We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived at the Lodge after a very long day of traveling and received a warm welcome at checkin. The hotel was so pretty in the cool, clear California evening, and we were pleasantly surprised when we reached our spacious, nicely-appointed room, with the big comfortable bed, cathedral ceiling and large deck overlooking the golf course. Our stay was marvelous. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the property was so pretty and inviting. I think it was pretty full, but we never had the feeling that we were surrounded by people - It was very private and quiet. The Lodge is in a great location, near enough to beaches and town, but just a little off the main road so that you feel as though you're in your own peaceful get-away. I didn't give it an "excellent" for location because to me, an excellent location is on the beach. But you wouldn't be paying these affordable prices if it were, right? So in truth, it is just about perfect. Oh, and don't forget to eat at Joe's, the restaurant at the front of the property. It's a cool little spot - very deceiving from the outside. But inside the clientele is diverse, the service is great, and the food is terrific. I highly recommend Half Moon Bay Lodge to anyone looking for a lovely, tasteful, affordable place to stay. And I cannot wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, because we had to book an unexpected extra night while we were there. The s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisamt1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Half Moon Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a pretty nice place. I just attended a conference at the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay and it wasn't practical for everyone to pay Ritz room rates. So I opted for the Lodge - and it was really okay. I got an online rate. And it was everything that I needed.

Bed, good view, quiet, nice facility, very friendly staff, a little diner restaurant in front of the property. There are a couple of great little finds in Half Moon Bay. Specifically, I found a New Leaf community market which is cross between a Whole Foods and an organic market. But that was good for getting one or two dinners set up (the room had a small fridge).

I could walk to the Ritz (2 kilometers - a about a mile plus). And down to the Ocean.

So all in all - great value and a very nice staff to help you out.

Room Tip: I elected to get a room without a fireplace. And it was fine. No elevator if you are trying to get t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff seems to really care about their guests comfort and satisfaction with their stays. Jaime of the maintenance staff is a real gem. I've never experienced someone as dedicated and concerned about the property and the guests as him. He really wants you to come back again and again.
Newly renovated rooms are quite comfortable and spacious. The fitness center while small is in very good condition and offers a very good stationary bike and a couple of higher end treadmills, as well as dumbbells and a nice adjustable bench. The complimentary breakfast offers good choices presented nicely.
When I'm back in the area, I will look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a beautiful view of the golf course and a walk out patio. The swimming pool area was outside, fireplace outside, hot tub. Very quaint! Breakfast was served indoors. Very good breakfast. Beds were comfortable. the only drawback was the room stayed warm during the day. No airconditioning. I did pack a fan which was necessary! I felt very safe, and really enjoyed my stay! It took 30 minutes from the san Francisco International Airport.

Room Tip: Bring a fan. Draw the curtains in the day. The sun heats the room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Attractive rooms, clean, well-kept, located right on PCH (Hwy 1). Lovely outdoor pool and fireplace, relaxing well-manicured grounds. A solid recommendation, meets all expectations on several visits over the years.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very nice lodge, but I should have done my homework before booking. I would have liked an on-site restaurant and bar, for example. I'm sure this was covered on the website, but I apparently overlooked this. The room was nice. We overlooked the golf course. When we unpacked, we found that there were no hangers in the closet. Because what we brought didn't really need to be hung up, I didn't call the front desk. We ended up having a meal at Mullins at the golf course at the Ritz which was good. We also spent time at our friends restaurant which is a must for people wanting an inexpensive good meal. It's called Daddy-O's which is housed in a bright yellow caboose right in Half Moon Bay close to Hi 92 & Hi 1.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrohn9520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After travelling 10 hours from the UK the lodge was just what we wanted! Only 30 minutes from the airport it was a great top be welcomed by friendly staff. Our room overlooking the golf course was very clean and the bed most comfortable. We had a meal next door (on recommendation of reception staff) which we really enjoyed, fell into our bed and slept really well! The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of it. Will certainly make it a stop next time we visit the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
941 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £148 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing