We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casey's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casey's Cafe - CLOSED

Casey's Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casey's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Really miss Casey's restaurant, a simple cozy restaurant with good home-like cooking but also included good glutin menu items, along with salads, burgers, good unique sandwiches, glutin-fee soups. If I ever have an event to cater, I will definitely use Sample This!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robertag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Casey's Cafe is PERMANENTLY CLOSED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

It's tough to write a 100 character review about a restaurant that no longer exists. If you haven't been to Casey's, you missed a nice, casual dining experience with good food. BUT CASEY'S FOOD IS STILL AVAILABLE THROUGH HER CATERING BUSINESS, Sample This!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMKanthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great potato pancakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My favorite is the potato pancakes with salmon, although there is enough salmon for 2 people and you could splitbthis with a side of more pancakes :). It's a very casual place and the service is pretty iffy, but it's nice that you can relax over a coffee without anyone fussing too much. I didn't like the sandwich I tried on one occasion, so I always go for the latkes and salmon. A bit pricey for the atmosphere but yummy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachDog32842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the vibe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We stopped at Casey's for lunch on our way to a wedding. I had the Herbed Chicken Salad Sandwich. It was delicious! I think owner Casey was there and she greeted us as we walked in, chatted with us while we were there, and said goodbye to us on our way out.
Our waitress was pleasant. The vibe of the Cafe was really laid back and the staff and Casey seemed to get along like family.
There was a good and varied selection of lunch items and they were reasonably priced (especially for Half Moon Bay)!
We would definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caseyscafe, Owner at Casey's Cafe, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank-you for your review, the herbed chicken salad is one of my oldest recipes and I am glad you loved it. Please come again soon, we would love to see you again.

Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food-and has Gluten free menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

What a fabulous surprise to find Casey's Cafe. Being gluten-free is a challenge, and it is especially difficult to find excellent food. Well, Casey's Cafe solved that problem. My husband ordered from the regular menu, and I had the gluten-free pancakes. Both were fantastic. The owner was so gracious. She came out and shared some of the other gluten-free food items. The carrot soup was so delicious. To top it off, I beat my husband at a game of Checkers(they have the board on the tables). I would not miss it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirlinLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caseyscafe, Owner at Casey's Cafe, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank-you for your review. I am delighted you liked my gluten-free options, so many customers have made me aware of this issue and it has been fun coming up with new menu options. I just served a whole table, Gluten-free blueberry pancakes..they loved them.

Please come again soon, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casey's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing