We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasy weekend”
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasy weekend”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I needed to get away from several stressful weeks of work, and we chose to stay at the Mill Rose Inn. Although Half Moon Bay is a 45 minute ride from our house, we felt as if we had entered a world of make-believe when we arrived at the inn. Flowers, fountains and bushes decorate the building's grounds. The gardens, both in front and in back, are tranquil sanctuaries for sitting with cups of complimentary coffee or tea and a pastry, or a glass of brandy or sherry (gratis) and a fruit and cheese plate provided by Terry and Eve, the owners. A gazebo in the back garden hides the private hot tub, and at night, tiny white lights ornament the garden and the house, turning it all into a fantasy.

The fantasy continues inside the house, where you feel as if you've entered the Victorian era. The walls (and some ceilings) are covered with William Morris wallpaper, the gorgeous furniture and accessories come from other places, and the amenities at the Mill Rose Inn supersede those of any bed and breakfast or inn we've ever been to: cakes, cookies, coffee and teas are available in the stunning dining room; refrigerators in the rooms are stocked with a carafe of wine, fruit, soft drinks, beer, and seltzer (all complimentary), and on the table in the bedroom are 2 carafes, one with sherry, the other with brandy; the bed is comfortable, and the linens are lovely; the working fireplace in the bedroom creates just the right kind of coziness; and you can take DVDs that are in the dining room and watch them in the bedroom.

The breakfast was phenomenal. We were expecting something gooey and overly sweet, but were pleasantly surprised with a delicious fresh fruit salad with perfectly ripe melon, blueberries, strawberries, banana and kiwi slices, a banana-orange frappe, a glass of champagne, and something that tastes like a cross between a cheese frittata and a blintz served with a croissant.

Terry and Eve made us feel so welcome, that we're already thinking when we can go back for another mini-vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenLeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Karen—It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review here. We're glad we could make you feel welcome and at home at our inn. We're proud of our beautiful garden, and I'm happy to hear that you made good use of it during your stay. I hope you're now much more refreshed and relaxed! We're grateful for your support, and hope to see you and your husband again on your next getaway. Our gardens, gazebo, and hot tub will be waiting!

Warm regards,
Terry & Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
123
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It only took me ten years to get around to booking a stay at the Mill Rose Inn. I had long heard about it, but never got around to booking a stay. The innkeeper, Terry was a contract landscaper, and his labor of love shows throughout the property. Beautiful flowers and healthy plants were everywhere, including in the room. There were fresh baked cookies and delicious homemade cakes in the dining room, not to mention the amenities in the room iwhich included two apples and a a well stocked mini frig with complimentary beverages. We used the jacuzzi and selected a great movie DVD to watch in our room. The breakfast was delicious. All in all, a lovely property for an intimate wedding or a weekend getaway. Thank you Eve & Terry!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Welcome again, Nancy! (It's never too late to start enjoying our inn.) Thank you so much for spreading the word about us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's such a pleasure hearing that we did a good job making your visit comfortable and memorable. From the amenities to the garden—our main priority is to make sure our guests have a good time! Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Terry & Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This started as a gift from my wife - a weekend getaway - only it took me a couple of years to collect. I glad we stuck with the choice! We grew up in the Bay Area but had never spent time in HMB. The Mill Rose Inn made the experience memorable. Terry was an awesome host, from the intro to the room, to the cheese and fruit plate, the breakfast service and concierge service. After our intro to the room I immediately took advantage of the sherry and brandy - a first for me in a B&B or hotel! The decor of the room was elegant, the condition clean and everything worked, including the Wi-Fi. Location: perfect for us - a short walk to downtown, dinner the first night at a Thai restaurant and the second night at Pasta Moon - excellent). Terry suggest we hike the Coastal Trail past the Ritz Carlton - just what we needed. The Inn's grounds were awesome and we enjoyed the resident poodles. Breakfast was unique and tasty. We highly recommend this place! Oh, and my wife thought the bed was comfy:-)

Room Tip: We had one of the less expensive rooms - the Burgundy Room. No hot tub, but it had two adjacent win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
It's a pleasure hearing from you! Thank you so much for saying such great things about us. We care a great deal about our guests' comfort, and we were happy to make sure your stay was a memorable one. Sounds like you had a pretty active time discovering Half Mood Bay, from the downtown exploration to hiking the Coastal Trail! It's an amazing walk, isn't it? Capping those activities off with a meal at Pasta Moon sounds like the perfect weekend. It was great to have you and your wife. You are welcomed at Mill Rose Inn again anytime—our poodles miss you both already!

Sincerely,
Terry, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Spent a weekend in Half Moon Bay on a whim, and WOW! the Rose Mill Inn was beautiful. The gardens are amazing, it's easy to see why many weddings have been held there. Terry and Eve make you feel right at home: fresh baked cookies, a mini fridge in your room stocked with complimentary beverages, and a delicious breakfast that can be enjoyed in your room or in the dining room. The hot tub is completely private, with a lovely garden feel. Robes and sandals are in your room for your convenience.

The bathroom was spacious, with a claw foot bath/shower combo. The gas fireplace was a nice addition to the room. We had a hard time trying to decide whether to leave the room or stay in each day!

The Inn is about a block off Main Street, so no traffic noise, and just a brief walk to restaurants, shops and galleries.

Terry had some great recommendations for hikes in the area -- definitely looking forward to going back to try them out, and stay at the Rose Mill Inn again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We're glad we could show you a good time, Theresa! A relaxing time and happy memories are what we strive to provide, and it was our pleasure making sure your visit was nothing less than perfect. Thanks for your support. Next time you have another whim to visit Half Moon Bay, we'd love to have you again! (And the garden will be waiting, beautiful as ever.)

Warm regards,
Terry & Eve, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

We spent one night of our honeymoon in Half Moon Bay and WOW we were glad we did! The innkeepers let us check in early and we immediately took a nap to recover from traveling down the coast. Service was fantastic...every detail was considered, from the complimentary drinks in the room to the chocolate chip cookies, the evening fruit and cheese tray, books of DVDs to choose from, private use of the hot tub, breakfast brought to your room if you prefer, and on and on. We reserved the smallest room on the property to cut costs, but it was a lovely space. The only slight problem was trying to figure out where to put the luggage. One of the bags ended up in the bathroom, which was very large. We had a private door leading to the back patio and hot tub, which was lit up and landscaped beautifully. We would love to return to Half Moon Bay in the future, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
It’s very gratifying to offer our guests such relaxing getaways, and we’re so glad we could do the same for you! Of course, it’s easy to unwind with our beautiful views and luxurious hot tub. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises, Jennifer. We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,
Terry Baldwin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Although we live only a few miles away, driving from sunny Belmont to foggy HMB, we escape to a whole different world and climate. Our stay at the Mill Rose Inn B&B was relaxing, quiet and thoroughly enjoyable. All amenities included...decanters of sherry and brandy on the antique desk, beer, wine and water in the frig, wi-fi, cookies, cake,cheese and coffee available in the dining room all day long. Beautiful hot tub surrounded by plants and flowers in a gazebo setting. Amazingly delicious breakfasts! Terry, the host, very friendly. Abundant flowers in the garden give the feeling you are in the English countryside when Main street is only 2 blocks away for strolling. We brought our bikes to pedal along the coast trail which leads to Princeton-by-the-Sea, home of Maverick's surfing mecca, and yummy seafood at Barbara's Fishtrap.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalieBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Mill Rose is beautiful. I have never seen so many flowers.
The hosts are friendly and the food was 100% Gourmet.
All the amenities included.
Quiet but not dull.
Excellent location off Main Street.

Room Tip: Take a Suite, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channing D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your wonderfully sweet review, Channing! We strive for every guest to feel welcomed, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You’ll be happy to know that the flowers are still blooming and beautiful since your stay. Next time you need a quiet weekend away, we hope you choose to see us again — we’d love to see you!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Property: Mill Rose Inn
Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing