We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'm in love with this place. Staying in the Napa Valley room, and love it! Full ocean view with a private balcony, beautiful room and wonderful hospitality. Jacuzzi tub and nice shower. Fireplace in room with heated floors. Yummy breakfast in the morning. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Fell asleep last night listening to the sound of the ocean. Very romantic! Very close to San Francisco. Will come back as often as I can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose Landis Shores as oceanfront refuge for one night and were sorry only about the fact that we couldn't stay longer.
It's the best place to be in Half Moon Bay; you feel welcome and taken care of at any time, from your arrival to your departure. Ken and Ellen already helped us finding rooms that met our needs (family traveling with grandmother and two children, thus in need of one room for three people). We loved our rooms, "Porto" and "Napa Valley", both had a personal touch and were equipped with everything you need - home away from home.
Food was delicious and fresh, in addition you can eat it with full ocean view and no disturbing noises, besides the sound of the waves. If ever we'll manage to travel on highway number 1 again, we'll stop once more at Landis Shores - and make sure we'll stay at least two nights!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful - but take an oceanfront rom if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elafonisi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great getaway. Open the window and all you will hear is the ocean. Ocean front rooms really are exactly that. Cannot get a better view, serene, peaceful, even when the Inn is busy. Great breakfasts too, in your room or in the open dining area which has tables far enough apart to give each privacy. Totally refreshing time away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked the dog-friendly, ocean view room for our 9th anniversary and was very pleased. Room was bigger than the posted pictures, and comfortably appointed. Even a welcome basket for the dog! I know from previous experience that I can single-handedly stop a drought by booking a vacation, and indeed the rain was very welcome, balanced by nice breakfasts in room and afternoon fine wine/hors d'oeuvres in the common room. We ordered from their cellar and were very pleased, although a substitution was required from the website offerings. A cozy fire and comfortable chair looking out on the stormy ocean. What's not to like? Meals across the street were great. Next time we plan to hit the Bach Dancing and Dynamite Society just down the block for a little jazz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiredGranthelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked our room a Landis Shores the day before arrival not knowing what to expect. We were looking for a much needed getaway, and what we found was a true gem of a B&B. The Inn is well kept very clean, quiet and relaxing from the moment you exit the elevator on the second floor. Our room had a full ocean view with the wonderful sound of the waves on the beach. We enjoyed a glass of wine and snacks every afternoon. The fixed breakfast menu changed daily and the food was well prepared, delicious and arrived at the appointed time every morning. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very welcoming. Landis Shores is our new go to in Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpujock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked a two night stay (Fri & Sat) on short notice in November. Consequently, our lovely, well-appointed room (the San Francisco Bay room) is the only one without a spa tub. On a weekend, you can expect the Landis to be at full-capacity. Our large, walk-in shower was nice but we would have preferred the tub. Landis Shores B&B is very well run, clean and ocean front. The staff is helpful, courteous and professional. We enjoyed exceptionally nice weather (warm, sunny, no fog or wind), so were able to enjoy the walkways along the beach. There is lots of activity: wind surfing, hang-gliding, and swimming are among the many things you can observe or do. A delicious, fresh breakfast is served each morning, and Landis offers wine & cheese appetizers each evening, a nice touch. We plan to return, and reserve our room earlier next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A beautiful setting. Our bedroom was very spacious and overlooking the ocean, peaceful with just the sounds of the waves. Drinks and hors d'oeuvres were served early evening, most civilised. Ken cooked a good wholesome breakfast each morning and catered for my gluten free needs. A very relaxing stay.
Viv & Peter

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterB055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
971 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
192 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 211 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1388
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £273 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanfront inn located on Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, California, with easy access to San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront b&b Inn
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing