We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place for what it is - clean, friendly, great rooms, nice beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have stayed at a number of Pacifica Hotels and the Half Moon Bay Lodge measured up to their standards.

Before you book you should be clear on what the hotel is and what it isn't:

A. The good stuff:
a) The rooms were recently refurbished and are large and well equipped
b) The staff are friendly and very helpful
c) We had a golf course view and a balcony which was nice
d) The location and the room were very quiet (partly because Dec is not a busy month)
e) The beds and linens are good - one of my best nights sleep on the trip down PCH

B. The not good stuff:
a) There is no gym
b) Breakfast is very basic (bagels, waffles, cereals, cold cuts and cheese) - it is fine with me because it sets me up for lunch, but some people require a big cooked breakfast
c) There is no restaurant on site but there is a good restaurant next door to the hotel
e) The pillows on the bed were a bit past their sell by date - soggy and not supportive (but the rest of the bedding was great)

Next time I am in Half Moon Bay I will stay again. If you are looking for a high end full service hotel stay at the Ritz Carlton on the coast and pay from USD 500 per night + parking + internet + resort fee +++++. If you are looking for a clean, convenient and friendly place to stay then the Half Moon Bay Lodge hits the spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very, very clean rooms. Very, very hellpful and courteous staff. Our room exited to a nice grassy area adjacent to the golf course. Perfect for our dog. Even had a poop bag station. Cost for dog was $75 for any length of stay. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying and included a waffle station. This hotel had all the details covered. Well done!
Front desk gave us a dog water container, a brochure of dog-friendly eating establishments as well as dog walks and parks.
The room price was very competitive.
Looking forward to our return. The kids and grandkids live 15 miles to the north in Pacifica.

Room Tip: Explain to front desk your desires. We had a dog so they placed us with the sliding glass door exiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winegrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We originally intended to stay just for 2 nights but the location, price and excellent front desk welcome by Eugene made us decide to stay for 6 nights. So pleased we did, it's perfect. Very clean, large rooms (ours overlooks the golf course and has large balcony), lovely Philosophy toiletries, a few minutes drive to gorgeous beach, good breakfast, extremely helpful and pleasant staff, heated pool and large hot tub - couldn't ask for more. Highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BrightonBlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Great rooms Helpful front desk nice breakfast boiled eggs and ham fruit

Beautiful location; exercise room small; no restaurant close by; definitely stay again

Xxxx xxxxxxxxccxxxxcxxcc

Easy drive to dtn SF via 1 and I-280

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonrpunkrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We traveled to San Francisco in late October into early November and did not want to stay in the city. After researching, we chose Half Moon Bay Lodge and it was a very good choice. We had a king suite with a real fireplace. Room is very nicely appointed - only "complaint" would be that the bedroom is so far away from the bathroom. Room has a fridge, a microwave and a sink/wet bar area. The bedroom is separate and in the back of the suite. Very, very nice porch that ran the length of the room. High cathedral ceiling, ceiling fans, clean and simple furniture. The hotel does not have an elevator, but will have someone take your luggage to your room if you are unable to carry it up the stairs. We did not eat the breakfast there, but did see what they had, which was a basic continental spread. The location is 40-45 minutes south of San Fran and about an hour and 20 minutes from Monterey Bay. Nice place - nice town - good restaurants, and this hotel does the town justice. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

For the price we expected regular boring motel/hotel...with the newly renovated rooms they far exceeded our expectations. The bed was so comfortable, great tv, great private patio, good size buffet breakfast included and best of all dog friendly with large grassy area for them....absolutely delightful..will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arrived at the Lodge after a very long day of traveling and received a warm welcome at checkin. The hotel was so pretty in the cool, clear California evening, and we were pleasantly surprised when we reached our spacious, nicely-appointed room, with the big comfortable bed, cathedral ceiling and large deck overlooking the golf course. Our stay was marvelous. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the property was so pretty and inviting. I think it was pretty full, but we never had the feeling that we were surrounded by people - It was very private and quiet. The Lodge is in a great location, near enough to beaches and town, but just a little off the main road so that you feel as though you're in your own peaceful get-away. I didn't give it an "excellent" for location because to me, an excellent location is on the beach. But you wouldn't be paying these affordable prices if it were, right? So in truth, it is just about perfect. Oh, and don't forget to eat at Joe's, the restaurant at the front of the property. It's a cool little spot - very deceiving from the outside. But inside the clientele is diverse, the service is great, and the food is terrific. I highly recommend Half Moon Bay Lodge to anyone looking for a lovely, tasteful, affordable place to stay. And I cannot wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, because we had to book an unexpected extra night while we were there. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisamt1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
971 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £134 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing