We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little retreat for the bay area.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little retreat for the bay area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mill Rose Inn and had a fantastic time. It's really a sweet little B&B that really made an effort to give us a relaxing weekend. The owner Terry went out of his way for us and made us feel at home. Everything from a personalized welcome card, cheese and fruit plate, sherry, tea, to friendly local advice.

We stayed in the lowest price room, the Baroque Room. It was somewhat small, but had a large bathroom. It was well made, clean and there were hidden treats everywhere: A TV/DVD in the wardrobe, mini fridge full of sodas, water and wine, bowls of candy, a bottle of sherry and a nice array of soaps/lotions in the bathroom. Plenty of towels and a nice pair of robes/slippers for the Jacuzzi.

The place is pretty amazing, flooded with flowers in every corner. More roses than you could imagine and a dining room surrounded by orchids (which I originally thought were silk, but I was wrong, they were fresh).

The breakfast was fantastic, with fresh fruit & an indulgent concoction from the grill.

Anyhow, we were certainly pleased with our stay. Really the only criticism would be the shower head, which looked better than it functioned.

Well done Mill Rose Inn, we'll be back.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sashapave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
120
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

The Mill Rose Inn is the most luxurious Inn in which we have ever visited. The rooms are all decorated around the rose, with every room having its own old-fashioned decor and furnishing There are flowers in the outside of every window, and the gardens are lovely to stroll in or sit and admire the myriad of flowers. There are free plates of different cakes and cookies and they will serve you a sumptuous two-course breakfast in bed, that includes champaign, and bring you a cheese plate anytime you ask. The beds are wonderful feather beds, The baths are old-fashioned claw foot. There is a private whirl pool, with flowers and a fountain. The staff is ever willing to serve you in and in a relaxed and friendly way. This is our second time here, and we will come back.

  • Liked — Flowers
  • Disliked — A TV set in the room
Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank NathanielSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stayed at the Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay, CA in October. It was our first trip to Half Moon Bay, but will not be our last, thanks to our experience at the Mill Rose Inn.

It was like staying in a country summer house WITH STAFF! Our room was exquisite: king bed with amazingly soft sheets, gas long fireplace, beautifully decorated. The refrigerator was stocked with wine, beer, soft drinks, and ice, all complimentary.

Every morning, our innkeeper, Terry, brought a gourmet breakfast to our room. Sitting at our private dining table, with the fireplace glowing, and looking out the windows at all the beautiful flowers that surround the place, we couldn't imagine feeling more content and rested.

Eve always had cakes and cookies, along with coffee and tea, waiting in the dining room for us.

There is a hot tub, located in an enclosed gazebo, that one reserves. Just sign up for your hour and it is all yours.

The location is terrific. Main Street is two short blocks away to the east and the Pacific Ocean is a 5 minute walk to the west. It was very quiet, as though we were the only people there. I will qualify that by saying that we were there in the middle of the week when no wedding parties were staying there. That might make it a bit noisier, so you might ask when you make a reservation.

Half Moon Bay is a small town located right on Highway 1, very easy to get to from San Francisco or San Jose. There are bird preserves, surfing beaches, walking trails and a number of good restaurants. Enjoy!

  • Liked — comfort of room
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

I booked a weekend at this Inn through Hotels.com for my husband and I. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon at check-in time. The owners looked perplexed and even after looking at my on-line confirmation from Hotels.com put their hands in the air and said, "Sorry -- we are unaware of this reservation -- sort it out with Hotels.com! They acted as though Hotels.com had been grossly negligent in allowing us the booking. Up to this point, I would still have given them the benefit of the doubt, but they made little effort to rectify our situation, help us out or try to do SOMETHING! As we live in the Bay Area, we decided to swallow our disappointment and go home. But as we were leaving, there arrived another stunned couple who had booked on Expedia and had a paid reservation sheet in hand. Alas, no room at the inn for them either, and they were from out of town in Half Moon Bay for a wedding. Coincidence?
In future, I would confirm an on-line booking with a phone call.
Incidentally, Hotels.com refunded me the money and sent me $100 voucher for another stay. And we never heard from the Inn people again.......

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Santraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2007
Trip Advisor Reply
We would like to respond to the letter on Trip Advisor.com regarding the Hotels.com and Expedia reservation made by theses guests.
Because we are usually full on the weekends we never post any weekend availability with Hotels.com or Expedia, to our extreme shock and disbelief, both offered rooms they knew they were not authorized to offer and interestingly enough they failed to send us any confirmation of these unauthorized reservations which would have easily solved the problem and saved us all a lot of grief. When we contacted Expedia they were not interested in our situation at all.
The most unfortunate part of this situation is that we would love to have these guests come and stay with us; regrettably in our confusion we did not get their contact information.
We are extremely sorry and disappointed that we could not honor the reservations made by these guests nor could we send them to another Inn because the whole town was booked on that busy weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin county, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

This B and B is a splurge but you will get an exceptional experience in return-- the innkeepers have thought of everything--and I mean everything... stocked refrigerator, lovely toiletries from Gilchrist and Soames, sherry/brandy in the room (we don't drink hard liquor so it just sat pretty in the room), gas fireplace, luxury linens--very comfortable bed too--a sumptuous but simple breakfast, a dessert bar open until midnight, complimentary movies (a vast selection of DVDs) and a relatively small but beautiful English style, manicured garden. Very impressive and wonderful.

Parking alongside the inn is a cinch.

The inn is not located close enough to the coast to have a view, but you will not need to see the ocean to feel that this place is special. It is very close to the quaint litle downtown of Half Moon Bay, which is on Main street, composed of a few blocks of stores and which is worth about an hour or two of shopping, browsing, and walking.

The only relatively negative is that your reservation at the Mill Rose Inn is quite irreversible, even if you cancel way ahead of time (they'll give you credit only toward a future date) , and you will need to sign your life away when you show up here to accept a room --read the fine print when you check in. Upon check in, you will need to prepay for your lodging (I can understand that ) AND obligatorily sign for all future damages incurred should anything happen to anything at the inn during your stay, even accidentally and in good faith--they blankly have you sign for an unknown amount of money that your signature will give them the right to decide upon, without giving you any future warning, and you will be responsible for all attorney's/legal fees, blankly stated (this part sure seemed harsh, unwelcoming, and unreasonable to me!). Thank God nothing accidentally spilled or broke in our room--I didn't read the fine print before I signed and only read it after the fact.

The innkeepers are obviously meticulous people who have gone the extra mile... but there seemed to be a little palpable stress on their part that went along with it during our stay (perhaps because of all the details?) , and this cut a bit into our sense of relaxation and privacy. We've stayed at numerous B and B's and this place probably had the most logistically anxious innkeepers --not terribly blatant but it was noticeable to us--maybe it was just a bad couple of days...

Otherwise it was lovely.
Thumbs up! It's a great B and B.

  • Liked — luxury ... amazing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BayArean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, al
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

What a great Bed and Breakfast... This is a place for you if you love Gardens, quiet and a wonderful relaxing experience.

Terry and Eve the owners provde you everything you will need...plus you get an AWESOME breakfast that u can have delivered to your room , along with the paper.. Room came with Sherry, Brandy...and access to a dessert bar that was scrumpshious...

Beds were feather i believe and very comfy.... I didn't know anyone else was hardly in the house...very quiet..

Enjoyed it very much

  • Liked — Quiet Relaxed setting, great breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alabama_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

My husband and I spent two glorious nights in this magical hotel. The room was very sumptious and oh so cosy. The Inn's gardens are a joy to walk into and the breakfasts quite delicious. We liked the hot tub and huge fluffy bed ... everything to help the traveller to relax, feel pampered and never want to leave.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to get away and forget it all. We wished we had been married here. We know we will be back.
Shanti and Taz Cale, Pacifica

  • Liked — Very private rooms and location
  • Disliked — We liked it all
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Property: Mill Rose Inn
Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing