We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheerful staff and good seafood”

Princeton Seafood Co.
Ranked #54 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
163 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cheerful staff and good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

You can either order at the restaurant - and sit indoors or outdoors - or pick something at the window, pay for it right there and sit down with it at one of the outdoor tables (this choice offers limited menu). We opted for the regular restaurant service. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The menu is mainly seafood (freshly caught in the bay) and a few steak and burger dishes. The desserts looked amazing too but we couldn't eat anything more after we had the main dishes. We had soft shell crab sandwiches, grilled salmon sandwich and a burger. Everything was very good, though the soft shell crab was a bit overwhelmed by wasabi mayo and would have been better left on its own, since the flavor of the crab is so delicate. Overall, very pleasant lunch on the sunny terrace. From seeing what people ordered at the window, ceviche and chowder are the most popular and I would try that next time. Also, around the corner is their fishmonger where you can buy fresh seafood to take home (we took a couple of crabs home for dinner).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh fish! Great clam chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We love the fresh grilled fish and yummy clam chowder in the restaurant. They also sell raw fish and seafood in a small iced display on the side of the restaurant. Last year when we were here they had great sourdough bread (we are huge sourdough fans!!), but this year the bread was inedible and that is saying a lot for two bread lovers! The inside seating is cozy and cute, and the outdoor seating has that marvelous sea air as well as pocket views of the harbor. Very casual and relaxed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Lunch on a Sunny Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have been to Princeton Seafood in the past and found
the seafood dishes were tasty but for the prices paid
they should be so much better. On this recent visit it was a sunny
day and we decided to sit outside where there was a long wait
until a server arrived at our table breathlessly explaining that
she had been called in from her home as they were short handed.
Aside from the delays in service which we have experienced in
the past the fish and chips were fresh and tasty so if you are patient
this is one of several choices in the Princeton Harbor area to consider
south of the half Moon bay airport.

.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asiapaccap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, great food and a terrific atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The staff was very friendly, ready and willing to make sure you had what you needed and were happy. The food was delicious and the playlist (yes, the playlist) made the atmosphere just that much better (and its already great!).
My entire family loved their meals (kids too). We will absolutely be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysTimeToRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disorganised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had three persons trying to wait on us which caused a lot of confusion. The menu was mostly fried but was able to get the prawns grilled with rice which were great.

The only warning is the grilled chicken sandwich which my granddaughter ordered and only ate 1/4 of it because of the mayonnaise sauce. She got food poisoning the next day which made the trip south along the coast. It was ether the sauce or the chicken.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princeton Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Princeton Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing