We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place on Main Street”
Review of Half Moon Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Half Moon Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sweet place on Main Street”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Other reviews here have me stymied, as we thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Half Moon Bay Inn. Communication with and from the proprietor was genial and necessary since we were arriving quite late. Upon arrival we were shown to our room quickly and without fuss. And what a relief it was.

We had two twin beds in a room overlooking Main Street. The decor was simple, current and done with great thought and style. Our beds were superbly comfy with great linens, pillows and hand-knit throws. The bathroom was small but perfectly appointed and spotless. Good shower, nice amenities and plush towels.

The one snag was Half Moon Bay's civic cleaning crew, who arrived about 10 pm to clean city-provided trash bins. They didn't take long, though, and we were asleep as soon as they moved down the street. No noise from the restaurant or patrons.

Great morning coffee is provided by the hotel in room, Outland Java if you need to know your roaster. All in all this was a sweet place to stay and we'd certainly return to Half Moon Bay Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    30
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

This is a beautiful nugget hidden away from the rush of the big city. Weather was gorgeous as you were right on the beach. Service was outstanding and they did a good job of matching your servers/attendants up with you so you could build a report with them over your stay. Food was good and had plenty of room for seminars and banquet.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWordOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

At noon on Saturday, we had the impulse to drive down to Half Moon Bay and spend the night. The delightful owner of the HMB Inn got us all set up in the Romantic Suite. She even had a doggie bed, food bowl, and treats for our two pugs.

This was a great way to spend a relaxing weekend. It was great to wake up in the morning and stroll down Main Street before the throngs of tourists arrived.

They're building a new restaurant which look like it's going to be great.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This Is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything was clean, rooms were perfet. Private courtyards. Very nice to get away and relax.

  • Liked — Quiet and nice views
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brittanydarcangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menlo park ca
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Forget sleeping if you're in a room over the restaurant. After it closes, the janitors come in & throw the chairs around while vacuuming/polishing the floors. The noise woke me at 1:45 am & kept on until after 5am. AND there's no one on duty to call.
Check in meant waiting at the empty hostess station in the downstairs restaurant until someone came & gave me a key to my prepaid room & sent me to find the stairway, behind a closed door. No offer of any help.
Good sheets on comfortable king size bed. Not very good towels. Only window in the room opened onto the roof furnace vent fans, about 4 feet away, so I could have fresh air only with that view & noise. Shower stall is claustrophobically small, as well as dark. No tub. Tiny bathroom with a bar of soap & shampoo only. No conditioner or lotion. Room is laughably small, except it's way too expensive to be a joke. No room to put an open suitcase except on the bed.
After telling the daytime mgr/bookkeeper about the bad noise & no sleep thing, she said they'd tell the cleaners to try to be quieter. I asked for conditioner because I didn't have my own & got ". . . out of it for a while but will re-order soon."
I told the mgr, about the all night noise & was told "too bad." Not even an offer for a free coffee in their own restaurant.
I go to the HMB coast frequently, but will never return there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from graveyard shift cleaning crew.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol22b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbinn_HalfMoonBay, owner at Half Moon Bay Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2009
The Half Moon Bay Inn has two large rooms that have a King size bed. Both rooms have windows overlooking Main Street. None of our rooms have a window with an air vent that is described in this review. We have a reception desk and the restaurant is not where people check in. We have 14 rooms altogether. All of our rooms have a private bathroom..
The on site restaurant,It's Italia, just opened In March, 2009 after an extensive renovation. They do not send in a cleaning crew at 2 AM. The hotel is independent from the restaurant and all guests check in with the hotel staff. We have high quality linens and towels. Sometimes our name is confused with other establishments. I do believe that this is the case.

Thank you,

Jamie Barber
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We stayed in room nine, which is over a vacant store. Very, very quiet. We overlooked main street, great for people watching. My husband totally enjoyed roaming downton, an unusual treat, since we usually stay up the coast a ways in Princeton by the Sea or Moss Beach.

This is not a bed and breakfast - no breakfast provided, but the rooms have a feel of a band b. The king beds are very tall. I was challenged, as a short person, to get in....managed though.

There are unique architectual details in the halls and rooms, and lots of murals on the hall walls.

I would absolutely stay here again if I wanted to stay downtown.

  • Liked — quiet and people watching
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1Spats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

My husband and I stayed here with our 10 month old son back in July, and we had an awful room. When making our reservation, I mentioned we had a baby, and we were referred to their handicap accessible room. Sounded great since it had more space than most rooms. That is until we saw the handicap accessible shower, which, if you aren't already in a wheelchair, slipping around on the wet tile floor might just put you in one. The shower is just a shower head coming out of the wall, with no shower curtain, so water sprays all over the floor.

But that was minor. They neglected to tell us that the room is right next to the patio (I could open the bathroom window and speak to the patrons if I wanted to) which stays open late and is extremely loud. Our room was also right next to the delivery door for the restaurant, which started around 6 a.m., so we got about 4 hours of sleep that night. We spoke to the manager at the front desk, and asked if there were any other rooms, and if not, could we please be let out of our reservation. She was kind enough to agree to let us out of our reservation, considering none of these details were mentioned when we booked, and referred us to the Half Moon Bay Lodge (which was great).

Once we received our bill, we saw that they had charged us $365 (how they decided on this amount is still a mystery) for our Thursday night stay, not $185 as we had been quoted when we first made the reservation. The owner has been extremely rude and unhelpful, telling us we were "lucky to have been charged that much." And has now resorted to refusing to talk to us. Now that's customer service.

We are currently fighting the charge and if I could give any advice,
find out exactly where your room is located, and avoid any interaction with the owner. Or, even better...stay at the Half Moon Bay Lodge down the road, and visit the Half Moon Bay Inn for lunch :)

Helpful?
20 Thank Jdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbinn, owner at Half Moon Bay Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2009
The Half Moon Bay Inn is under new management since Feb. 12th, 2008. We have a new restaurant on site. They do not stay open until 2Am and their business practices are more conducive with our Inn guests. Since we have taken over the ownership and management of the hotel, we have added a shower curtain. We have also added a daybed and a bar size refrigerator and a microwave oven. to the room that you stayed in. I hope you will come back again and give us another chance..

Thank you,

Jamie Barber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
0.1 mi away
Mill Rose Inn
Mill Rose Inn
#2 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Inn

Property: Half Moon Bay Inn
Address: 401 Main St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1749
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, award-winning boutique inn was built in 1932 and recently renovated to preserve its Spanish Revival Architecture. Our gorgeous and luxurious rooms have an old world charm, designed with your comfort in mind. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Half Moon Bay, you’re just a stroll away from some of the best restaurants and shops. This fantastical and luscious location is like a little bit of Europe in downtown Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing