We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible views, great property, with a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bird's eye view of Pillar Point Harbor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bird's eye view of Pillar Point Harbor
Garden Fire pit with Beach View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Bird's eye view of Pillar Point Harbor
Garden Fire pit with Beach View
Fold down couch bed
Fold down Chaise-bed
Front room
Unique Workspace with WIFI & View
Fully Equipped Gourmet Kitchen, Dishwasher, Microwave, Toaster Oven, Coffee & Tea make
Well Equipped Kitchen, with all the dishes, cooking & Baking items for a gourmet meal
Large Walk-in Rain Shower, Floor Heat
Work Desk High speed WIFI
Queen Bed in bedroom with Alcove twin bed beyond
Twin bed Alcove with Cable TV
BBQ Kitchen in back private (8ft wall) Enclosed Garden
View of Pillar Point from side yard
Koi pond in Garden
Local Artist painting Romeo Pier
Pillar Point at Sunset, taken from the Door
Festival of Lights in the Marina
Pumpkin Festival 3rd week of October
Tide Pools beyond the Point on Mavericks Beach
Pillar Point & Mavericks Beach
Musicians by the Pier
5 minute walk to Mavericks Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Half Moon Bay, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbi W
1 review
“Incredible views, great property, with a fantastic host.”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My husband and I stayed in the beachfront loft for an anniversary trip to Half Moon Bay in mid-June. What a fantastic location, which - along with a wonderful host - made this the best of our several visits to HMB over the past few years!

The loft itself is situated a stone’s throw (literally) away from the bay, and the morning views are even better now that the dilapidated Romeo Pier has been taken down. Every morning we enjoyed our coffee while we looked out the window at the boats, kayakers, and paddleboarders; people and dogs walking along the beach; and seals swimming just off the shore. The picture at the top of the listing – with the binoculars setting on the shelf inside the window – is a perfect representation of how close you are to the water.

When you arrive at the loft, be aware that you’ll be walking up a long flight of stairs. Once you’re up there, there is not one thing missing: this is one the best-appointed vacation rentals we have ever stayed in. From the aforementioned binoculars to the (truly) fully-stocked kitchen to the cozy-but-comfortable bed to the nicely-designed bathroom, we were hard-pressed to find anything Michael had not thought of. There was even a Beats Pill bluetooth/3.5mm speaker to play your music while sitting by the firepit on the ground level. There are bikes available, and you are steps away from some of the most beautiful trails you will ever see.

Anyone visiting Half Moon Bay – especially at this particular property – would be remiss if they didn’t explore the Pillar Point Bluff, Coastside Trail, Fitzgerald Marine Reserve, and Highway 1. Pillar Point is within very easy walking distance from the loft, and offers some of the best ocean views anywhere in the world. Depending on the time of the year, you’re likely to see whales migrating. At the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve – and even just from the cliffs on the way to Fitzgerald – you will see harbor seals, up close and personally (just don’t get *too* close). In the other direction, the Coastside Trail is a nice walk or bike ride with great views along the way. You can walk toward the Ritz-Carlton or even start at that end (parking for free in their garage). The trail is well-maintained and has a lot of informational signs all along the way.

The location of the loft in the Princeton by the Sea area is very close (an easy, less than 5-minute walk) to several restaurants: Mezzaluna, Seville Tapas, Old Princeton Landing Public House and Grill, Half Moon Bay Brewing Company, and Barbara’s Fish Trap. It’s a longer walk or short drive to Sam’s Chowder House, Ebbtide Café (small breakfast place with a limited but *very tasty* menu), Miramar Beach Restaurant, Moss Beach Distillery, and several others. It’s about a 15-minute drive to the downtown area, with several shops and restaurants. And – very much depending on traffic – about 45 minutes or so to downtown San Francisco. The coastside drive up Highway 1, through Moss Beach, Pacifica, South SF, etc., is a very worthwhile activity in and of itself.

I could not recommend this property any more strongly. Michael is a very welcoming and gracious host, and seems willing to be as available or as invisible as you want him to be. He has truly thought of everything and was eager to help, if we needed it. We are looking forward to our next visit to Half Moon Bay and the loft.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Debbi, Wow, along with you and Jeremy being "5 Star" guests, you are also a 5* reviewer! Thanks so much for such a great overview of the location. You mentioned many activities, and places I hadn't even considered, but are really fun! If I didn't already live here, I would move here in a hot minute after reading your review. You guys were so much fun to get to know, & spend time with, I hope you are able to come back really soon! Have a great rest of the summer! Cheers, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rremen
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great view, a great venue...”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at the Exotic Tropical Mavericks Loft for a Thanksgiving visit to Half Moon Bay/Princeton by the Sea. This third floor unit had an unobstructed view of the ocean and pier at Princeton, enjoying both the striking sunrises to the east and sunsets to the west. The host most generously stocked the kitchen with food, beverage, and equipment. There is cable tv as well as a strong wi-fi network, and secure parking. For our first 2 nights, we filled the unit to the allowable with our 2 grown daughters, our dog, as well as my wife and myself. Our last 3 nights were a bit roomier as our daughters departed. But even at capacity, the apartment never felt crowded. Being located on the third floor was manageable with a straight shot flight of interior stairs. Right below the apartment is a great walking beach that leads to the world famous Mavericks surfing beach. And nearby was a great collection of restaurants (Sam’s Chowder House, Half Moon Bay Brewery, MezzaLuna, Barbara’s Fish Trap, and the haunted Moss Beach Distillery), and a short drive away many more, in the town of Half Moon Bay and Miramar Beach. There is a wide variety of beaches as well. A Thanksgiving getaway was a unique experience for our family, one that we likely will repeat. It was made all the more enjoyable by our stay at the Exotic Tropical Mavericks Loft.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thanks for visiting, have a great Christmas & New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojitomar...
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Loveliest Spot”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I don't know whether to start with the location or the loft itself - both were perfect. The place was like brand new, immaculate, and beautifully and thoughtfully stocked with everything we could imagine wanting. There is a wonderful wall of windows with a beautiful view of the beach and the harbor - we watched pelicans, seals, herons, sailboats, paddle boarders, and kids and dogs playing on the beach every day. The front door is maybe 20 feet from a public beach access point, and it's an easy walk to great restaurants etc. one direction, and series of hiking paths with dozens of breathtaking views the other. We stayed for a long weekend and wished we were staying a week; we've already started trying to figure out how soon we can come back. In short, we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
There's always something interesting going on in the harbor or on the beach! Thanks so much for visiting, hope to see you all again soon! Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The loft has a great beach view and is fully stocked from kitchen to bathroom ; living area and bedroom. We like the fact that it is very clean and Michael ( the owner ) is very nice and helpful. Our dog Sophie is allowed to stay also! This is our second time to stay here and we plan to revisit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for visiting you three are *5* Star* Guests! I hope to see you back in the Loft real soon! Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinaguam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Human spiritual being”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed this place tremendously. It had a comfortable, peaceful and relaxing vibe. It was fully stocked with every amenity you could possibly need or think of. We would highly recommend this place to anyone needing the perfect getaway with privacy & easy access to the beach & other points of interest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Happy to hear you all had a nice stay, and found the area inspirational, life is generally pretty good at the beach! Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for being such great guests! Please come back when you can, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aliona S
los angeles, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great management , good property”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Great management , good property
The property had everything necessary for the stay
you must go thru some industrial;l zone to get to the property but in rest everything is good

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Princeton village is part of a working harbor, with marina, fishing boats, boat storage & repair lots, crab-trap storage, seafood packaging, etc, it's not a residential or "beach" town, but it's a great area with lot of activities & attractions you won't find in other areas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing