We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelican Point RV Park
Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I come here fairly regularly in our 28 ft motor home and love everything about it. I have read some of the nasty reviews regarding the rules and regulations here but having owned a B and B, we understand how the inconsideration of a few (and perhaps more) can have consequences for the many law abiding and quiet folk who want to enjoy their holiday in peace! There was one woman who worked here who really had no business working in hospitality but she is long gone and all the other people who run the place are wonderful. I can't say enough about this little gem of a place and it's proximity to the amazing beach down the lane from here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    6
    5
    31
See reviews for
18
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location, this place is really new and the infrastructure is still "under construction" If your staying in a van or camping the amenities (1 working full on bathroom + porta potties) are not enough. I suppose if your in a self contained RV with your own shower and toilet its fine. It's just a place to park, no trees, BBQs, and if it was full not enough mobile plastic tables and chairs. Maybe once their bathrooms are done, but since the state park campground is always full at least it is an alternative and if your enjoying the area and just need a place to sleep it's adequate. I had no problem with the staff and don't even remember being shown the rules so no comment there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just stayed at Pelican Point RV Park for 4 days and had a wonderful time. Customer service was great and they even guided you into your RV spot. We never had a problem with anyone there. These people who had a problem there must be problem people. If you don't break rules then there isn't a problem. Maybe we just had good camp host but then again we don't get loud, drunk and unruly and respect other RV campers. We didn't have uncontrolled fires in the Barbecue. If you have that kind of behavior then this isn't the place for you. It is a quite place with very nice people. Kids rode their bikes, we played bocce ball, and were only a 1/4 of a mile from the beach. Lovely place and we will go back.

Happy RV Camper
Robin D.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Customer Service is horrendous from the 1st phone call, to check-in, to check-ing out and everything in between. They have rules upon rules that change throughout the day, depending on the person approaching your site! We came once and thought we'd give it another shot, even based on bad reviews on yelp, we made a 2nd mistake. If you're traveling without kids and you don't plan on being out at your camp site, then this might work for you. They have many sites that people reside in, that are extremely messy! This could be such a gem if the management and employees had common courtesy. They need to visit other campgrounds along the coast for a learning lesson in etiquette!!! We were told since we broke rules all weekend long, that we aren't welcomed back! Are you kidding me? Never again!!!!

GOOD LUCK!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RDiThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This place is in a lovely location. Unfortunately some moron has been let loose to write the most customer unfriendly rules ever known to any one who RV's. The moronic staff follows these rules to the T. Arrive slightly early for your reserved spot, and if there are 40 empty spaces you MUST LEAVE and come back after 1:00PM. Everything you have read on all these reviews about rudeness is absolutely true. They shouted at me that I must understand that if I took my class-C motor home out of the park to go shopping etc, or for any reason, they would charge me an extra day's fee when I came back if it was even just 5 minutes later. Best idea: keep your mouth shut when you check in after 1PM (but not much later) nod your head at all the stupid rules as if they are normal. Then enjoy the seashore walk around the Ritz Carlton golf course, hotel and the beautiful beach. THEN NEVER GIVE THESE MORONS YOUR MONEY AGAIN. Too bad for us all that they are in such a nice location that they have no idea how to manage or take advantage of what they have.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
15 Thank schwakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been to this RV park a few times before with friends and thought it would be a great place to go for the Half Moon Bay Pumpkin festival. Close enough to ride bikes downtown, great little beach. Thought we could invite our family to join us for late lunch - our friends had been there before with 11 people in their site and not one word was said to them so we thought it would be ok. When we booked the reservation and when we checked in we mentioned we would have visitors and both times were told it was ok and the lady did not mention anything about a limit. Boy, what a big mistake. They were so rude to us, even calling us names because we had 7 people at our site (with more on their way). We were limited to 6 people (including ourselves) and that was it. We offered to pay a full night for the site next to us which was empty (and remained empty beyond the next day) but were rudely told "no way". They actually threatened to kick us out. We sent most of our family to the beach (which was cold and foggy) and called/told the rest not to come. You have rules - ok I get that. But be consistent, up front and nice about it. There is no reason to call a great grandmother a "cheater" and tell her you are going to call the cops on her if she doesn't immediately leave (even though we already paid for her to be there). I cannot believe the level of rudeness that we experienced - it was off the charts. We are not the only ones that had bad experience with the rudeness of the staff this past weekend. We talked to two other campers that also experienced the same level of rudeness from them. I don't understand, you are in the service business - if you don't like people get out! We will NOT be back to the park ever again. We encourage anyone who is considering visiting not to. The only way to combat rude, lousy customer service to not to do business with them.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Maiden voyage in our brand new fifth wheel and we couldn't have picked a better place...was weary after reading reviews on the tripadvisor site, but we are so glad that we came here. First, for us, it is only a 2 hr drive to this coastal rv park, and although it is not ocean front, from our site (#54) we could see the ocean. 2nd... the lady that checked us in could not have been more helpful! My husband mentioned that this was our first time and she personally helped him with perfect directions on how to back in our rig!!! (supposedly a 35'9", but when she measured, it came up 37'). 3rd, when we could not get our tv reception thru the cable, she sent her husband right over to come check our site's cable which was fine, so we knew it had to be something with our rig. After asking permission to enter our rig, he helped us figure it out!

Most of the sites allow you to park your vehicle right next to your rig, but also offer overflow parking onsite.
You are right next to the beautiful Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton and Golf Course and a 3-5 min walk to the beach/ocean.

After dinner, we liked walking over to the Ritz Carlton for enjoying cocktails while watching the sunset at their outdoor fire pits.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
911 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point RV Park

Property: Pelican Point RV Park
Address: 1001 Miramontes Point Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2399
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Half Moon Bay
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Rv Park Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing