We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a great place to stay!!! We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“It was a great place to stay!!! We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. We had everything we needed. We enjoyed eating lunch on the patio enjoying the beautiful grounds. As we were eating they began mowing the lawn and trimming the hedges. One of the workers came over and apologized for the noise. We thought that was very kind of him even though it was not necessary. The landscaping was beautiful. We enjoyed eating our breakfast sitting around the outdoor fireplace. We also had a variety of breakfast choices. There was something for everyone. The facilities inside and out were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacramento60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    220
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
159
228
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My kids and I go to Half Moon Bay every year, several times a year. We know what we love there, and we LOVE the Half Moon Bay Lodge! The property is beautiful and well maintained and the staff has always been very warm and helpful. We love everything about this place, from the wonderful pool and jacuzzi, to the delicious free breakfast offered every morning, to the grassy area outside our patio that makes it convenient when bringing a service dog. I have tried two other hotels in Half Moon Bay and they were such a disappointment. The last time we stayed my car broke down 10 miles away from the hotel. The staff was able to recommend a nearby garage to get my car fixed, and had my room ready so I could drop my luggage off in the room en route to the garage. My children are 11 and 15 and would rather come to the Half Moon Bay Lodge any day over Disneyland! We LOVE this place and will continue to come back every single chance we get!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missygarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Perhaps my expectations were too high. We typically stay at Hampton Inns or Courtyard by Marriotts on family vacations. After reading the good review on Tripadvisor we decided to give Best Western in Half Moon Bay a shot. After killing three insects in the room during our first 10 minutes, it was reasonably clean. The décor was a little dated, especially the 1970’s style sliding patio door. The heat stopped working the first night, but the maintenance guy was there in five minutes and had in going in just minutes. When the person in the room next to ours decided to take a shower at 1:00 am, it sounded like a steam engine started up next door it was so loud. The breakfast was OK and the staff cordial. The rooms open to an exterior walkway which we did not expect. Owner/management does make attempts to decorate the place inside & out, but I just couldn’t get past the out-of-date feel. If you have low expectations or just want an OK place to stay for a night or two, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carldw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We realy liked the looked of the out side good locotion
very quite ,but we were on vacation an we wanted to use the hot tub
six in the morning ,we walked across the lawn which was a ways from any rooms
our key would not open the gate ,my husband went down the next morning to get
coffee ,he was meet with ,a clerk demanding his I-D in front of guests not cool
at all ,mind you breakfast was included ,I come down to explain that it wasnt cool what happened to my husband ,they we not good about it at all ,asked me to ,take my dog out ,as dogs were not allowed in reception area,I stood my ground ,I said I will be getting a cup of coffee before I leave with my dog on my hip not on the floort thats what I did an left. we did not have a good experiense at all,It looks good ,but the staff are not cool yes ,they could have gone around it another way ,I worked for the Marriott hotel for 15 years an this would never have happened on my shift or any other shift .We pay for breakfast,we pay to have our pet with us ,and we got brirated for both whats up with this picture.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perks500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalfMoonBayLodge_GM, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Although I am disappointed that you felt the service did not meet your expectations, I would like to reassure you that we will not be satisfied until you are fully satisfied.

In fact, I guarantee every guest's full satisfaction. If we in any way fail to meet your expectations, please let us know. We will make it right.

Sincerely,

Kurt Picillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were so happy with this hotel! So comfortable and relaxing! Service was awesome too! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casalupe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed two nights for work. Meeting room was nice. Opening out to the swimming pool and yard. Hotel room was okay. Slept well. Food was pretty bad. No trails and not beachfront. I'd spend a bit more at the Beach House.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby&Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Our room, with two queen-sized beds, was perfectly clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were beautifully landscaped, with flowers everywhere. Our nightly rate included wireless internet and a standard continental breakfast, making it an excellent value for money. Loved the pool and hot tub. The management even accomodated our request for late check-out. Plan to stay here again on my next trip through San Francisco.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing