We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Birthday Getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Daddy-O's - CLOSED

Daddy-O's
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Daddy-O's takes great pride in creating upscale versions of American roadside-diner classics like burgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese sandwiches, soups and chili!
Hayward, California, Usa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Weekend Birthday Getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I like trains. I was attracted by the idea of eating in or at a Caboose. Daddy-O's was located directly accross from our hotel and we wanted a pre-dinner snack. For the price the grilled cheese with bacon we had could have been larger and it could have included chips or something. I'd go back sometime. I like trains you know.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Robert. Thanks for stopping by and enjoying a pre-dinner snack! We are happy that you enjoyed the grilled cheese with bacon and we hope that you stop back in again soon to try out some of our other menu options! Have a nice day. Best, Marylouise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pescadero
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced dog”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We dropped in a few months ago. Surprised that we had to pay extra for toppings?? Not good. Had a couple different dogs plus Mac & cheese. Mac & cheese-- spicy? Asked owner about it, she said , 'oh, yes, I put cayenne in it. 'Ok...u order it for your kids & I ordered for me, having stomach problems. What kids like 'hot' , & I could not eat. Why wasnt it an option, or at least noted on menu? Waste of money, & we will never pay for 'extra' toppings @ a hot dog place, especially at their prices. 2 big booboos in our opinion. Would like to see them succeed, but need to re-think
a few things.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peskygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. In regards to the toppings, we give away our first three toppings for free and additional toppings after that are 15¢. We apologize that you do not agree with this, but many restaurants are charging extra for toppings and condiments! We always do our best to give our guests as much as possible to make their experience the best. Our mac & cheese is a signature recipe and we have so many fans who rave about the delicious and unique taste that it offers. We want to impress our guests with quality food every time. Our dogs are the best 1/4 lb. 8" all beef dogs you will find, and our small increase in price reflects that to impress everyone who comes to Daddy O's! We appreciate your support in wishing us the best success, but we will always do our best in this economy to make sure our guests, customers, fans, friends, and family are always happy with their Daddy O's experience. Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Daddy O's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Thank you Marylouise for a great lunch and the best clam chowder soup I have ever eaten!
Very unique atmosphere and great hostess. Birgitta

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks so much Birgitta! It was wonderful having you in with us to enjoy a meal. We look forward to having you in again soon and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Have a great day! Best, Marylouise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Whistle Stop for a great Burger or Hot Dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Ok, this is a one of a kind place just off route 1 in Half Moon Bay in a old yellow train car, can't miss it. Try the burger or grill hot dog and the three bean chili has just the right amount of heat! Worth the stop in your driving down coastal route 1.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank l_sciabarrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind words and your recognition of our delicious food! -- We love to have everyone stop in when you are driving down Route 1! We hope to see you again soon. Best, Marylouise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
“Daddy-O's is the only place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Absolutely the best food ever! Haven't a clue how they do all this in the back of the caboose! And the owners are fabulous! Say hello to Them. They are so friendly. Cleanest kitchen ever ! We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabo4gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hello, Cabo4gb:
We are thrilled with your review, and thank you for leaving such king and awesome feedback about us! We'll see you next year!
Best, Daddy-O's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daddy-O's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing