We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to Go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My kids and I go to Half Moon Bay every year, several times a year. We know what we love there, and we LOVE the Half Moon Bay Lodge! The property is beautiful and well maintained and the staff has always been very warm and helpful. We love everything about this place, from the wonderful pool and jacuzzi, to the delicious free breakfast offered every morning, to the grassy area outside our patio that makes it convenient when bringing a service dog. I have tried two other hotels in Half Moon Bay and they were such a disappointment. The last time we stayed my car broke down 10 miles away from the hotel. The staff was able to recommend a nearby garage to get my car fixed, and had my room ready so I could drop my luggage off in the room en route to the garage. My children are 11 and 15 and would rather come to the Half Moon Bay Lodge any day over Disneyland! We LOVE this place and will continue to come back every single chance we get!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missygarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Perhaps my expectations were too high. We typically stay at Hampton Inns or Courtyard by Marriotts on family vacations. After reading the good review on Tripadvisor we decided to give Best Western in Half Moon Bay a shot. After killing three insects in the room during our first 10 minutes, it was reasonably clean. The décor was a little dated, especially the 1970’s style sliding patio door. The heat stopped working the first night, but the maintenance guy was there in five minutes and had in going in just minutes. When the person in the room next to ours decided to take a shower at 1:00 am, it sounded like a steam engine started up next door it was so loud. The breakfast was OK and the staff cordial. The rooms open to an exterior walkway which we did not expect. Owner/management does make attempts to decorate the place inside & out, but I just couldn’t get past the out-of-date feel. If you have low expectations or just want an OK place to stay for a night or two, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carldw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We realy liked the looked of the out side good locotion
very quite ,but we were on vacation an we wanted to use the hot tub
six in the morning ,we walked across the lawn which was a ways from any rooms
our key would not open the gate ,my husband went down the next morning to get
coffee ,he was meet with ,a clerk demanding his I-D in front of guests not cool
at all ,mind you breakfast was included ,I come down to explain that it wasnt cool what happened to my husband ,they we not good about it at all ,asked me to ,take my dog out ,as dogs were not allowed in reception area,I stood my ground ,I said I will be getting a cup of coffee before I leave with my dog on my hip not on the floort thats what I did an left. we did not have a good experiense at all,It looks good ,but the staff are not cool yes ,they could have gone around it another way ,I worked for the Marriott hotel for 15 years an this would never have happened on my shift or any other shift .We pay for breakfast,we pay to have our pet with us ,and we got brirated for both whats up with this picture.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perks500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonBayLodge_GM, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Although I am disappointed that you felt the service did not meet your expectations, I would like to reassure you that we will not be satisfied until you are fully satisfied.

In fact, I guarantee every guest's full satisfaction. If we in any way fail to meet your expectations, please let us know. We will make it right.

Sincerely,

Kurt Picillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were so happy with this hotel! So comfortable and relaxing! Service was awesome too! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casalupe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed two nights for work. Meeting room was nice. Opening out to the swimming pool and yard. Hotel room was okay. Slept well. Food was pretty bad. No trails and not beachfront. I'd spend a bit more at the Beach House.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby&Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Our room, with two queen-sized beds, was perfectly clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were beautifully landscaped, with flowers everywhere. Our nightly rate included wireless internet and a standard continental breakfast, making it an excellent value for money. Loved the pool and hot tub. The management even accomodated our request for late check-out. Plan to stay here again on my next trip through San Francisco.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hotel is set right on the golf course with most rooms having a view of the greens. The property is landscaped beautifully with lots of flowers and vines growing up the walls. There are even live plants in the room and on the balcony. Our balcony was quite large with 2 chairs and a nice table. The rooms were quite large with nice furnishings. The bathroom shower was a little weird because the bathtub was to small for the space. Also the toilet was very short, not really convenient for tall people but great for kids. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but other people seemed to enjoy it. The breakfast was a normal continental breakfast and ample.
The hotel is not waking distance to anything. Downtown Half Moon Bay is about a mile or so away and there aren't any other restaurant besides Joe's withing walking distance. The only downside that we experienced was the smell of fumes from cars that are parked in front of the rooms. The rooms are outside entrances only. There was a car show in town so there were a lot of the collector car people staying at the hotel and in the morning they had to warm up their cars before they left for the show.
When we checked in our room was not ready so we waited a short time but they have binders filled with things to do in Half Moon Bay. So while we waited we planned a few things to do.
I would stay there again. It is a very peaceful place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank amadortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £131 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing