We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Attractive rooms, clean, well-kept, located right on PCH (Hwy 1). Lovely outdoor pool and fireplace, relaxing well-manicured grounds. A solid recommendation, meets all expectations on several visits over the years.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    220
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
159
228
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice lodge, but I should have done my homework before booking. I would have liked an on-site restaurant and bar, for example. I'm sure this was covered on the website, but I apparently overlooked this. The room was nice. We overlooked the golf course. When we unpacked, we found that there were no hangers in the closet. Because what we brought didn't really need to be hung up, I didn't call the front desk. We ended up having a meal at Mullins at the golf course at the Ritz which was good. We also spent time at our friends restaurant which is a must for people wanting an inexpensive good meal. It's called Daddy-O's which is housed in a bright yellow caboose right in Half Moon Bay close to Hi 92 & Hi 1.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrohn9520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

After travelling 10 hours from the UK the lodge was just what we wanted! Only 30 minutes from the airport it was a great top be welcomed by friendly staff. Our room overlooking the golf course was very clean and the bed most comfortable. We had a meal next door (on recommendation of reception staff) which we really enjoyed, fell into our bed and slept really well! The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of it. Will certainly make it a stop next time we visit the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea,Essex,England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently stayed five nights at Half Moon Bay Lodge and it was nothng short of superb - I really can't understand some people's reviews on here,on things which are beyond the hotel's control (they can't eject other guests because they're a bit loud........!!).
Staff were very friendly and more than helpful.
The second floor room we had was very quiet (as we'd requested,as my wife's a very light sleeper) and the ceiling fan kept the room more than adequately cooled;it's San Francisco,not Palm Springs,so I don't see the need for air-conditioning.
Breakfast was great,and varied - far more than just "bagels and coffee",as someone has suggested.
Restaurant next door - very convenient.
Overall we had a great stay,and couldn't fault it - maybe we were lucky that the other residents weren't running riot through the hotel,and we didn't need to walk half a mile for an ice machine (try staying in a Vegas hotel,if you want an ice machine that's a long way away....) and I can only thank the staff for everything they done.
And we thought the area was quaint - Main Street was like a throw-back in time.
The San Fran area is an expensive place to stay,but we done our research and settled on this property - there were cheaper places (around the airport area) but we were more than satisfied.
If we ever visit the area again,we'd be more than happy to stay here.

Room Tip: If you're bothered about people walking around in the rooms above you....get a second floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffakelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
379 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Nice location just outside the downtown. We liked the communal garden tables for wine before dinner. The rooms were showing wear, but the fireplaces were a great touch. On site breakfast included with the room was nice. An adequate place, but not overwhelmed. A good stop over location without elegance. Super clean!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We’re delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast experience, the cleanliness of your room, and ambiance of our patio and lawn area. Of course, we also appreciate the feedback regarding aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns and to resolve them to your full satisfaction.

Thank you,

Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
650.726.9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is located close to the Ritz which is nice... from there it goes down hill.
The hotel is seriously dated. The walls are paper thin, There is NO air-conditioning.
There is a fan to move the air.. but THEY squeak horribly - I say THEY because you can hear the fan in both the rooms on either side as well. It is such a poor value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Debbra
Thank you for your review and for your recent visit. I am very sorry to learn that you found our hotel dated in spite of our recent renovation and that you experienced a problem with a ceiling fan. We are committed to creating an experience that delivers excellent value for the price. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact me so that I may personally guarantee your full satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
650.726.9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here after moving our first child into the dorms at UC Santa Cruz, so it was a bit of a second honeymoon. We were very pleased with the room. It was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was especially nice with Mexican tile counter tops. There was a wet bar, ironing board and iron, and nice robes for walking to the pool/spa. The included breakfast was not upscale but there was a good variety and lots of fresh fruit. We both felt like we got very good value for the rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing