We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sunday Afternoon Dining Experience”

Cetrella Bistro and Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cetrella Bistro and Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Sunday Afternoon Dining Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I took my kids to the restaurant while me wife did some business in town. We went to an early dinner. I have been here a couple of times in the past as part of a business event and this was my first time in really the light of day. I would have to rate my experience this time as somewhat average. I had the salmon and it was ok. It was well cooked but not exceptional. For the kids, we ordered the pizza as there was not really a children's menu. They did like the pizza and ate every slice of it. The foccacia was absolutely delicious. Maybe i am close to a 3.5 on my rating for the restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was easily the best dinner we had during a 3 week holiday in California. We thought the portion size was perfect. Being European we've been rather overwhelmed by the huge portions served in America. The atmosphere and service were first class,the food absolutely delicious and the wine outstanding. Living in France, we are used to a high standard of food and wine,but our experience at this restaurant surpassed our expectations. Try the octopus starter, so yummy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something to talk about”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Me and my Wife decided to try out this restaurant in half Moon Bay and we were not disappointed. Amazing Food, Great Service, Even though we were sitting by the kitchen it was still very quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMowgli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good, but Not Great”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I expected more of the restaurant based on the reviews. The food was good, but for the price, we had expected more. We had dinner on a Thursday evening, so the restaurant was not too busy. The pasta was very good, but the salmon was undercooked. Definitely pass on the house wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suntravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant, Delicious Meal”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We celebrated a family birthday in the main restaurant with its vaulted ceiling, low lighting an vocal jazz softly coming through from the bar area.....very romantic. The entrees were delicious, although the portions were small. The woman who took our reservation asked if this was a special occasion and took the name of the birthday guest so that a birthday greeting in his name could be added to his dessert. A special occasion!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JungleTrailJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cetrella Bistro and Cafe also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Cetrella Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing