We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Half Moon Bay”
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had the least expensive suite at the Mill Rose Inn which is in the main house so you do hear people arriving to check in which wasn't really a problem. It was quite nice albeit jam packed with furniture. The queen size bed was comfy, the amenities plentiful and complimentary, the private (by reservation) hot tub relaxing, the breakfasts delicious and satisfying, easy street parking, and an easy walk to the village of Half Moon Bay shops and restaurants make this a great place to stay. The gardens are also spectacular. The place is VERY over the top in terms of the decor, but that is to be expected with the Inn's theme. The owners have large poodles on the premises which may be a concern to dog haters.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

We appreciate your kind review, TVRDH! Glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the hot tub. We pride ourselves on keeping our garden a welcoming space, so we're always happy when guests enjoy it as much as we do. Next time you're back at Half Moon Bay, we'd love to host you again!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This B&B is a place that thinks about what guests want and then provides even more! The look may be Victorian, with its elegant antique furnishings, beautifully decorated rooms and beckoning feather beds but it is the small touches that make it exceptional. Innkeepers Terry and Eve go out of their way to graciously welcome you. From the assortment of beverages in the well-stocked mini-refrigerators in each room to the collection of DVDs that are available to the small ceramic dish to catch any dripping soap in the bathroom, thought has gone into every detail. The grounds are lush and well-tended and include an outdoor gazebo as well as another gazebo that, upon opening, reveals a jacuzzi to relax in after a day of sight-seeing or going about business. In need of refreshment? Your hosts will make reservations for you at local restaurants. For breakfast, though, look no further than the dining room where a beautifully prepared and presented meal will be served to you. Up for some pampering? This is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have different decor and all have access to the dining room, lounge, and outdoor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCoastCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thanks for singing our praises, judeym! We're glad you appreciate our efforts to make you feel at home. It's always such a treat to hear that our guests enjoyed the small details—it makes us love what we do! Sounds like you had the chance to explore our garden as well. Did you make good use of the jacuzzi? We look forward to your next visit to Half Moon Bay—can't wait to have you again!

Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a amazing and lovely place!!! The inn owners offer every detail that we've enjoyed at other B&B's all in the charming Mill Rose Inn!! Lovely gardens, lovely rooms, private lush spa gazebo, delicious afternoon cookies and cakes on the sideboard, cheese and fruit plates at your request, sherry and brandy in the room, all of this and a fabulous breakfast besides. It was a wonderful experience and one that we'll surely repeat!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burgundy Rose room but every room at Mill Rose Inn is delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PECBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The rooms here are AMAZING! Everything was super posh. The room I was in had a fireplace at the foot of the bed which we enjoyed all night. The bed was one of the best I've slept in. The grounds are breathtaking and the food is great. I'd definitely recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Mill Rose Inn was a fabulous new year treat. The property had a rustic and romantic charm. The room was ornately furnished and fit for aristocracy from the baroque era. The service was excellent and the management perfected everything to the last detail. The Mill Rose Inn is the nicest inn I have stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patirck Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I fell across this beautiful Inn by chance whilst travelling around California. We stayed at many hotels/B&B's and quite honestly were bowled over by the Mill Rose. We are from the UK and I can honestly say that this Inn was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed in and we've travelled all around the world. The owners were more than welcoming and helped us plan our days giving us print out maps etc. they honestly couldn't do enough for you. The food was lovely, breakfast was different each day, champagne was on offer too. Complimentary tea/coffee and cakes were served in the dining area as well as cheese and biscuits. Lovely little touches like sweets, brandy & port The rooms were amazing, we stayed in 2 different rooms (only because we had literally called in to see if there were any rooms available and Eve was so accommodating we decided to stay another night) I won't reiterate what other people have said other than to say that the comment made regarding a wedding celebration re:lighting was really mean.

The decor is elegant, the furniture is tasteful and the attention to detail is wonderful. The gardens/jacuzzi were very British-like and I don't think I've seen anything quite like it, it is all lit up in the evening with thousands of fairy lights. A truly wonderful experience and we wished we lived near to be able to stay again. We have wonderful memories of the 2 nights we stayed there and will never forget the Mill Rose Inn. Thank you again Eve and Terry.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated, we stayed in the Botticelli and another one but can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndatibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in the Burgandy Rose room; very little street sounds and an easterly and northerly view. The room had a small refrigerator, coffee-maker, a fireplace, sherry and brandy, plenty of bottled water are there as well as wi-fi; the innkeeper has an extensive collection of dvds if you want a movie, local guidebooks and a daily SF Chronicle. We were offered the option of breakfast in our room and a choice of times for it; since we're not morning-people that was appreciated. We were there for 2 nights and the breakfast menu was different both days; the food was tasty and plentiful. They have a large hot tub in the courtyard that is set up to give you lots of privacy with lots of garden ambience; you sign up for a time to have it for your exclusive use in one hour increments; great idea! I liked their gardens, the rambling, informal syle was relaxing.They will loan you a set up for a picnic basket, too!

Room Tip: I'd choose a room overlooking the gardens; I think one upstairs room might have a window out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvonSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
950 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
480 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £272 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing