We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes a really good value”
Review of Zaballa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zaballa House
Ranked #10 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sometimes a really good value”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've stayed at Zaballa house on and off, for many years, from the time when it was still surrounded by a garden. Not very much changed inside since then.

The original house has smaller "cozier" rooms. Each one is different and most of them (possibly all) seem to have a gas fireplace which can be used to warm the room. Most bathrooms seem to be original to the house, the bathtubs are free standing and some have jets. The free-standing tubs do not have shower curtains.

The newer rooms are on the second floor of an adjacent bulding, which was built over what used to be the garden. These rooms are much larger, more modern and a little more impersonal than the rooms in the old house. Most of these also seem to have fireplaces.

Zaballa house is on the Main Street in Half Moon Bay and occasionally (surprisingly rarely, actually) noise can be an issue.

The price includes a warm breakfast. Depending on the time of the year and the day of the week, the price can be a good value. Midweek, during the off season, you can usually find a room without a reservation for $99, as of now. Other times, the value is not so great. I would compare the prices here with the prices at Half Moon Bay Inn (see my other review).

Room Tip: If you can go for the rooms that do not face Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    26
    23
    22
See reviews for
16
81
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The price was good for the area. The room was large with a gas fire place. The bathroom was large with a big walk in shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was included and was very good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyberrey560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Zaballa House is located on Main Street in Half Moon Bay. You can easily walk to restaurants, shops, cafes, and the beach. It also offers a great breakfast spread (i.e. quiche, pastries, lots of fruits etc.) It has friendly staff and wine and cheese is offered from 5 - 7 p.m. That said here are some issues I had with the property. If you stay in the main house be aware they do not have tvs. The noise from the staff preparing breakfast can be disturbing if you are a light sleeper. We stayed away from the main house and the room came with a tv but the channels are limited. My room did not have curtains but it had "old" mini blinds that did not close all the way. You could just about read without turning on the light at midnight. That is how much light comes in the room. I like my room to be dark. My husband can handle a lighter room but he found the room too light. The room is warm so you will need to open your window at night. The ceiling fan works but it blows right over your head. The mattress was very very hard and uncomfortable. Someone asked for a soda machine and the staff pointed him across the street. So bring a cooler; pick up ice and your drink/snacks if you are the kind of person who likes a glass of something other than the wine provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Checked into this hotel with my mom and my dog. Did not have high expectations as I booked a Petite Queen room allowing dogs. I expected small, probably smelly room but that's the wa it goes if when you're traveling wit our dog!The room was very clean, huge with vaulted ceilings, fireplace and jacuzzi tub and best of all NO dog smell. Certainly not fancy, but a wonderful room. Great location, across the street from 2 njce Italian restaurants. Wonderful breakfast frittata,super sweet berries and homemade coconut granola at included breakfast. All this for under $100. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiaannfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I absolutely LOVE this place--- the innkeeper, Shiela is excellent. Great rooms, fabulous spread of breakfast, very hospitable and cozy place. We love coming here and highly recommend this place to everyone (and we travel a lot so we have a good idea of other B&B places).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shumanrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We just love the Zaballa House, I just happened to book a room there with my husband and dog for a last minute get away and have been going back ever since. The people are friendly, the room's is always clean and the location is great! Located in historic downtown Halfmoon Bay,you are in walking distance from all the great shop's, resturants, and Northern California's beautiful coast line.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Great location. Carpet in room was frayed and worn out. No charm - room and bathroom was like you'd expect at a cheap hotel. Only one small shampoo and one soap in the bathroom; one towel each. The beds weren't comfortable, walls and door transoms were beat up. The grumpy clerk who checked us in gave us no info on breakfast or times until wen asked ( at a bed and breakfast). Not only was it noisy (thin walls and music coming from a music store and bar across the street), plus - at 630 in the morning someone from the staff was outside hosing down the floors immediately outside our room and pushing carts p and down the hallway. Spend your money somewhere else, this place is a bomb (not to be confused with the bomb)....

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
256 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
928 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaballa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaballa House

Property: Zaballa House
Address: 324 Main St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1724
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaballa House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Zaballa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaballa House Hotel Half Moon Bay
Zaballa Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing