We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to say in Half Moon Bay”
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and while our room was very small, overall it was good. Only 6 rooms, , outside areas beautiful with roses and many other types of flowers. Breakfast each day was great. Nice hot tub area available for guests. Just away from downtown area, very easy walk. Near by beaches are beautiful, lots of hiking trails and we did make a day trip to Filoli, a beautiful home about 20 min away, recommended by Terry the inn keeper, and it was a great suggestion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We made last minute reservations as we couldn't get in to our usual B&B and were extremely happy. They thought of everything and I mean everything! We will definitely be going back and recommending to our friends.
The Inn actually DOES look like the pictures, unlike other websites that like to embellish, this one is the real thing, what you see is what you get. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just got back from one night at the Millrose Inn in Half Moon Bay. It's hard to know where to start, so how about first impressions first: The place is 2 blocks off the main drag of Main Street in a quiet area. It's surrounded by beautiful gardens. Mostly there are roses but many other flowers were present as well. Inside, the decoration was beautiful as well. It looked like some sort of old castle but without the cold and drafty conditons.

We were greeted by the owner who showed us our room, which was 'cozy.' It was big enough for a double bed but no more than that. The bathroom was, however, quite large. OUr room lacked a bathtub but had direct access to the hot tub gazebo behind the main building.

Each room is stocked with complimentary white wine, beer, brandy and candies.

In the evening there's wine, brandy, cookies and some amazing deserts available. Breakfast was severed with champaign and included fresh fruit, and a very satisfing entree.

There there were the dogs. I read in previous reviews mixed reactions to the dogs. Somebody complained about noise. In our time at the Millrose Inn they never barked or made any other sound. Both were restrained in their behavior. They had clearly been taught to only approcah guests who encouraged them as we did. They quietly accepted our affection and competed for our attention but never made a fuss. They didn't beg. All in all, excellent pets. For what it's worth, they were not allowed in the dining room during breakfast. We missed them.

This is one of the nicest placed I've ever stayed and I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevej2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We cannot tell you how much we appreciate your review! Comparing our Inn to a castle lets us know we are keeping our Inn as clean and elegant as we intended. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfasts we prepare every morning for our delighted guests. Thank you for enjoying the company of our dogs and we hope to see you soon!
Warmly,
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently spent a delightful night at the Mill Rose Inn. We felt like we were in an inn in the English countryside. The heavenly scent of roses greeted us as we approached the main entrance. The inn itself was equally heavenly, from the beautiful stained glass windows to the elegant antique furnishings and decor. We were greeted by the owners and their 2 delightful standard poodles. We are dog lovers so we enjoyed the friendly presence of the dogs. For those who don't like dogs, they were quiet and unobtrusive. The service was excellent and the breakfast delicious as well as the baked goods available when we returned from exploring downtown Half Moon Bay late in the afternoon. We will definitely return to the Mill Rose Inn for our next visit to the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelernanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Being known for our marvelous gardens, we choose the best roses we find to brighten them. We take a lot of time making sure or Inn looks its finest and it pleases us that you observed our hard work. It would be our pleasure to have you back and have you savor our beloved baked goods. Thank you for your kind words, we are sure our poodles enjoyed your company as well. See you soon!
Warmly,
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our first trip to Half Moon Bay, and it did not disappoint at all. There was a long Main street with plenty of shops and good restaurants. When we pulled up to the Inn, we were facing a big English style garden and gazebo. Eve apparently spends most of her time working in her beautiful gardens. I think Terry told us while he was showing us around that he was a landscape architect in his other life who hates to garden. Terry seems like he may be a little tired of running an inn; we didn't feel very welcome. He was going through the motions, but it wasn't important to our stay. Our room was big and very nice. It overlooked two incredible gardens on either side, and at night there were twinkle lights all over the trees and outlining the building that housed the hot tub. The room was full of amenities such as water, flavored sparkling water, white wine and coffee. In the lobby, there were plenty of cakes and cookies as well as more coffee. Terry suggested a favorite restaurant of the locals that was easily within walking distance. Breakfast in the morning was either at 8:00 or 9:00, and Terry carried trays of breakfast up the stairs to those who wanted breakfast in their rooms. We had huge portions of fruits and a banana orange smoothie. The main course was a cheese pastry and bacon. Terry also brought sparkling wine to those of is who wanted it and was great providing directions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for such nice words. You were great guests and we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for a little overnight get away and loved it. There is a beautiful, inviting garden in the front which makes it feel very private, even though a short two block walk from the Inn is main street with lots of shops and great places to eat. The rooms are lovely with everything you can possibly think of. And the breakfast -- fantastic. We loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed such a relaxing and private stay at our inn. We take great care of our gardens so guests like you can enjoy them. The breakfasts we prepare are made with quality ingredients for all of our guests to savor. Our location makes it ideal for guests to visit the several shops and restaurants at Main St. We hope you get some time soon to come back and appreciate everything Half Moon Bay has to offer.
Warmly,
Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Eve and Terry make you feel that their home is your home. Sweet treats are always available. The room was outstanding in size and decor. The breakfast was well chosen and presented with a flair. The city is walkable and close to state parks including viewing thousand of elephant seals. We are very picky, and the Mill Rose inn is at the top of our B and B list.

Room Tip: The main street of Half Moon Bay are wall to wall restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmmwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Wow! Thank you for your lovely review of our inn. We're honored to be on the top of your B&B list! We hope you can come back and experience our beautiful gardens.
Warmly
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
951 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
481 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £272 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing