations are great, the breakfast was good (you can eat in the dinni g area or in your room) and the hosts wer nice. From our room (I think they are all oceanfront) we watched dolphins, seals, sea lions, pelicans and gulls in the surf. It was exciting to see. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are oceanfront. We stayed in the "Napa Valley" room which was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedw377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I gave it 3 stars because they didn't honor the "hot deal" on http://bedandbreakfast.c…. We specifically took off a monday so we could use the deal on a sunday night but were told no. Also, when we arrived there was a lovely gift basket waiting for us, we thought it was because we were repeat customers, but later found out it was a gift from our daughter. There was no card!
I have to say this though, we have been here 5 times and the service has always been wonderful, rooms clean, food scrumptious.
I am a loyal customer so I'm disappointed about the hot deal and saving the $70.00 as there is a $30.00 Per Night charge for my dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband, his niece and family stayed at Landis Shores a couple of weeks ago and they can't stop saying how wonderful their stay was. His niece is very ill and has special needs which the staff went above and beyond to accommodate. The room was perfect, view was amazing, location was great - be sure to eat at the nearby restaurant which was excellent as well. They have nothing negative to say whatsoever - everything was wonderful and they highly recommend Landis Shores!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eculver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

As a travel agent of 25 years, this is the first review I have been sufficiently motivated to write. Landis Shores is an
ideal location for hiking, riding a bicycle, strolling, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. The rooms are comfortable,
as well as beautifully furnished; the breakfast is creative, as well as delicious (included in rate); the afternoon
complimentary wine and snacks were lovely.The cleanliness and attention to detail should also be noted!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 211 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1388
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanfront inn located on Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, California, with easy access to San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Hotel Half Moon Bay
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing