We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill Rose Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,033
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$956
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
174
13
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
13
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate jacuzzihot tubbeautiful flowerscheese platebed and breakfastwhite winemain streetburgundy roomdelicious cookiesfrittatanice dining roomfridge was stockedbanana smoothieextras includingtwo blocksprivate entrancetotal privacy
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently spent a delightful night at the Mill Rose Inn. We felt like we were in an inn in the English countryside. The heavenly scent of roses greeted us as we approached the main entrance. The inn itself was equally heavenly, from the beautiful stained glass windows to the elegant antique furnishings and decor. We were greeted by the owners and their 2 delightful standard poodles. We are dog lovers so we enjoyed the friendly presence of the dogs. For those who don't like dogs, they were quiet and unobtrusive. The service was excellent and the breakfast delicious as well as the baked goods available when we returned from exploring downtown Half Moon Bay late in the afternoon. We will definitely return to the Mill Rose Inn for our next visit to the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelernanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Being known for our marvelous gardens, we choose the best roses we find to brighten them. We take a lot of time making sure or Inn looks its finest and it pleases us that you observed our hard work. It would be our pleasure to have you back and have you savor our beloved baked goods. Thank you for your kind words, we are sure our poodles enjoyed your company as well. See you soon!
Warmly,
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our first trip to Half Moon Bay, and it did not disappoint at all. There was a long Main street with plenty of shops and good restaurants. When we pulled up to the Inn, we were facing a big English style garden and gazebo. Eve apparently spends most of her time working in her beautiful gardens. I think Terry told us while he was showing us around that he was a landscape architect in his other life who hates to garden. Terry seems like he may be a little tired of running an inn; we didn't feel very welcome. He was going through the motions, but it wasn't important to our stay. Our room was big and very nice. It overlooked two incredible gardens on either side, and at night there were twinkle lights all over the trees and outlining the building that housed the hot tub. The room was full of amenities such as water, flavored sparkling water, white wine and coffee. In the lobby, there were plenty of cakes and cookies as well as more coffee. Terry suggested a favorite restaurant of the locals that was easily within walking distance. Breakfast in the morning was either at 8:00 or 9:00, and Terry carried trays of breakfast up the stairs to those who wanted breakfast in their rooms. We had huge portions of fruits and a banana orange smoothie. The main course was a cheese pastry and bacon. Terry also brought sparkling wine to those of is who wanted it and was great providing directions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for such nice words. You were great guests and we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for a little overnight get away and loved it. There is a beautiful, inviting garden in the front which makes it feel very private, even though a short two block walk from the Inn is main street with lots of shops and great places to eat. The rooms are lovely with everything you can possibly think of. And the breakfast -- fantastic. We loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed such a relaxing and private stay at our inn. We take great care of our gardens so guests like you can enjoy them. The breakfasts we prepare are made with quality ingredients for all of our guests to savor. Our location makes it ideal for guests to visit the several shops and restaurants at Main St. We hope you get some time soon to come back and appreciate everything Half Moon Bay has to offer.
Warmly,
Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Eve and Terry make you feel that their home is your home. Sweet treats are always available. The room was outstanding in size and decor. The breakfast was well chosen and presented with a flair. The city is walkable and close to state parks including viewing thousand of elephant seals. We are very picky, and the Mill Rose inn is at the top of our B and B list.

Room Tip: The main street of Half Moon Bay are wall to wall restaurants.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmmwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Wow! Thank you for your lovely review of our inn. We're honored to be on the top of your B&B list! We hope you can come back and experience our beautiful gardens.
Warmly
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nice property with bizarre wall paper. Convenient location however the proximity to downtown made it noisy. Downtown bands could be heard in the room on Sat. night. Pretty annoying. The worst part was the owner who is clearly "burnt out". I felt welcomed like burnt toast. He went through the motions, welcoming and orienting us like an automaton. You felt like an idiot if you had a question. "Just dial 50 if you have problems". I presume one stays in a B&B for the personal touch, which was lacking. The place ain't cheap either. Barking dogs also an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews